[Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

New maps, and other projects whose primary focus is new maps, belong here.

Note: This forum, and all forums below it, are not for questions or troubleshooting! Threads created here are for active projects only! If you have questions please feel free to use the Editing subforums or General forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Risen
Posts: 5263
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 1:02 pm
Location: N44°30' W073°05'

Post by Risen »

Perhaps it only works with actors.
Try defining an empty sound sequence.

Edit: The resource WAD generates this with Doom Builder:

WARNING: Could not find the required lump for the patch N_CM1_3R
Nick, since you'll have to update the resource to add an empty sequence, could you look into it?
NiGHTMARE
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 8:39 am

Post by NiGHTMARE »

Risen: ah, N_CM1_3R is a patch I realized wasn't needed (it's a recolouration of a patch which I'd forgotten isn't actually in Doom, only the alphas), so never imported the graphic... but looks like I forgot to delete it. In other words, it's an invalid lump which can be removed ;).

As for sound sequences, that's an area I've never really played around with before, so I'd feel like I was about to screw something up :P. If it's not too difficult/time consuming, maybe someone could do it?

Anyone interested: it looks like yet another ugly SUPPORT2 replacement somehow found it's way into the resource wad. When I submit E1M4, I'll include the nice looking, tiling version again, as well as a 32x128 modification of it to replace the current 32x128 variant.

What else? Oh yes, I'm going to take a break now, but my contributions to E1M4 will almost definitely get finished tommorow. Here's some pics just to prove I am actually doing some work :).
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13533
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
Contact:

Post by Tormentor667 »

@Nightmare - Nice work, as always :) Actually, could you fix that stuff in the latest resource wad I posted one page ago and then send it to me (tormentor667 AT arcor.de) so I can update the download link? Oh and don't forget to add this brown nukage border alternate texture with blood for E1M8!
BTW: would it be possible to add a stacked-sector effect to the bridge room?! I might think this would be a great addition to this room :)

Oh and by the way, I am working right now on E1M8 and progress runs smooth ;)
User avatar
Risen
Posts: 5263
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 1:02 pm
Location: N44°30' W073°05'

Post by Risen »

Making a new emplty soundsequence should be quite trivial.
http://www.zdoom.org/wiki/index.php?title=SNDSEQ

It should be as simple as:
:emptyplat
platform 1
end

Can you add more floor height variation in the cave room on the left? I think it really needs it.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13533
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
Contact:

Post by Tormentor667 »

@Nightmare - And if you alreaday work with the resource, could you also add the ambient sounds to the wad (lumps and sndinfo) which you can get here?

http://home.arcor.de/tormentor667/kdizdres/newsounds/

Most of them are ambient scary sounds and they might fight perfect in our maps :)
User avatar
Risen
Posts: 5263
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 1:02 pm
Location: N44°30' W073°05'

Post by Risen »

Dammit.
Hold off on importing the intermap stuff.
There will be no new import file provided today.
I've come across a bug in .94 which has severely limited progress here.
User avatar
Kate
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 2975
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 8:06 pm

Post by Kate »

It's not a .94 bug, in fact it isn't a bug at all. Just adjust your zdefs.cfg files to read like so:

Code: Select all

// Properties you can use with GetLevelInfo() -------------------------------

#define LEVELINFO_PAR_TIME		0
#define LEVELINFO_CLUSTERNUM		1
#define LEVELINFO_LEVELNUM		2
#define LEVELINFO_TOTAL_SECRETS		3
#define LEVELINFO_FOUND_SECRETS		4
#define LEVELINFO_TOTAL_ITEMS		5
#define LEVELINFO_FOUND_ITEMS		6
#define LEVELINFO_TOTAL_MONSTERS	7
#define LEVELINFO_KILLED_MONSTERS	8
User avatar
Nmn
Posts: 4629
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 1:41 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Contact:

Post by Nmn »

Splendid work Nightmare, tough those caves :roll: could use a couple slopes :)
NiGHTMARE
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 8:39 am

Post by NiGHTMARE »

There actually are slopes/height variations in the caves, you just can't really see them very well in the shots :).
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13533
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
Contact:

Post by Tormentor667 »

@Nightmare- Forget about what I said, I already work on the whole stuff!
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13533
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
Contact:

Post by Tormentor667 »

Resource Update
Get the latest version over at:
http://home.arcor.de/tormentor667/kdizd ... zd1res.zip (4,1MB)
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13533
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
Contact:

Post by Tormentor667 »

Help Needed:
Well, I actually work on the boss end fight and I have a big problem with this. After the 2 super Barons are dead, I want script 8 to be executed so I created this little script for that:

Code: Select all

script 73 OPEN //Master Baron Count
	{
	delay(10);
	while(thingcount(77,0)>0)
		{
   		delay(35);
		}
	ACS_Execute(8,0);
	}
My Superbarons have the ThingID 77 and normally, everything should work fine but unfortunately, the script is executed at the very beginning of the map as soon as I enter although both Barons are on the map and alive.
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:00 pm
Location: Maine, US
Contact:

Post by LilWhiteMouse »

Tormentor667 wrote:My Superbarons have the ThingID 77
If they're TID 77 then it should be ThingCount (0, 77).
Last edited by LilWhiteMouse on Sun Nov 21, 2004 8:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13533
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
Contact:

Post by Tormentor667 »

Aaah :) Thx alot LWM :)

@All - At the moment I compilate the complete soundtrack and later I will upload it to my webspace so you can listen to it and tell me if you like it or not!

*question*
Best recommended OGG Vorbis compress rate?
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13533
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
Contact:

Post by Tormentor667 »

Okay, I am done with the music right now and you can get it over here:
http://home.arcor.de/tormentor667/kdizd ... sicres.zip

It is about 26,875,637 MB thick (yes that's quite alot), the files are compressed with OGG Vorbis and a Bitrate of 112kbps. You will find the following in the wad itself:

D_CREDIT - Tune for our Credit map made by BioHazard (any news on that?)
D_E1M1 - Tune for Map01
D_E1M2 - Tune for Map02
D_E1M3 - Tune for Map03
D_E1M4 - Tune for Map04
D_E1M5 - Tune for Map05
D_E1M6 - Tune for Map06
D_E1M7 - Tune for Map07
D_E1M8 - Tune for Map08
D_E1M8B - Tune for EndBattles in Map08
D_E1M9 - Tune for Map09
D_READ_M - Ending Text, Intermission Text, whatever
D_DM2TTL - Title Tune

I am uploading this file right now, I have already 9% and in about 46 minutes from now, it will be finished :)

Now what is left to do:
Someone has to create the MAPINFO lump (Risen?) and send it to me so I can place it into the resource wad. And don't forget: We need one MAPINFO lump for the version with these tunes and one MAPINFO lump without music!!! (for the dial-up version)
Post Reply

Return to “Levels”