Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Tapwave » Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:55 am

I keep getting a red keycard in the arena, but I have no clue what it's supposed to be used for, since there are no red-locked doors (or any locked doors for that matter) in the outpost.
User avatar
Tapwave
On the GREEN!
 
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Discord: Sunray#7070
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Gorec » Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:34 am

there is some secret about this keys....
someone already told about it
User avatar
Gorec
 
Joined: 09 Feb 2016
Location: )()()()()()()()()()()()(

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Tapwave » Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:42 am

Gorec wrote:there is some secret about this keys....
someone already told about it

I actually did a search beforehand (and stumbled upon a totally different although relatively annoying secret in the process), but haven't found anything about using the key.
/edit oh wow, the search software is really dumb. Only now did it give me the thing I needed, thanks, though.
User avatar
Tapwave
On the GREEN!
 
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Discord: Sunray#7070
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Frozenwolf150 » Thu Sep 08, 2016 10:44 am

I've been meaning to ask, what specific modding tools were used for Doom RPG? I would like to take a look at the .acs file, even though I have absolutely zero programming experience. However, if I have any future bug reports, it would help if I actually knew what I was talking about.
User avatar
Frozenwolf150
 
Joined: 11 Apr 2013

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Tapwave » Thu Sep 08, 2016 1:05 pm

Frozenwolf150 wrote:(Anomalous Creature) [...] The other major problem is that this event is highly likely to cause the runaway script crash.

I can confirm that, this happened to me today. I couldn't recover my character by saving it, as any map transition crashed the mod.
User avatar
Tapwave
On the GREEN!
 
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Discord: Sunray#7070
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Tanksy » Thu Sep 08, 2016 4:54 pm

AFAIK, some of the work is done with Python to compile the .acs files?
Tanksy
 
Joined: 16 May 2016

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Yholl » Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:08 pm

Frozenwolf150 wrote:I've been meaning to ask, what specific modding tools were used for Doom RPG?
Notepad++
99% of doorpeg was done in Notepad++
User avatar
Yholl
I will hit you with my Decorate.
 
Joined: 17 Dec 2012
Location: Here, stupid.

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Frozenwolf150 » Fri Sep 09, 2016 12:48 am

Yholl wrote:
Frozenwolf150 wrote:I've been meaning to ask, what specific modding tools were used for Doom RPG?
Notepad++
99% of doorpeg was done in Notepad++

OK thanks, I'll try to figure it out.

~~~~~~~~

Regarding the prior bug report, I have more evidence that the runaway scripts glitch is caused by the turret feature. I just played through a 32 level megawad on the "Are you a bad enough dude?" setting, which I've found is much more stable than the normal setting. I completely avoided touching the turret menu in any way, and the runaway script glitch did not occur once. Shortly before reaching map 29, I decided to build the turret to see what would happen, so I bought 10,000 units of turret parts and fully upgraded the turret. I deployed the turret in map 29 and switched between weapon modes as needed. At first it was working fine, but when I saved and quit GZDoom, and then came back later to try and load my save, the turret HUD was missing but the turret was still floating in front of me. I hit Shift + T to try to recall it, and got the notice that the turret had been destroyed and needed repairs. I went into the turret menu and found that all the turret component numbers had been multiplied by 5 again (i.e. the shell capacity was 2500/500). When I hit Shift to attempt to repair it, the timer indicated it would take an hour and a half, and it was counting down far slower than it should with all the maintenance upgrades. So I decided, never mind, I'll leave the turret alone and go fight the abyss boss that appeared in one level. When I tried using the level exit after killing the boss, the runaway script glitch happened upon entering the next map. The last few scripts to crash in the error log are all related to the turret.

ETA: This is v0.10.1 of DRPG, on v2.1.1 of GZDoom.

Is it possible to manually remove the turret feature from DRPG so that GZDoom doesn't try to run its scripts? I don't know if the "terminate" CCMD will help, because there's nothing stopping the scripts from restarting on a map transition. I practically never use the turret anyway.
User avatar
Frozenwolf150
 
Joined: 11 Apr 2013

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Doomguy914 » Sun Sep 11, 2016 7:43 am

Tapwave wrote:I keep getting a red keycard in the arena, but I have no clue what it's supposed to be used for, since there are no red-locked doors (or any locked doors for that matter) in the outpost.


Spoiler:
Doomguy914
 
Joined: 26 May 2015

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Boxmanbr » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:03 am

I'm suspecting the monster count problem isn't related to monster death but that blue pain elemental that becomes a sphere waiting for itself to respawn, if the respawn of the monster is blocked, it won't respawn and the monster count will not decrease.

I have to play this mod again because I did not play it since much time ago, I don't remember well if it was exactly this, I will post more if I find something else.
Boxmanbr
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2015

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Frozenwolf150 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:27 pm

Boxmanbr wrote:I'm suspecting the monster count problem isn't related to monster death but that blue pain elemental that becomes a sphere waiting for itself to respawn, if the respawn of the monster is blocked, it won't respawn and the monster count will not decrease.

I have to play this mod again because I did not play it since much time ago, I don't remember well if it was exactly this, I will post more if I find something else.

At first I couldn't figure out what you meant by "blue pain elemental" but then I realized you're actually referring to the Cacobyss, which is a variation of the Cacodemon, not the Pain Elemental. I haven't noticed that happening before, but that's probably because I assumed the Cacobyss was just going to stay dead. I suspect this might have been the case every time I killed one repeatedly without destroying the blue orb, and then the Cacobyss did not respawn. Hopefully you're right, and this glitch can now be fixed.


By the way, in case anyone is wondering how to beat the game on "Are you a bad enough dude?" there is a specific strategy that will help you get started:
Spoiler:
User avatar
Frozenwolf150
 
Joined: 11 Apr 2013

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby JimpArgon » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:16 pm

So I downloaded the github link's version today. And went to play this with Legendoom + extras. Even tried without the extra's and this is what I am seeing. I am only really having this issue with Legendoom addon.... Not RLA or RPG + Extras

Image

What happened? I still have my older version I downloaded from 7/19/16 that works fine..... But I would hope that this get fixed sometime soon. For the record I was first playing on "gzdoom-g2.2pre-2215-gd128e28" version. I tried updating to the newest "gzdoom-g2.2pre-2222-gbec17bd.7z" build to see if that would work.... And it does not.

I hope this gets fixed soon, or someone could tell me what build I need to be playing this with to not come across any issues.
User avatar
JimpArgon
:) (:
Banned User
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2016
Location: Florida

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Coolstermanx » Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:58 am

I don't have lower statusbar at all when using Legendoom with this but it doesn't matter anyway since im never using it, also can someone explain to me what does the PP Ready do and how in the hell im activating this? It's always at 0 and i don't know what to do with it.
Coolstermanx
 
Joined: 26 Sep 2016

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby RastaManGames » Thu Sep 29, 2016 1:21 pm

Yholl's rarity beams working in TITLEMAP (i see that), but i can't see they ingame. What i do wrong?
And what is enemy aura steal rate? If this number == 200, enemy steal my money/credits/energy every 200 milliseconds?
User avatar
RastaManGames
Syberian Doom Fan
 
Joined: 13 Mar 2014
Location: Russian Federation, Krasnoyarsk
Discord: RastaManGames#4168

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby wildweasel » Thu Sep 29, 2016 5:09 pm

RastaManGames wrote:Yholl's rarity beams working in TITLEMAP (i see that), but i can't see they ingame. What i do wrong?

Are you playing as Technician?
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest