SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.6 (28/May/2024)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder, Slade, WadSmoosh, Oblige, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
den killen
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2022 6:06 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.0 (12/April/2022)

Post by den killen »

I'm curious as I can't find an answer anywhere, but in settings under "Graphics>HUD Offsets View", what is "Show weapon bob outline" for? I see it adds a thin border around the HUD sprite offset editor, but I don't understand what that indicates.
WildWoodsmith
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2022 9:59 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Pop_OS!
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.0 (12/April/2022)

Post by WildWoodsmith »

I'm new to GZDoom mapping and using SLADE on Linux Mint. When I try to run the map in SLADE, it's asking for a path to the executable. What am I supposed to put there? Everything I've tried either does nothing or gives me an "Invalid Executable Path" error.
EDIT: I found it - in "usr/games". Somehow I overlooked the gzdoom file.
Last edited by WildWoodsmith on Sun Nov 27, 2022 10:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17840
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.0 (12/April/2022)

Post by Gez »

den killen wrote: Tue Nov 01, 2022 7:13 pm I'm curious as I can't find an answer anywhere, but in settings under "Graphics>HUD Offsets View", what is "Show weapon bob outline" for? I see it adds a thin border around the HUD sprite offset editor, but I don't understand what that indicates.
Weapon bobbig is that effect where the weapon sprites is moved left and right and up and down to simulate the weapon swaying as you run around the level. I suppose the outlines show how far the sprite will move in any direction with Doom's default bobbing?
SuperOfSrb2
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2023 9:44 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.0 (12/April/2022)

Post by SuperOfSrb2 »

Does anyone know if there is some function to add numbers to columns in spreadsheet-type files (like things, linedefs, sectors, ect.) for maps? Or any way to export one of these files into a spreadsheet editor? I am trying to merge 2 maps together and it would be really helpful if there was a function so I could add a large number like 10000 to one of the linedef and sector files so that the maps don't have conflicting linedef specials. Thanks!
User avatar
The DANDY Company
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2022 2:51 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Houston, TX, USA

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.0 (12/April/2022)

Post by The DANDY Company »

FYI, in case anyone hadn’t heard yet, Slade v3.2.2 was released a couple days ago. Release notes below.
Spoiler: Slade v3.2.2 Release Notes
User avatar
camaxide
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:38 am

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.2 (1/April/2023)

Post by camaxide »

Might have been reported before, but changing the sound output in windows (like from headset to speakers) breaks sound in Slade - even switching back seem to not fix it - only sollution seem to be to close down the program and restart it. Anyone know if it's fixable?
yum13241
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.2 (1/April/2023)

Post by yum13241 »

There's an annoying bug where making a new file with an extension that isn't .txt will force it to .txt. Renaming the file afterwards works fine.
User avatar
Zaeryn
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2022 9:55 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: AL, USA

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.2 (1/April/2023)

Post by Zaeryn »

There's an option to collapse all folders but not expand all?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4133
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.2 (1/April/2023)

Post by Kappes Buur »

There seems to be a bug in Slade3 3.2.x which does not happen with Slade3 3.1.x

open a pwad in Slade3


highlight the map lump and open UDB


edit the map with UDB, save and close to go back to Slade3


the top MAP01 lump is the edited lump
the bottom MAP01 is the old MAP01 lump

to click on the bottom MAP01 opens this message


Saving the map and reovening allows the offending lump to be deleted.
User avatar
sirjuddington
Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.2 (1/April/2023)

Post by sirjuddington »

3.2.3 is now released, with various bug fixes and improvements including the return of fluidsynth MIDI playback for the Windows x64 build.

https://slade.mancubus.net/
https://github.com/sirjuddington/SLADE/ ... /tag/3.2.3
User avatar
den killen
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2022 6:06 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.3 (31/May/2023)

Post by den killen »

Autocomplete shortcut isn't working. Anyone else having this issue?
User avatar
sirjuddington
Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.4 (21/June/2023)

Post by sirjuddington »

v3.2.4 is up now, with a fix for the crash on applying sector properties, among other things.

https://slade.mancubus.net/
https://github.com/sirjuddington/SLADE/ ... /tag/3.2.4
User avatar
-Stormwalker-
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 08, 2022 11:40 am

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.4 (21/June/2023)

Post by -Stormwalker- »

I'm getting the following error (or a similar error) every single time I try to change a sector's light level:

Version: 3.2.3
Current action: mapw_item_properties
Operating System: Linux 6.3.5-2-MANJARO x86_64
Graphics Vendor: AMD
Graphics Hardware: AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT (navi14, LLVM 15.0.7, DRM 3.52, 6.3.5-2-MANJARO)
OpenGL Version: 4.6 (Compatibility Profile) Mesa 23.0.4

