SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.5 (19/Dec/2023)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder, Slade, WadSmoosh, Oblige, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Shadelight
Posts: 5113
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 11:16 am
Location: Labrynna

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Shadelight »

Good point, guess it wouldn't be a good feature suggestion after all. x_X
User avatar
Woolie Wool
Posts: 1713
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Arch Linux, Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Woolie Wool »

I'd still like to be able to mass-import or mass-export dozens of lumps using default filenames (for instance, mass imports will make the lumps named whatever their names were as files), and mass-rename files using wildcards like XWE. These are important features to me, and require me to use XWE at least for the early stages of making a new mod.
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:00 pm
Location: Maine, US

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by LilWhiteMouse »

Could the ability to merge multiple wads at once be added at some future point? Chibi Rebellion is up to 130 wads, and merging them two at time resulted in the archive copy being bugged.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49095
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Graf Zahl »

Why don't you use a Zip? Then you won't have to use dedicated tools for it.
User avatar
sirjuddington
Posts: 1025
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by sirjuddington »

I was planning to eventually implement some kind of 'project' feature, where you could create a project, import a bunch of resource archives to it, do whatever editing stuff you want with it, then export it all as a standalone archive when it's done. This probably won't happen for a while though, but I do plan on implementing archive merging at least before 3.0 final.
User avatar
japboy
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:39 am
Location: Tokyo, JAPAN

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by japboy »

sirjuddington wrote:I was planning to eventually implement some kind of 'project' feature, where you could create a project, import a bunch of resource archives to it, do whatever editing stuff you want with it, then export it all as a standalone archive when it's done. This probably won't happen for a while though, but I do plan on implementing archive merging at least before 3.0 final.
that sounds exciting!

btw, i'd simply like to export a PNG (or GIF or something) image from a sprite image... is that possible now?
could anyone tell me how i do it if its possible. thanks.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17836
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Gez »

It's possible in two steps:
1: Convert sprites to PNG.
2: Export converted sprites.

If the sprites you want to export are from an IWAD, there's an additional "zeroth" step in that you first need to copy the sprites to a new archive because it won't let you change them otherwise (and conversion is a change).
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:00 pm
Location: Maine, US

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by LilWhiteMouse »

Graf Zahl wrote:Why don't you use a Zip? Then you won't have to use dedicated tools for it.
Convenience of editing. I find it much easier to have all the resources for a given actor in one file/lump. Archive rules require it all to be in one file though, and I'm leery of zipping a zip of wads. I tried using LumpTool to extract everything, but that turned into a mess.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11338
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Cutmanmike »

Umm... Sorry if this has been answered or has an obvious answer but I can't seem to see any graphic previews at all when selecting lumps. Any ideas?
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12326
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by NeuralStunner »

I saw that mentioned somewhere, don't recall where. Something to do with certain video drivers? Anyway, I believe he's working on it.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17836
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Gez »

In fact, it should even have been fixed now. Here, try this: http://files.drdteam.org/index.php/file ... 8P/dist.7z
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12326
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by NeuralStunner »

Cool. :)

BTW, I tried opening AEOD.pk3. Slade crashed. :shock:
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17836
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Gez »

AEOD does seem like a good stress-test.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12326
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by NeuralStunner »

Gez wrote:AEOD does seem like a good stress-test.
"Hmm, can your car pull a camper?" "I dunno, let's try hitching the house to it." :P

I jest. Nothing wrong with a gaming behemoth so long as it's a fun behemoth.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17836
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Post by Gez »

Download finished. Verdict? Takes a while to open, but Works For Me(tm). No crash.

Return to “Creation, Conversion, and Editing”