SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.5 (19/Dec/2023)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder, Slade, WadSmoosh, Oblige, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Woolie Wool
Posts: 1713
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Arch Linux, Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta3 up)

Post by Woolie Wool »

Modding is also frequently transferred across computers, either due to a hard drive crash, multiple system testing, etc.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta3 up)

Post by Gez »

Now you can preview those fancy byte map fonts in SLADE3.
User avatar
Shadelight
Posts: 5113
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 11:16 am
Location: Labrynna

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta3 up)

Post by Shadelight »

Have I ever told you how awesome you are, Gez?
chmmr
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta3 up)

Post by chmmr »

Really, really awesome to see SLADE resurrected. For those of us on Linux, a solid editor for ZDoom levels will be amazing.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta3 up)

Post by Gez »

Interesting file pointed out here (download link). While Slumped identifies the embedded wad file correctly, Slade 3 has a problem with it and confuses it with the preceding lump (the BLOCKMAP). It seems there is a bug in the wad directory function.

Nevermind, problem solved now and it wasn't in the directory function.
User avatar
sirjuddington
Posts: 1025
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta3 up)

Post by sirjuddington »

Ah of course. Silly XWE (I'm guessing that's what would save a wad with entry data *after* the wad directory, considering how it handles saving).

Should really get another beta out tonight, since the last one had that nasty slow-saving bug.

Edit: Beta4 is up :)
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12326
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by NeuralStunner »

Loving the interface so far. :)

The idea of having all the pest parts out of WinTex, XWE, and SLumpEd has me excited. It's also interesting to me how you're pretty much rebuilding the whole editor, rather than pasting pieces onto an old code base. More folks should do that.

Will there be an option to store config files etc. locally in the program folder? (Perhaps, like a few other programs I've seen, it can automatically load from a local file if present.)

- I do see the Palette box on the Sprite viewer pushed off the right side when the Archive manager is open. (1024x768.) Just not enough horizontal room for it all I guess. (Also the graphic area in that view doesn't update between changing windows, but I expect that'll change once the viewer/editor is fully implemented.)
- Lumps that are 0 bytes come up as "markers", including map components like SEGS and REJECT. Not a big deal really, unless you decide to include chart-based editors for these lumps. (Granted I think it's a bad sign if a wad has 0-byte map component lumps, except maybe for Nodes which can be built by ZDoom at runtime.)
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Gez »

NeuralStunner wrote:Will there be an option to store config files etc. locally in the program folder? (Perhaps, like a few other programs I've seen, it can automatically load from a local file if present.)
Just put a file named "portable" in the program directory and it'll store the config files there.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12326
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by NeuralStunner »

Heh, that's a new method... Thanks. :)
User avatar
japboy
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:39 am
Location: Tokyo, JAPAN

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by japboy »

Code: Select all

src/SwitchesEntryPanel.o: In function `SwitchesEntryPanel::SwitchesEntryPanel(wxWindow*)':
SwitchesEntryPanel.cpp:(.text+0x1f7b): undefined reference to `ListView::ListView(wxWindow*, int)'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [slade] Error 1
i just got problem to make slade with rev 438.
could you fix it?
User avatar
sirjuddington
Posts: 1025
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by sirjuddington »

Try a clean rebuild. The ListView constructor takes a third argument but it's optional (so that really should compile...)
User avatar
japboy
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:39 am
Location: Tokyo, JAPAN

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by japboy »

@sirjuddington
i just tried it and it worked fine. thanks.

Code: Select all

make clean
make
btw, are you going to implement something like a map format converter?
it would be nice if doom - zdoom - gzdoom - UDMF formats are converted to something else by just one click...
currently, i have to copy/paste sectors and things separately to change formats, and it is bit painful if the map is getting large.
1 click converter is a good idea, isn't it?
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Gez »

[wiki=Talk:Universal Doom Map Format]See here for existing converters.[/wiki]
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by wildweasel »

Doesn't seem entirely fair that DB2 gets a sticky thread and this doesn't, so that's fixed. Keep at it, Slayer, I love what you're doing!
User avatar
Project Shadowcat
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Blacksburg, SC USA

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Project Shadowcat »

wildweasel wrote:Doesn't seem entirely fair that DB2 gets a sticky thread and this doesn't, so that's fixed. Keep at it, Slayer, I love what you're doing!
Of course now there's 6 stickies...

Return to “Creation, Conversion, and Editing”