CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 861
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by StroggVorbis »

Is it due to the fuzz style being changeable mid-game or because the fuzz effect as a whole is animated?
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17322
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by Nash »

Let me try to explain this.

- CBLOOD changes an actor's blood color at spawn (WorldThingSpawned event). And by "change", I really mean "copy". You cannot directly assign/overwrite an actor's blood color at runtime. It has something to do with complexities involving creating translations at runtime and then making them save game-compatible. Really technical stuff and I don't claim to fully understand the problem, but just know that there have been attempts to add "SetBloodColor" in the past but there are technical limitations that prevent this. So, as a workaround, instead a "CopyBloodColor" is possible - this requires another actor to already exist to copy the blood info from. This is the basis of how CBLOOD works. A temporary actor is created to copy the blood color from, that is then immediately destroyed. This all happens in 1 tick in WorldThingSpawned.

- Follow so far? We are only able to change the blood COLOR. Not the render style. Not the blood type. Not anything else. Just COLOR. Blood will still render as normal. It's just the colour that gets affected.

- To make Spectres spawn fuzzy blood, the most obvious solution is to change the actual blood actor that gets spawned when you hurt it. This can be done with the 'BloodType' property, which is an old feature that has existed even since the DECORATE days.

- Typically, you would probably want to make a new blood type, let's say, 'SpectreBlood', and set its render style to Fuzzy. You would then change the BloodType propetry of the Spectre to use SpectreBlood.

- But here's the problem! You cannot change an actor's BloodType at runtime. This is simply blocked by the engine.

- Again, CBLOOD works at runtime. It does this without actor replacement.

- If actor replacement was allowed, this would of course be a non-issue. You could just make a Specter replacement and assign it the new blood type. But thisn't how CBLOOD works and not its main point of advertisement.

- The whole point of CBLOOD is that it does its work without doing any actor replacement.

And this is why CBLOOD cannot make Spectres spawn fuzzy blood. It's simply not possible to change an actor's BloodType at runtime.
MischiefNight
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 5:36 pm

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by MischiefNight »

Hey, I made some custom ones for the custom monsters in Eviternity that have different blood
For if anyone wants that
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17322
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by Nash »

Update 9th Feb 2022:

- Version bump to GZDoom 4.7.1
- Added Chex Quest support. You will need to use cblood.pk3 along with my other blood mods if you want them to work properly with Chex Quest.
- Added Eviternity monsters (thank you MischiefNight)
Pompous Seed
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 8:41 am

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by Pompous Seed »

I'm using this with nashgore, and for whatever reason, sometimes the hell knights/barons of hell bleed blue blood. I find that it happens most often after loading a saved game.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17322
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by Nash »

Pompous Seed wrote:I'm using this with nashgore, and for whatever reason, sometimes the hell knights/barons of hell bleed blue blood. I find that it happens most often after loading a saved game.
Do you have any other mods loaded?
Pompous Seed
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 8:41 am

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by Pompous Seed »

Here's everything I'm using: https://www.mediafire.com/file/u29cmfhg ... s.zip/file
Just extract the archive.

Edit: also, I believe load order plays a factor as well. If loading CBLOOD first, then there doesn't seem to be any issues.

Edit Edit: scratch that last edit, it seems to occur regardless.
Plasmazippo
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2021 11:55 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by Plasmazippo »

Is there a visualization tool that would help me determine which BloodColor values I should use to get the results I want? Trial-and-error with the hex values doesn't seem convenient, quick or appealing.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17322
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by Nash »



Typing 'rgb to hex' on Google usually works for me. :D
Plasmazippo
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2021 11:55 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by Plasmazippo »

My hero ():)
User avatar
Ferretmanjcdenton
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 5:38 am
Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Location: Germany

Re: CBLOOD Ultimate Edition!

Post by Ferretmanjcdenton »

Nash wrote: Thu Nov 26, 2020 5:44 pm Fixed the incorrect licensing issues. No other changes.

Assigning fuzzy blood using this mod is not possible and I don't plan to pursue such a feature for the foreseeable future. See OP for explanation.
Hey there . Awesome work like always.
Is there any chance you could implement a menu option to change the color in let's say 5 basic colors ? Or maybe even such a color wheel like in paint programs to choose freely ?

There are so many amazing universal mods out there .If that continues we someday have any game we want in doom .

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”