ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
Locked
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8170
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Major Cooke »

Looking at SetSize, what is the very first parameter (height) doing? In doom it's set to 32, hexen 38...

Also what's the best way to replicate the 'forcedscale' keyword?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Graf Zahl »

The first parameter is the actual height of the status bar, i.e. how much of the view it obstructs.

For forcedscale look at the definitions of

Code: Select all

	void BeginStatusBar(int resW, int resH, int relTop, bool forceScaled);
	void BeginHUD(int resW, int resH, double Alpha, bool forceScaled = false);
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8170
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Major Cooke »

Okay I gave it a shot.

Here's the code to the SBARINFO for comparison's sake:

Code: Select all

height 0;
CompleteBorder True;

Resolution 1024,768;
InterpolateHealth false, 20;
InterpolateArmor false, 20;

//================================================================================================
//================================================================================================
//	This version HAS the weapon bar and ammo counter
//================================================================================================
//================================================================================================
statusbar Normal, forcescaled
{	
	
	// Powerups
	// Go first because otherwise they obscure HUD elements
	inInventory PowerD4QuadDamage 			{ drawimage "Shade2Ma", -171, 0; }
	inInventory PowerD4Regen	 			{ drawimage "Shade2Cy", -171, 0; }
	inInventory PowerD4Haste				{ drawimage "Shade2Ye", -171, 0; }
	inInventory PowerD4Money 				{ drawimage "Shade2Gr", -171, 0; }
		
	// UAC Doomguy collectible uses
	InInventory DollUses,1
	{ drawimage "Ddoll", 1060,727; }
	InInventory DollUses,2 
	{ drawimage "Ddoll", 1030,727; }
	InInventory DollUses,3
	{ drawimage "Ddoll", 1000,727; } 
	InInventory DollUses,4
	{ drawimage "Ddoll", 970,727; } 
	InInventory DollUses,5
	{ drawimage "Ddoll", 940,727; } 
	InInventory DollUses,6
	{ drawimage "Ddoll", 910,727; } 
	InInventory DollUses,7
	{ drawimage "Ddoll", 880,727; } 
	InInventory DollUses,8
	{ drawimage "Ddoll", 850,727; } 
	InInventory DollUses,9
	{ drawimage "Ddoll", 820,727; } 

		// The Usual
		drawimage "BODYBAR0", -69,669;
// ...
}
And here's my current translation to zscript.

Code: Select all

Class Doom4StatusBar : BaseStatusBar
{
    DynamicValueInterpolator mHealthInterpolator;
    DynamicValueInterpolator mHealthInterpolator2;
    HUDFont mHUDFont;
    HUDFont mIndexFont;
    HUDFont mBigFont;
    InventoryBarState diparms;
    InventoryBarState diparms_sbar;

    override void Init()
    {
        Super.Init();

        SetSize(0, 1024, 768);
        CompleteBorder = true;

        // Create the font used for the fullscreen HUD
        Font fnt = "HUDFONT_DOOM";
        mHUDFont = HUDFont.Create(fnt, fnt.GetCharWidth("0") + 1, true, 1, 1);
        fnt = "INDEXFONT_DOOM";
        mIndexFont = HUDFont.Create(fnt, fnt.GetCharWidth("0"), true);
        fnt = "BIGFONT";
        mBigFont = HUDFont.Create(fnt, fnt.GetCharWidth("0"), true, 2, 2);
        diparms = InventoryBarState.Create(mIndexFont);
        //diparms_sbar = InventoryBarState.CreateNoBox(mIndexFont, boxsize:(31, 31), arrowoffs:(0,-10));
        mHealthInterpolator = DynamicValueInterpolator.Create(0, 0.25, 1, 8);
        mHealthInterpolator2 = DynamicValueInterpolator.Create(0, 0.25, 1, 6);    // the chain uses a maximum of 6, not 8.
    }
    
    override void NewGame ()
    {
        Super.NewGame();
        mHealthInterpolator.Reset (0);
        mHealthInterpolator2.Reset (0);
    }
    
