FLATSPRITE rendering issue (GZDoom)

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
7Soul
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2021 6:47 pm

FLATSPRITE rendering issue (GZDoom)

Post by 7Soul »

https://imgur.com/gQVZVvV

Here you see 4 sprites with +FLATSPRITE, from left to right they're at Z height 0,2,4,6, but the render renders them like regular sprites and ignores the height

Is there a way I could force a sprite to always be rendered by Z position, or just under everything else?

Actor definition:

Code: Select all

Class Weed1 : Actor {
	Default {
		+FLATSPRITE
		+NOGRAVITY
	}
	States {
	Spawn:
		EVPL A 1;
		Wait;
	}
}
User avatar
Cherno
Posts: 1304
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:25 am

Re: FLATSPRITE rendering issue (GZDoom)

Post by Cherno »

Yes, this is a known issue. Use models instead (a quad with the sprite as it's skin. If the sprite has a different width to height ratio than the quad, adjust the model's scale).
7Soul
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2021 6:47 pm

Re: FLATSPRITE rendering issue (GZDoom)

Post by 7Soul »

Cherno wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 2:42 pm Yes, this is a known issue. Use models instead (a quad with the sprite as it's skin. If the sprite has a different width to height ratio than the quad, adjust the model's scale).
Ty for the suggestion, I wasn't too keen on going through the trouble of learning how to add models in Doom but after a couple hours I was able to make this

https://i.imgur.com/Efgz3bO.png

Which works much better than the flats :)

Return to “Assets (and other stuff)”