Ultimate Doom Builder

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder, Slade, WadSmoosh, Oblige, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Darkcrafter
Posts: 567
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:42 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Darkcrafter »

I would like to request a feature - exporting 3d model actors to obj along with a map geometry to merge all these objects into one 3d model and save on draw calls. Doable?
User avatar
Negostrike
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:51 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Negostrike »

Where else can I get UDB? The link seems to be offline for some reason.
boris
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by boris »

Probably caused by this: viewtopic.php?t=77382
User avatar
Batandy
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:56 am

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Batandy »

Image

I am having this issue where textures scale along with resized sectors, I don't know how it got enabled and i can't turn it off.
Dragonfly looked into it and there was a "floor/ceiling texture transform" option in the menu on the right, but in my version (latest 3.0.0.4042 (f8c6e78) ) it only has "pin floor textures" and "pin ceiling textures" there.

How do I disable this?
User avatar
The DANDY Company
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2022 2:51 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Houston, TX, USA

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by The DANDY Company »

Batandy wrote: Mon Apr 03, 2023 3:02 am I am having this issue where textures scale along with resized sectors, I don't know how it got enabled and i can't turn it off.
Dragonfly looked into it and there was a "floor/ceiling texture transform" option in the menu on the right, but in my version (latest 3.0.0.4042 (f8c6e78) ) it only has "pin floor textures" and "pin ceiling textures" there.

How do I disable this?
Same here. Been wondering about this for a while and pretty sure it didn’t used to do that until the last year or so, give or take.
ZzZombo
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:02 am

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by ZzZombo »

Oh, so that's what it was! I was wondering just the other day the hell do all my sectors have randomly assigned scale for textures.
User avatar
eharper256
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:30 am
Location: UK

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by eharper256 »

Anyway to assign TAB to switch to Visual Mode?

Apparently it just tabs out of the selection box (lol) rather than setting itself as a control.

It's baked into me since BUILD days for whatever reason to use TAB for Visual Mode. I made do with Capslock for a while, but I'm constantly disabling sky rendering rather than switching modes at the moment.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12326
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by NeuralStunner »

eharper256 wrote: Sun Apr 30, 2023 3:13 pm Anyway to assign TAB to switch to Visual Mode?

Apparently it just tabs out of the selection box (lol) rather than setting itself as a control.
I know this used to work because I've had it set to tab since forever, so I'd consider this a regression.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4128
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Kappes Buur »

Trying to run r4049 from a manual install brings up this error

Updating automatically works.
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Wed Jul 26, 2023 11:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
eharper256
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:30 am
Location: UK

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by eharper256 »

Another thing I'm going to report as "mildly annoying".

If you have the Script Editor up for writing ACS, and it's covering a good 2/3rds of the screen, and you have a "What's the TID for this?" moment, and right click an actor or line to find it, the box for that is likely to pop up behind the Script Editor. You can't interact with the context box as it's hidden behind the Script Editor, and you can't, at that point, minimise the script editor either as the new context box has priority control as well. Fortunately, I realised you can hit ENTER to close that context box, but if you accidently TAB or something you might have to terminate the program.

Perhaps have pop-up context boxes render on a layer above the script editor for niche circumstances like this?
ZzZombo
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:02 am

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by ZzZombo »

Modal dialogs were a mistake to invent.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:15 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Player701 »

eharper256 wrote: Sun May 07, 2023 7:41 am Another thing I'm going to report as "mildly annoying".

If you have the Script Editor up for writing ACS, and it's covering a good 2/3rds of the screen, and you have a "What's the TID for this?" moment, and right click an actor or line to find it, the box for that is likely to pop up behind the Script Editor. You can't interact with the context box as it's hidden behind the Script Editor, and you can't, at that point, minimise the script editor either as the new context box has priority control as well. Fortunately, I realised you can hit ENTER to close that context box, but if you accidently TAB or something you might have to terminate the program.

Perhaps have pop-up context boxes render on a layer above the script editor for niche circumstances like this?
Basically, the same as this issue. The cause is that the script editor is always on top by default.
ZoBook
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 16, 2023 12:20 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by ZoBook »

Hi. Anyone else is getting a trojan alert for the ZDoom ACC.EXE?

ESET Detect it and block access to the file. Other ACC.EXE are not detected.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13599
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Rachael »

Most likely a false positive which is extremely common with virus scanning software. Scan the file with virustotal.com for a second opinion; it's most likely clean; if not, there could be a running infection elsewhere on your system or network which affected this file.
boris
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by boris »

2022? We're nearly halfway through 2023! But as the saying goes: better late than never. 2022 was a rather slow year, with mostly smaller quality of life enhancements. I'd say the biggest one is the classic rendering for visual mode (added by volte), which mimics the visuals of the Doom software renderer much closer than the regular rendering.


Here's a list of the noteworthy improvements:

  • Added additional vertex rendering options for classic modes (thanks to volte)
  • Added radial drawing to Draw Rectangle Mode and Draw Ellipse Mode, i.e. you can now draw circles from the center (thanks to volte)
  • Classic rendering for Visual Mode that mimics software rendering (thanks to volte)
  • Camera movement improvements in Visual Mode (thanks to volte)
    • orbit around the cursor position
    • move camera to cursor position
  • Added command palette hat allows the user to search for (and execute) commands at any time
  • Tool tips of the buttons in the mode and menu bars will now show the shortcut key assigned to the actions
  • Texture sets in game configurations can now be imported and exported using configuration files
  • Added popup notifications (toasts) system (right now only used for a few actions like "toggle highlight" or "toggle fullbright")

But, as another saying goes, a video is worth a thousand words, so here you can see some of the new features in action:

Return to “Creation, Conversion, and Editing”