Stack Trace:
0: [unknown location] [unknown:139695541110374]
1: [unknown location] [unknown:139695448120820]
2: [unknown location] [unknown:139695522904752]
3: [unknown location] slade::SectorSpecialPanel::selectedSpecial() const
4: [unknown location] slade::SectorPropsPanel::applyChanges()
5: [unknown location] slade::mapeditor::editObjectProperties(std::vector<slade::MapObject*, std::allocator<slade::MapObject*> >&)
6: [unknown location] slade::Edit2D::editObjectProperties()
7: [unknown location] slade::MapEditContext::handleAction(std::basic_string_view<char, std::char_traits<char> >)
8: [unknown location] slade::SActionHandler::doAction(std::basic_string_view<char, std::char_traits<char> >)
9: [unknown location] SLADEWxApp::onMenu(wxCommandEvent&)
10: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::ProcessEventIfMatchesId(wxEventTableEntryBase const&, wxEvtHandler*, wxEvent&)
11: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::SearchDynamicEventTable(wxEvent&)
12: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::TryHereOnly(wxEvent&)
13: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::ProcessEventLocally(wxEvent&)
14: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::ProcessEvent(wxEvent&)
15: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::SafelyProcessEvent(wxEvent&)
16: [unknown location] wxMenuBase::SendEvent(int, int)
17: [unknown location] [unknown:139695550023359]
18: [unknown location] g_closure_invoke
19: [unknown location] [unknown:139695537697528]
20: [unknown location] g_signal_emit_valist
21: [unknown location] g_signal_emit
22: [unknown location] gtk_widget_activate
23: [unknown location] gtk_menu_shell_activate_item
24: [unknown location] [unknown:139695530936426]
25: [unknown location] [unknown:139695529426057]
26: [unknown location] g_signal_emit_valist
27: [unknown location] g_signal_emit
28: [unknown location] [unknown:139695532296997]
29: [unknown location] [unknown:139695530844347]
30: [unknown location] gtk_main_do_event
31: [unknown location] [unknown:139695521860483]
32: [unknown location] [unknown:139695522220664]
33: [unknown location] g_main_context_dispatch
34: [unknown location] [unknown:139695519121945]
35: [unknown location] g_main_context_iteration
36: [unknown location] gtk_main_iteration
37: [unknown location] wxWindow::DoPopupMenu(wxMenu*, int, int)
38: [unknown location] wxWindowBase::PopupMenu(wxMenu*, int, int)
39: [unknown location] slade::mapeditor::openContextMenu()
40: [unknown location] slade::mapeditor::Input::mouseUp(slade::mapeditor::Input::MouseButton)
41: [unknown location] slade::MapCanvas::onMouseUp(wxMouseEvent&)
42: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::ProcessEventIfMatchesId(wxEventTableEntryBase const&, wxEvtHandler*, wxEvent&)
43: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::SearchDynamicEventTable(wxEvent&)
44: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::TryHereOnly(wxEvent&)
45: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::ProcessEventLocally(wxEvent&)
46: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::ProcessEvent(wxEvent&)
47: [unknown location] wxEvtHandler::SafelyProcessEvent(wxEvent&)
48: [unknown location] [unknown:139695549677816]
49: [unknown location] [unknown:139695529414616]
50: [unknown location] g_closure_invoke
51: [unknown location] [unknown:139695537697528]
52: [unknown location] g_signal_emit_valist
53: [unknown location] g_signal_emit
54: [unknown location] [unknown:139695532296997]
55: [unknown location] [unknown:139695530844347]
56: [unknown location] gtk_main_do_event
57: [unknown location] [unknown:139695521860483]
58: [unknown location] [unknown:139695522220664]
59: [unknown location] g_main_context_dispatch
60: [unknown location] [unknown:139695519121945]
61: [unknown location] g_main_loop_run
62: [unknown location] gtk_main
63: [unknown location] wxGUIEventLoop::DoRun()
64: [unknown location] wxEventLoopBase::Run()
65: [unknown location] wxAppConsoleBase::MainLoop()
66: [unknown location] wxEntry(int&, wchar_t**)
67: [unknown location] main
68: [unknown location] [unknown:139695522814032]
69: [unknown location] __libc_start_main
70: [unknown location] _start

Last Log Messages:
Setting up the OpenGL context
Initialising OpenGL...
OpenGL Version: 4.6
Max Texture Size: 16384x16384
Checking extensions...
Vertex Buffer Objects supported
Point Sprites supported
Framebuffer Objects supported
Opening map MAP01
Removed 342 detached vertices, 0 detached sides, 0 invalid sides and 0 detached sectors

If I do other things in the editor and then save, the nodebuilder appears to work and the map saves successfully, at least as far as I can tell. Can anyone assist?

EDIT: I tested other random wads and can confirm that this error does occur on other maps, so it is not confined to my current project.
User avatar
sirjuddington
Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.4 (21/June/2023)

Post by sirjuddington »

-Stormwalker- wrote: Mon Jun 26, 2023 3:02 pm I'm getting the following error (or a similar error) every single time I try to change a sector's light level:

(stack trace cut)

If I do other things in the editor and then save, the nodebuilder appears to work and the map saves successfully, at least as far as I can tell. Can anyone assist?

EDIT: I tested other random wads and can confirm that this error does occur on other maps, so it is not confined to my current project.
That should be fixed in 3.2.4
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4133
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.2.4 (21/June/2023)

Post by Kappes Buur »

Will 3.2.4 also address this glitch with Open Map in Doombuilder ?

Return to “Creation, Conversion, and Editing”