gzdoom 4.08 and higher, barely running on my macbook

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
maclover
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2023 1:29 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): macOS 10.13.6
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

gzdoom 4.08 and higher, barely running on my macbook

Post by maclover »

i was trying to play some doom on my mac but when i tried to run it, it was barely running, but when i try 4.07, it ran doom smoothly but i really want to play myhouse.wad which needs 4.10 and only 4.10 so i need a way to run 4.10 smoothly

my specs are:
2.4 GHz intel core i5
8 GB 1333 MHz DDr3
Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 MB
macOS High Sierra version 10.13.6
MacBook Pro (13-inch, Late 2011)
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1041
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: gzdoom 4.08 and higher, barely running on my macbook

Post by Redneckerz »

HD Graphics 3000 is DX 10.1 and a low version of OpenGL. You want to use the GLES renderer.
maclover
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2023 1:29 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): macOS 10.13.6
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: gzdoom 4.08 and higher, barely running on my macbook

Post by maclover »

but now its just a black screen and 4.07 works perfectly on opengl
i have a similar problem to GenericItalianGuy's post
viewtopic.php?t=77321
Last edited by maclover on Wed Jun 21, 2023 1:02 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1041
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: gzdoom 4.08 and higher, barely running on my macbook

Post by Redneckerz »

maclover wrote: Wed Jun 21, 2023 12:54 am but now its just a black screen and 4.07 works perfectly on opengl
i have a similar problem to GenericItalianGuy's post
viewtopic.php?t=77321
Either use the latest GZ, or upgrade the OS.

You still need the GLES renderer because a HD3000 is just too old for this. And having said that, i wonder if an OS upgrade would even support this old hardware. I am going to guess it won't.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13523
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: gzdoom 4.08 and higher, barely running on my macbook

Post by Rachael »

The rules for upgrading the OS on a Mac is quite different from Linux or Windows. Mac OS actively checks your hardware and will block an upgrade (or even prevent it from booting) if the hardware happens to be "unsupported" for that version - and it only has a little bit to do with whether the hardware will even run it or not.

Return to “Technical Issues”