The "How do I..." Thread

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby NeuralStunner » Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:57 pm

D2JK wrote:Try A_Recoil, the angle shouldn't matter. Combine with ThrustThingZ, if you need a tad of vertical thrust as well.
Why are people still using, reusing, and suggesting those terrible old functions?! Why not let bad habits die.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Not "Neutral"
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Carbine Dioxide » Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:05 pm

That's a little better. While I am here, is there an action that jumps to a state based on how much damage the actor is taking? Maybe a action that jumps to a state based on what the damage type is? Like a JumpIf or something?
User avatar
Carbine Dioxide
You shouldve seen the look on your face
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2014
Location: Anywhere.

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby BigProjectAlone » Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:04 am

hello! i need help because i can't figure this out at all..

i've managed to do my character that walk and you can press the use key on it to talk with her.
all works fine, the only problem is the Hudmessage that doesn't want to appear in the screen.
if i use the PUKE ** cheat it works well.. but if i do press use key on the character it doesn't show up?

here is my character decorate:
Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR Alyza : switchingdecoration replaces Alyza2 7080
{
//$Category Characters
  xscale 0.43
  yscale 0.53
  Health 5000
  Radius 20
  Height 68
  Mass 175
  Speed 5
  +FLOORCLIP
  +solid
  Activation THINGSPEC_Activate
  +USESPECIAL 
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    KUJO AABBCCDD 5 A_Wander
    Loop
   Active:
   KUJO A 1 A_facetarget
   KUJO A 200 Acs_execute(55,0)
    Goto Spawn
  }
}

ACTOR Alyza2 7301
{
//$Category Characters
  xscale 0.43
  yscale 0.53
  Health 5000
  Radius 20
  Height 68
  Mass 175
  Speed 5
  Damage 6
  Painchance 60
  Monster
  +FLOORCLIP
  +TELESTOMP
  +invulnerable
  SeeSound "SHESIT"
  PainSound "SHEPAIN"
  DeathSound "SHEPAIN"
  ActiveSound "SHEACT"
  HowlSound "SHEPAIN"
  Obituary "%o as been purified by Alyza..."
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    KUJO AABBCCDD 5 A_Wander
   KUJO A 1 A_JumpIfcloser(32,2)
    Loop
  Pain:
    KUJO L 7 A_Pain
    Goto See
  Death:
   TNT1 A 1 A_SPawnitem("MySpawnermoyen")
    KUJO L 8
    KUJO N 1
    KUJO N 5 A_Scream
    KUJO N 1 A_NoBlocking
    KUJO O 30000
    KUJO O 1 A_Respawn
    Stop
    Burn:
   TNT1 A 1 A_SPawnitem("MySpawnermoyen")
    KUJO L 1 A_Spawndebris("FEMMEBURN")
    SUCO Z 25000
    SUCO Z 1 A_Respawn
    stop
  }
}

and here is the script in map:
Code: Select allExpand view
script 55 (void)
{
delay(21);
HudMessage(s:"You: Alyza your father want you to come home.";
HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_gold, 0.5, 0.8, 5.0);
delay(10*17);
ActivatorSound("AL1",255);
hudmessage(s:"Alyza: who are you?, anyway.. thank you. i'll be there soon.";
HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_red, 0.5, 0.8, 5.0);
thing_remove(143);
acs_execute(3,10,0,0,0);
}

can you help me please?
User avatar
BigProjectAlone
Boss
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Location: canada

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Gez » Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:11 am

You need to use THINGSPEC_Activate|THINGSPEC_ThingTargets as the activation value, and in your script you need to call SetActivatorToTarget before the HUDMessage functions.

The script is run from the actor's state, so its activator is always the switchingdecoration.


Alternatively, instead of running script 55 from the state, give the Alyza decoration the 80:ACS_Execute(55) special. Then activating it will run the script using the trigger as the activator.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby BigProjectAlone » Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:29 am

Gez wrote:You need to use THINGSPEC_Activate|THINGSPEC_ThingTargets as the activation value, and in your script you need to call SetActivatorToTarget before the HUDMessage functions.

The script is run from the actor's state, so its activator is always the switchingdecoration.


