Help loading WADS in Heretic using GZDOOM

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
w1av
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2023 1:34 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): linux

Help loading WADS in Heretic using GZDOOM

Post by w1av »

I am using MINT LINUX, and have GZDOOM working fine. I am using a FULL version of HERETIC. I followed instructions, put the extra WAD files I downloaded in THIS PATH: ~/snap/gzdoom/current/.config/gzdoom
I can successfully run the full Heretic version, and the shareware versions of QUAKE I, DOOM and HEXEN. I understand extra WAD files can't run in shareware versions. Anyway I downloaded about 5 WADs I got online, put them in the proper folder that was suggested for my OS (MintLinux). When I start GZDOOM, the downloaded WADs do not appear. They all have the .WAD extension and are not any different than the original "Heretic.WAD file the game comes with. I mean the WADs are all different episodes, I guess you call them, but they all should load. Not sure how to get those WADs to load, and I tried using DOSBOX but no good. I haven't played these games since the late 90's so I am limited technically. Do you load WAD files from the drop down "terminal" in the game? I dont remember how to access that. I need a little hand holding on this cause I am just not finding any help online. Thanks....Bob
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Help loading WADS in Heretic using GZDOOM

Post by Graf Zahl »

The launcher only shows IWADs. You have to load anything else manually, with '-file'. Or use a GUI launcher if you do not want to use the command line.
w1av
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2023 1:34 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): linux

Re: Help loading WADS in Heretic using GZDOOM

Post by w1av »

OK I still need help.....I am assuming while in Heretic, I access the CONSOLE....is this where I type in "-file"? I am not a game saavy person, just someone who casually likes to play. So I don't know a lot about this stuff. So if the WAD file is called "DEADLY DOGGY", at the console I would type (without quotations) "-DEADLY DOGGY. Next how would I set up a GUI launcher in Linux? I would think it is easier to access the extra WADs by simply typing -file into console.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Help loading WADS in Heretic using GZDOOM

Post by Kappes Buur »

In a recent post Ranger_Danger1996 reported some trouble to load a pwad with Ubuntu.
The solution was to use a Launcher, such as ZDL



perhaps it will work for you too.

Return to “Technical Issues”