What's new in 2.0.51?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
zarcyb
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:12 am
Location: Edinburgh/Dundee, Scotland
Contact:

What's new in 2.0.51?

Post by zarcyb »

I'm guessing just bugfixes, but want to clear this up randy?
User avatar
SargeBaldy
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Post by SargeBaldy »

+- Added a few Strife things.
+- Fixed another Doom bug/oversimplification: PIT_AddThingIntercepts() checked
+ the trace against a line running through the middle of the thing. Now it
+ checks against the thing's actual bounding box, so chainsawing big things
+ like the Spider Mastermind is much easier now. This also means
+ P_LineAttack() doesn't need to position puffs/bullet splats closer along the
+ trace since the hit location won't be inside the thing anymore.
+- Changed blockmap thing linking so that things link to every block they touch
+ and not just the block at their center, fixing an old Doom bug.
+- Changed the summon command so that it spawns things in front of you based on
+ their radius rather than a fixed 64 units away.
+- Fixed: The joystick read rate was determined by the framerate instead of
+ being a constant 35 Hz.
+- Changed: Decals are not allowed on warping textures by default. You can allow
+ them by appending "allowdecals" to the warp statement in ANIMDEFS. (e.g.
+ "warp texture foofoo allowdecals")
+- Fixed: Bots whose teams were defined by name instead of numbers would always
+ be on the red team (team 0).
+- Fixed: Puzzle items need to stick around in multiplayer games.
+- Fixed: Saving in multiplayer games would try to save to the same full path
+ on all machines, even if the different machines had ZDoom installed in
+ different directories. The only one who was guaranteed to be able to save
+ because of this was the person who used the save command.
+- Fixed: Poison damage in multiplayer games did not respect the teamdamage
+ setting.
+- Added a minimum size limit of 1024 bytes for MOD/stream songs to work around
+ a bug in the current version of FMOD 3.70.
+- Fixed: Sprites with weird rotation flipping (e.g. the Hell Knight) did not
+ display properly.
+- Fixed: Even things that are not monsters could activate monster-allowed
+ lines in BOOM (and presumably DOOM).
+- Fixed: Compat_useblocking also needs to block non-use lines with specials,
+ not just use lines.
+- Fixed: Assigning a special to a line that would normally block the use of
+ lines behind it would enable those lines to be used.
+- Fixed: If a texture had the bNoRemap0 flag set and it was part of an
+ animation sequence, the flag would not be propagated to the other
+ textures in the sequence.
+- Added a check for a NULL SaveComment in the for loop that draws the comment
+ on the save/load menus.
+- Fixed: Hexen does not always pass the three ACS script arguments as the
+ first three variables as a script. Instead, it looks at the number of
+ used arguments and only copies the arguments that are used, initializing
+ the rest to 0.
+- Fixed the COLORMAP fixer so that it works correctly for palettes where
+ an exact match for color 0 does not exist.
+- Added a check for empty VERTEXES lumps to the map loader.
User avatar
bimshwel
Posts: 704
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:15 pm
Location: misplaced
Contact:

Post by bimshwel »

Oh, I think I found my bug! I feel temporarily half significant now!
User avatar
Jon
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 2:45 pm
Contact:

Post by Jon »

Added a few strife things? OH MY GOD! randy's adding support for strife!
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26517
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay »

What's more, it looks and feels great playing it using Zdoom. I just noticed that some of the Doom weapons work - they may be silent and invisible, but they work - so you can blow up the exploding barrels. :)
User avatar
SargeBaldy
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Post by SargeBaldy »

strife support's getting pretty sweet now. i didn't have any problems outside of the lack of actors and weapons :P
User avatar
Chilvence
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:36 pm
Contact:

Post by Chilvence »

I made a decorate lump to contain all the props, hopefully that temp fix will allow randy to concentrate on stuff like that :)

Now we just need an army of analysts to document every tiny little detail of strife.....
User avatar
Ultraviolet
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 9:08 pm
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Post by Ultraviolet »

Chilvence wrote:I made a decorate lump to contain all the props, hopefully that temp fix will allow randy to concentrate on stuff like that :)

Now we just need an army of analysts to document every tiny little detail of strife.....
That will be the hard part. We don't have any source code or a script-decompiler to tell us what's supposed to be going on in the levels, so at least that much of the map-related stuff will have to be re-done.

A patching utility will have to be used so that the ZDoom-compatible stuff can be added to the Strife IWAD in such a way that it can be distributed legally, not that anybody really cares...
User avatar
Chilvence
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:36 pm
Contact:

Post by Chilvence »

Yeah, the scripts will be a hard demon to tackle. I have nothing of the sort of knowledge required to understand them. Maybe someone has the experience and observational skills to crack the format itself, or maybe well just end up building a clone with ACS. I think as long as it possible to create an approximation of the original gameplay, it wont really matter how. It could be argued that its not worth delving into the old format at all, since zDoom's ACS can probably handle infinately more, and would be much better suited to future mods.

I wonder what Randy's plans are on this? He seems to have started adding the line specials and things and such, but I wonder if his intention is to thouroughly crack the game down or not? I think going by Goku's strife deth config, quite alot could be put in place in one swoop.

Anyway, realistically without any source, any kind of official strife support was always going to be a huge matter of trial and error. But thats the beauty of it I guess. If it can be done at all, it will be something to be proud of :)
User avatar
Ultraviolet
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 9:08 pm
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Post by Ultraviolet »

It's not writing the actual scripts that will be the problem, but determining all of the map behavior. We need people to run through the original game taking note of everything -- flowcharting of possible -- that happens regarding maps, teleportation/spawning of new things, and so on. There will be *plenty* of people available to do scripts.
User avatar
Chilvence
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:36 pm
Contact:

Post by Chilvence »

As you said, using a flowchart and a bit of imagination, it should be possible to make an approximation of the game.

We neednt sweat over exact details of everything, just so long as the main story branch is held together, I dont see why we cant make the rest up. That would give us the opportunity to add more detail to the dialogues and characters at the same time (maybe Im getting too ahead of myself)
User avatar
Ultraviolet
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 9:08 pm
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Post by Ultraviolet »

What? No, we shouldn't modify the dialogues. We CAN modify how they are displayed -- maybe make little icons for who is talking rather than use a full background picture just because fitting it to the screen would be an issue. We are gonna have to lay out the inventory in some whacky hack-up sort of way, and we're gonna want a scrollable key-menu too. Perhaps from there we could add a function to allow selection of that key in order to get info on the key, maybe a little write-up of who it came from or where it was acquired, maybe even what it does if that doesn't give away too much (only stuff that's easy to explain -- "Allows access to reactor area" or something like that, only what the player can assume is true).
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kappes Buur »

.
This may sound stupid, but ... well ... here goes:

How does one load Strife with ZDoom?

I have the shareware version with STRIFE0.WAD. I seem to remember that it should be loaded as a pwad, and when I load it with

zdoom.exe -file strife0.wad

all I get is ZDoom running Doom2 with strife textures, or what looks like strife textures, with the Doom2 palette.

The menues and info screens are all in strife font.
.
User avatar
Kate
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 2975
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 8:06 pm

Post by Kate »

try using -iwad instead of -file
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kappes Buur »

.
Destroyer wrote:try using -iwad instead of -file
That did not work either. With zdoom.exe -iwad strife0.wad I get this message
Post Reply

Return to “General”