SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.5 (19/Dec/2023)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder, Slade, WadSmoosh, Oblige, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12326
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by NeuralStunner »

Huh. Okay, I'll get the newest AEOD and try that.
User avatar
DBThanatos
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: in "the darkness that lurks in our mind"

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by DBThanatos »

Gez wrote:Download finished. Verdict? Takes a while to open, but Works For Me(tm). No crash.
I guess I could've dropped to say that earlier :P

I did try it, no crash either. However (not aeod exclusive) Im completely unable to see any image in the preview part of the application, actually, is like kind of a HOM effect :P. Let me show you what I mean
Spoiler:
Yeah, that's after ALT+TABbing from chrome to Slumped. Whatever was in first plane, stays in the preview part. :shrug:

Am I doing something wrong? or could this be a bug?
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12326
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by NeuralStunner »

Yep, it's a bug I guess. Use the link Gez posted for a repaired version. :)

Also, AEOD 5 loaded fine. Heh. I think the one I had before was 3... :?
User avatar
Woolie Wool
Posts: 1713
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Arch Linux, Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Woolie Wool »

I think it would also be good for SLADE to remove all extensions when importing new files into a WAD or copying files from a PK3 to a WAD.
User avatar
DBThanatos
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: in "the darkness that lurks in our mind"

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by DBThanatos »

NeuralStunner wrote:Yep, it's a bug I guess. Use the link Gez posted for a repaired version. :)
Aha! Thanks! that works as intended. Time to give Slade a shot :P
Woolie Wool wrote:I think it would also be good for SLADE to remove all extensions when importing new files into a WAD or copying files from a PK3 to a WAD.
Yes, YES PLEASE! 8-)
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by wildweasel »

This thread has dropped off because somebody unpinned it! Need to bump it to ask: where are the line numbers in the text editor?
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17836
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Gez »

Nowhere at the moment. Like syntax highlighting, it's a feature that's not implemented yet.
User avatar
Shadelight
Posts: 5113
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 11:16 am
Location: Labrynna

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Shadelight »

Any news on this?
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17836
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Gez »

Yes. Line numbers and syntax highlighting have begun to be implemented. :P
User avatar
Demolisher
Posts: 1749
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Winchester, VA

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Demolisher »

Gez wrote:Yes. Line numbers and syntax highlighting have begun to be implemented. :P
Release upon addition? I would take this over SLumpEd.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17836
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Gez »

Well, it's meant to replace both SLADE2 and Slumped. It's still lacking several functions found in Slumped (finished text editor, but also audio playback, ACS compiling through ACC, on the top of my head), and it needs more optimization/feature completion/stuff (as typical with alphas) but it'll getting nearer from the point where it can be a complete Slumped replacement. It's already superior on some points (not all).
User avatar
Shadelight
Posts: 5113
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 11:16 am
Location: Labrynna

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Shadelight »

When sound previewing comes in, will we get the ability to preview more sound file types?
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Ceeb »

Would an option to compile USDF from within the editor (like with ACC) be possible?

Or how about the option to run the text editor of your choice for editing lumps and re-import on saving? I'm a Notepad++ whore and that would make me switch from SLumpEd.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by wildweasel »

Ceeb wrote:Or how about the option to run the text editor of your choice for editing lumps and re-import on saving? I'm a Notepad++ whore and that would make me switch from SLumpEd.
Agreed, that'd remove my need for the built-in text editor to have line numbers and syntax highlights.
User avatar
sirjuddington
Posts: 1025
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by sirjuddington »

External editing is planned, yes. Also compilation of other script languages then ACS.

Anyway it's been more than a month, so grab beta 5 from the usual place.

Return to “Creation, Conversion, and Editing”