Alternatively, instead of running script 55 from the state, give the Alyza decoration the 80:ACS_Execute(55) special. Then activating it will run the script using the trigger as the activator.



thank you very very much!
User avatar
BigProjectAlone
Boss
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Location: canada

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby xenoxols » Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:05 am

How do you make the screen not flash red when you take a lot of damage?
xenoxols
Pocket Watch Queen
 
Joined: 18 Mar 2013
Location: Americopolis

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:08 am

I have a problem:

The wiki says that a projectile can enter different death states depending on what it hits:

Death state: When hitting a wall (decals and effects work fine)

XDeath State: When hitting a bleeding actor (spawning brutal doom blood, works fine, too)

Crush: When hitting a non-bleeding actor (for example the enemy is a vechicle, it spawns metal junk but that does not work.... :?: )


So When an actor has the +NOBLOOD flag set, my projectile should enter its crush state and spawn metal chunks but for some reason it doesn´t....... > :(
Monsters with the the +NOBLOOD flag set still bleed.....

With other words, my projectile never enters its crush state, no matter if +NOBLOOD is set or not

This is the projectile code

Actor Nemesis_Bullet : FastProjectile //Not doing damage at all, but managing its death states
{
RenderStyle Add
Alpha 0.8
YScale 0.12
XScale 0.3
Speed 100
radius 10
height 8
damage 0
Decal "BulletChip"
SeeSound "Whizby"
States
{
Spawn:
TRAC A 1 bright
loop
Death:
TRAC A 1 A_SpawnItem("NewBulletpuff") // When hitting a wall
stop
XDeath:
NULL A 1 A_CustomMissile ("Brutal_Blood", 8, 0, random (0, 360), 2, random (0, 160)) //When hitting a monster
Stop
crush:
NULL A 1 A_CustomMissile ("Junky", 8, 0, random (0, 360), 2, random (0, 160)) //DOES NOT WORK
Stop

}
}

Actor Nemesis_SHT_Bullet : Nemesis_Bullet //This is what does the damage to mosters, but this works fine
{
Damage 3
}
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS /MODELPACK PROVIDER
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Blue Shadow » Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:20 am

xenoxols wrote:How do you make the screen not flash red when you take a lot of damage?

Player.DamageScreenColor has an intensity parameter. Try that.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Gez » Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:23 am

I don't know why it doesn't work, but please, do not use NULL A as a state; use TNT1 A, thanks.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby TheBadHustlex » Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:55 am

Help please.

I manually deleted two textures (including their patches) from my texture-directories. Now, when I try to start the game, it says "Bad Texture-Directory". What can I do to fix that?

This is as far as the execution goes:
Spoiler:
User avatar
TheBadHustlex
Better than stalin.
 
Joined: 03 Oct 2013
Location: 'stria

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Vincent(PDP) » Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:17 am

TheBadHustlex wrote:Help please.

I manually deleted two textures (including their patches) from my texture-directories. Now, when I try to start the game, it says "Bad Texture-Directory". What can I do to fix that?

This is as far as the execution goes:
Spoiler:


If this is a wad/pk3:
Edit the texture file and the Patch Names file and remove your texture from there too.
User avatar
Vincent(PDP)
Threat to system.
 
Joined: 16 May 2014
Location: Sweden

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:42 am

Gez wrote:I don't know why it doesn't work, but please, do not use NULL A as a state; use TNT1 A, thanks.



Change Frame names. TNT1 A looks better to me, too.

I still don´t understand why Death and Xdeath are working but the CRUSH state does not but I think "CheckIfInTargetInventory("nonbleeding",1,"crush")" should solve this...not the best way.... :?
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS /MODELPACK PROVIDER
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby TheBadHustlex » Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:11 pm

Vincent(PDP) wrote:If this is a wad/pk3:
Edit the texture file and the Patch Names file and remove your texture from there too.


Well, that's where I deleted them from. They are not there, but the game won't run...
User avatar
TheBadHustlex
Better than stalin.
 
Joined: 03 Oct 2013
Location: 'stria

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby D2JK » Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:58 pm

I still don´t understand why Death and Xdeath are working but the CRUSH state does not

It's not "crush", but "crash". :wink:

Actor states , Projectile (maybe you knew these two already).
D2JK
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2014

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Carbine Dioxide » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:12 pm

This isn't really a "How Do I" question, but can anyone one tell me if the blood on pain.head is coming out of the zombie man's head? I looked at it in game, and it's so fast, I can't tell.

Code: Select allExpand view
Pain.Head:
POSS G 3
TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnDebris("NashgoreFlyingBlood", 1, 0, 2)
POSS G 3 A_Pain
Goto See
User avatar
Carbine Dioxide
You shouldve seen the look on your face
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2014
Location: Anywhere.

PreviousNext

Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests