Tested with GZDoom 3.3.0 64-bit
Both software and hardware renderer.
I'm reporting this because I cannot tell if this is undefined behavior or intentional.
Similar to the old sky hack, a sector portal can bleed onto a two-sided line that has no upper/lower texture, and the sector where the portal is in use is higher/lower than its neighbor which has no portal.
In this test map the gravity has been lowered so it's easy to jump through the portals. And even though the portals are being rendered on the lines as well, they are purely solid.
They are rendered all the time without a hitch in the hardware renderer.
In software, the upper one turns into a HOM effect when you jump up (not through the portal) while the lower one behind your start position is a HOM until you jump.
Sector portal can be rendered on lines
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.
If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.
Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.
If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.
Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
-
- Posts: 774
- Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:04 am
- Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Sector portal can be rendered on lines
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 48666
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Sector portal can be rendered on lines
Missing textures in unexpected places are always undefined behavior. The portals and skies share a lot of the same logic so this is not surprising.
-
- Posts: 774
- Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:04 am
- Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Re: Sector portal can be rendered on lines
So I take it I shouldn't be doing this?
-
- Posts: 3886
- Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
- Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
- Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Vigo, Galicia
Re: Sector portal can be rendered on lines
I'd assume if this doesn't break anything it could just be a "bug ascended to feature". Does it work on all renderers?
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 48666
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Sector portal can be rendered on lines
This won't work as a feature because portal content gets clipped by the portal plane so it may glitch. If this gets done properly it will be done like in Eternity where the portal on the wall must be set explicitly.
-
-
- Posts: 17782
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: Sector portal can be rendered on lines
FishyClockwork wrote:In software, the upper one turns into a HOM effect when you jump up (not through the portal) while the lower one behind your start position is a HOM until you jump.
Undefined behavior that doesn't work in one of the renderers is best avoided, yes.FishyClockwork wrote:So I take it I shouldn't be doing this?
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 48666
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Sector portal can be rendered on lines
It should be noted that sector portals are very, very limited in the software renderer so that's no indicator here.