    override void Tick()
    {
        Super.Tick();
        mHealthInterpolator.Update(CPlayer.health);
    }

    override void Draw (int state, double TicFrac)
    {
        Super.Draw (state, TicFrac);

        if (state == HUD_StatusBar)
        {
            BeginStatusBar(true);
            DrawMainBar (TicFrac);
        }
        else if (state == HUD_Fullscreen)
        {
            BeginHUD(1.0, true);
            DrawFullScreenStuff();
        }
    }
    
    protected void DrawMainBar (double TicFrac)
    {
        
    }
    
    protected void DrawFullScreenStuff ()
    {
        int imageAlignment = 0;
        if (GetAmountOnly("PowerD4QuadDamage"))    DrawImage("Shade2Ma", (-171, 0), imageAlignment);
        if (GetAmountOnly("PowerD4Regen"))        DrawImage("Shade2Cy", (-171, 0), imageAlignment);
        if (GetAmountOnly("PowerD4Haste"))        DrawImage("Shade2Ye", (-171, 0), imageAlignment);
        if (GetAmountOnly("PowerD4Money"))        DrawImage("Shade2Gr", (-171, 0), imageAlignment);
        
        /* For comparison's sake.
        inInventory PowerD4QuadDamage             { drawimage "Shade2Ma", -171, 0; }
        inInventory PowerD4Regen                 { drawimage "Shade2Cy", -171, 0; }
        inInventory PowerD4Haste                { drawimage "Shade2Ye", -171, 0; }
        inInventory PowerD4Money                 { drawimage "Shade2Gr", -171, 0; }
        */
        
        int DoomDollMax, DoomDollCount;
        [DoomDollCount, DoomDollMax] = GetAmount("DollUses");
        DoomDollCount = Min(DoomDollCount, DoomDollMax);
        if (DoomDollCount > 0)
        {
            for (int i = 0; i < DoomDollCount; i++)
            {
                int DollX = 1060 - (30 * i);
                DrawImage("Ddoll", (DollX, 727), imageAlignment);
            }
        }
        
        DrawImage ("BODYBAR0", (-69, 669), imageAlignment);
        
        /* UAC Doomguy collectible uses
        InInventory DollUses,1
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 1060,727; }
        InInventory DollUses,2 
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 1030,727; }
        InInventory DollUses,3
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 1000,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,4
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 970,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,5
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 940,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,6
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 910,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,7
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 880,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,8
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 850,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,9
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 820,727; } 
        */
    }
    
}

extend class Doom4StatusBar
{
    int GetAmountOnly(class<Inventory> item)
    {
        let it = CPlayer.mo.FindInventory(item);
        return (it ? it.Amount : 0);
    }
} 
Am I forgetting to do something that's causing this alignment to go out of whack? Or do we basically need to reposition it to the new system?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Graf Zahl »

What happens?
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8170
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Major Cooke »

I just realized I put the hud stuff into the fullscreen stuff by mistake, whoops. That'll do it.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8170
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Major Cooke »

So one thing I don't quite get is the coordinate system between status bar and full screen.

Code: Select all

if (state == HUD_StatusBar)
{
	BeginStatusBar(true);
	DrawMainBar (TicFrac);
}
else if (state == HUD_Fullscreen)
{
	BeginHUD(1.0, true);
	DrawFullScreenStuff();
}
It's so much different than the other...
Por que?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Graf Zahl »

The status bar is supposed to draw into a 320x200 screen with the status bar at the bottom.

