First time mapping, what can go wrong?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Riordian
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11

First time mapping, what can go wrong?

Post by Riordian »

Hi there, my name is Stan, and first and foremost, i want to wish you all a happy New Year!

I've been playing Doom WADs on and off for about 2 years now. Seeing the amaizing work done by this community over the years and with my ever groing addiction for this game, it was only a matter of time to start thinking about building something myself. In fact i've been thinking about it since the very first megawad i've played, which was Alien Vendetta. Only few maps in and i was already blown away, thinking to myself, "Wow, you can learn to do this with an editor tool?". Imagine my reaction when in the following months i was introduced to projects like BTSX, Valiant and other masterpieces. Of course, by no means do i expect to reach such high levels of creativity and knowledge... i'm actually quite fond of the classic stuff, the old school tech bases, the castles and the hell-ish environment that vanilla Doom and Doom 2 assests can provide. For me it will be enough (sort of) to learn how make basic maps, and to try to progress from there when i feel confortable to try something more complex. I don't know if the idea of making maps will get me hooked in the long term, or it will end but being just a momentary hobby that i'll abandon in a month or too... I relly can't, but damn, i have to try it now or never!