I tried (This was even when files were not renamed).PandaDoomer wrote:What do you mean?EmperorGrieferus wrote:How am I supposed to launch the mod on the older versions of GZDoom?
Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
-
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 107
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:05 pm
- Location: USA
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
Are you sure that's the most recent version of the file? I don't see any textures named "NEWDOOMA" in the current version.EmperorGrieferus wrote:I tried (This was even when files were not renamed).PandaDoomer wrote:What do you mean?EmperorGrieferus wrote:How am I supposed to launch the mod on the older versions of GZDoom?
-
-
- Posts: 26540
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
That is a VERY old version of GZDoom. It possibly doesn't have support for the filter folders feature, which is how this mod is organised internally. You could probably edit the mod to find the particular logo that you need and move the relevant graphics into a graphics folder inside the PK3 instead of a sub-folder of filter.
[edit] Yes. also, as PanadaDoomer said, that's not a graphic from this mod.
The animdefs in full is:
No NEWDOOMA
[/edit]
[edit] Yes. also, as PanadaDoomer said, that's not a graphic from this mod.
The animdefs in full is:
Code: Select all
// Animated M_DOOMs by Avery (PandaDoomer @ zdoom forums)
// filtered by NightFright
texture m_doom
pic m_dooma tics 32
pic m_doomb tics 3
pic m_doomc tics 3
pic m_doomd tics 3
pic m_doome tics 3
pic m_doomf tics 3
pic m_doomg tics 3
pic m_doomh tics 3
pic m_doomi tics 3
pic m_doomi tics 3
pic m_doomj tics 3
pic m_doomk tics 3
pic m_dooml tics 3
pic m_doomm tics 3
pic m_doomn tics 3
pic m_doomo tics 3
pic m_doomp tics 3
pic m_doomq tics 3
pic m_doomr tics 3
pic m_dooms tics 3
pic m_doomt tics 3
pic m_doomu tics 32
oscillate
[/edit]
-
- Posts: 13720
- Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
Why are you using a version of GZDoom so old?
Try 4.7.0, if you have older hardware start it in OpenGL ES mode.
Try 4.7.0, if you have older hardware start it in OpenGL ES mode.
-
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
"640K ought to be enough for anybody" - if seriously, I just like it (Definitely not because it's the last version with palette LUT that is not screwed up), plus it runs faster and can launch most of the mods I play (By which I mean Smooth Doom, of course).Rachael wrote:Why are you using a version of GZDoom so old?
Try 4.7.0, if you have older hardware start it in OpenGL ES mode.
-
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
I renamed the files manually.Enjay wrote:That is a VERY old version of GZDoom. It possibly doesn't have support for the filter folders feature, which is how this mod is organised internally. You could probably edit the mod to find the particular logo that you need and move the relevant graphics into a graphics folder inside the PK3 instead of a sub-folder of filter.
[edit] Yes. also, as PanadaDoomer said, that's not a graphic from this mod.
The animdefs in full is:
No NEWDOOMACode: Select all
// Animated M_DOOMs by Avery (PandaDoomer @ zdoom forums) // filtered by NightFright texture m_doom pic m_dooma tics 32 pic m_doomb tics 3 pic m_doomc tics 3 pic m_doomd tics 3 pic m_doome tics 3 pic m_doomf tics 3 pic m_doomg tics 3 pic m_doomh tics 3 pic m_doomi tics 3 pic m_doomi tics 3 pic m_doomj tics 3 pic m_doomk tics 3 pic m_dooml tics 3 pic m_doomm tics 3 pic m_doomn tics 3 pic m_doomo tics 3 pic m_doomp tics 3 pic m_doomq tics 3 pic m_doomr tics 3 pic m_dooms tics 3 pic m_doomt tics 3 pic m_doomu tics 32 oscillate
[/edit]
Even if I use the native file names, there will be the exact same error.
And even if I remove the filter folders, there will the the exact same error.