The fullscreen HUD is supposed to align stuff to the screen's edges. This is copied verbatim from SBARINFO.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8170
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Major Cooke »

Graf Zahl wrote:removed alpha parameter from BaseStatusBar.DrawBar because this cannot be used with this function.
Why is that?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Graf Zahl »

The bar drawer is rather hacky to allow working with Hexen's badly designed graphics. For translucency a baggage-free version needs to be done that doesn't try to put a black fill overlay over the graphic.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8170
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Major Cooke »

I take it that's planned? It would be highly appreciated.
User avatar
Gutawer
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:01 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Gutawer »

Code: Select all

SetClipRect(0, 1080 - 128, 64, 64);
DrawImage("STARTAN2", (0, 1080), DI_ITEM_LEFT_BOTTOM);
Why isn't this clipping the texture vertically? It halves the texture horizontally as expected, but doesn't half it vertically, leaving a 64*128 texture on the screen when it should be 64*64. I tried messing around with the SetClipRect flags, but I couldn't get anything to work, would appreciate some help here.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17433
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Nash »

A bug maybe?
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1322
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by AFADoomer »

Major Cooke wrote:I take it that's planned? It would be highly appreciated.
This works... Also allows bars to be scaled...
I think some of the border stuff might still be unnecessary now, but it doesn't stop anything I've done from working - I haven't really tested with a border, though - it "works", but I don't know what the expected behavior is supposed to me.

Code: Select all

    //Custom version of DrawBar that allows drawing with alpha - mostly copy/paste from original function, modified to allow alpha and scaling
    void DrawBarEx(String ongfx, String offgfx, double curval, double maxval, Vector2 position, int border, int vertical, int flags = 0, double alpha = 1., double scale = 1.)
    {
        let ontex = TexMan.CheckForTexture(ongfx, TexMan.TYPE_MiscPatch);
        if (!ontex.IsValid()) return;
        let offtex = TexMan.CheckForTexture(offgfx, TexMan.TYPE_MiscPatch);

        Vector2 texsize = TexMan.GetScaledSize(ontex);
        texsize.x *= scale;
        texsize.y *= scale;
        [position, flags] = AdjustPosition(position, flags, texsize.X, texsize.Y);
        
        double value = (maxval != 0) ? clamp(curval / maxval, 0, 1) : 0;
        if(border != 0) value = 1. - value; //invert since the new drawing method requires drawing the bg on the fg.
        
        // {cx, cb, cr, cy}
        double Clip[4];
        Clip[0] = Clip[1] = Clip[2] = Clip[3] = 0;
        
        bool horizontal = !(vertical & SHADER_VERT);
        bool reverse = !!(vertical & SHADER_REVERSE);
        double sizeOfImage = (horizontal ? texsize.X - border*2 : texsize.Y - border*2);
        Clip[(!horizontal) | ((!reverse)<<1)] = sizeOfImage - sizeOfImage * value;
        
        // preserve the active clipping rectangle
        int cx, cy, cw, ch;
        [cx, cy, cw, ch] = screen.GetClipRect();

        if(border != 0)
        {
            for(int i = 0; i < 4; i++) Clip[i] += border;

            //Draw the whole foreground
            DrawTexture(ontex, position, flags | DI_ITEM_LEFT_TOP, alpha, scale: (scale, scale));
            SetClipRect(position.X + Clip[0], position.Y + Clip[1], texsize.X - Clip[0] - Clip[2], texsize.Y - Clip[1] - Clip[3], flags);
        }
        
        if (offtex.IsValid()) { DrawTexture(offtex, position, flags | DI_ITEM_LEFT_TOP, alpha, scale: (scale, scale)); }
        
        if (border == 0) 
        {
            SetClipRect(position.X + Clip[0], position.Y + Clip[1], texsize.X - Clip[0] - Clip[2], texsize.Y - Clip[1] - Clip[3], flags);
            DrawTexture(ontex, position, flags | DI_ITEM_LEFT_TOP, alpha, scale: (scale, scale));
        }
        // restore the previous clipping rectangle
        screen.SetClipRect(cx, cy, cw, ch);
    }
User avatar
Gutawer
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:01 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Gutawer »

Nash wrote:A bug maybe?
Probably, I guess. Since I haven't got any other responses here I suppose I'll go report it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

Post by Graf Zahl »

Nash wrote:A bug maybe?

Hard to say from a small fragment of code that doesn't say anything about the context. Just this: This code doesn't look correct at all, so I need to see more.
Locked

Return to “Scripting”