-
-
- Posts: 26540
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
It's certainly strange because, as you can see from what I posted, the animdefs does not have a reference to NEWDOOMA on line 2, or any other line for that matter, but GZDoom certainly seems to be pointing to that file.
I guess it's possible that the version of GZDoom that you are using had a bug and its error reporting wasn't as good as it should have been (i.e. it's pointing to the wrong file). What happens if you load only this mod?
I guess it's possible that the version of GZDoom that you are using had a bug and its error reporting wasn't as good as it should have been (i.e. it's pointing to the wrong file). What happens if you load only this mod?
-
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
I launch only this mod.Enjay wrote:It's certainly strange because, as you can see from what I posted, the animdefs does not have a reference to NEWDOOMA on line 2, or any other line for that matter, but GZDoom certainly seems to be pointing to that file.
I guess it's possible that the version of GZDoom that you are using had a bug and its error reporting wasn't as good as it should have been (i.e. it's pointing to the wrong file). What happens if you load only this mod?
I will prove you, that even using the unchanged version will cause the error.
-
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
Here you go.
My opinion - 2.4.0 doesn't support animated titles, since Zandronum also can't launch the mod.
My opinion - 2.4.0 doesn't support animated titles, since Zandronum also can't launch the mod.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 107
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:05 pm
- Location: USA
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
Yup, filtering isn't supported then. Update your GZDoom like Rachael suggested.EmperorGrieferus wrote:Here you go.
My opinion - 2.4.0 doesn't support animated titles, since Zandronum also can't launch the mod.
-
- Posts: 13720
- Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
There was a grand total of one whole year where that quote would have had any truth to it. And that year would've been before I was even born.EmperorGrieferus wrote:"640K ought to be enough for anybody"
If you're going to stick to outdated stuff, then you're stuck with outdated stuff. You can't have your cake and eat it too.
-
- Posts: 107
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:05 pm
- Location: USA
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
Clearly ain't launching this one though.EmperorGrieferus wrote:"640K ought to be enough for anybody" - if seriously, I just like it (Definitely not because it's the last version with palette LUT that is not screwed up), plus it runs faster and can launch most of the mods I play (By which I mean Smooth Doom, of course).Rachael wrote:Why are you using a version of GZDoom so old?
Try 4.7.0, if you have older hardware start it in OpenGL ES mode.
-
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
Okay, I am sincerely sorry for this cyberbullying session, since I founf out, that 2.4.0 uses "doom.doom1/doom2" folder name instead of "doom.id.doom1/doom2".
Another problem solved itself.
Another problem solved itself.
-
-
- Posts: 26540
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
I'd still be interested to know where that NEWDOOMA message is coming from though. I had a quick look inside the ANIMDEFS for Smooth doom and it looks like this:
So, no NEWDOOMA, but the naming system is similar. Could it be an older version, or NEWDOOMA is hidden elsewhere inside Smooth Doom?
Code: Select all
texture optional M_SKULL1
pic NEWSKULA tics 12
pic NEWSKULB tics 3
pic NEWSKULC tics 3
pic NEWSKULD tics 3
pic NEWSKULC tics 3
pic NEWSKULB tics 3
-
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am
Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete
I put it in my version of Smooth Doom. So, there's no such files in older versions, but I indeed used skull sprite names for inspirationEnjay wrote:I'd still be interested to know where that NEWDOOMA message is coming from though. I had a quick look inside the ANIMDEFS for Smooth doom and it looks like this:So, no NEWDOOMA, but the naming system is similar. Could it be an older version, or NEWDOOMA is hidden elsewhere inside Smooth Doom?Code: Select all
texture optional M_SKULL1 pic NEWSKULA tics 12 pic NEWSKULB tics 3 pic NEWSKULC tics 3 pic NEWSKULD tics 3 pic NEWSKULC tics 3 pic NEWSKULB tics 3