3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update: It's getting BRUTAL!]

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Max Dickings
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:27 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Max Dickings »

I'm obviously new to all this so please bare with me :x

So, this standalone exe (from what I can tell running it in cmd) converts png sprites to super nice looking sprites?

If that's the case, couldn't I in theory start trying to apply this in my spare time to Brutal Doom?
User avatar
Sp00kyFox
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:50 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Sp00kyFox »

of course you could. the whole brutal doom pack with all its files just looks super confusing.
so this gotta be a mess to do this. but feel free to try. I suggest you use the batch I posted.
User avatar
Max Dickings
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:27 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Max Dickings »

Whoa, I think I did it!! :shock:

- Old original file, zoomed in
Image

- Unaltered new file
Image


And I managed to apply it to the entire Fatality folder! Although me thinks I should wait a week for V19 to come out then convert that one instead...




e/
Ahhhhh spoke too soon. It doesn't work in-game. I deleted the orignals and replaced them with the ones I converted, and they don't display in game. Aww
User avatar
Sp00kyFox
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:50 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Sp00kyFox »

yeah it doesn't work this way. you need the original files for the meta informations. just throw your upscaled sprites in a folder called "hires" (subdirectories are possible) inside of a pk3 file and load this after the wad/pk3 with the original unscaled sprites.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26498
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Enjay »

This is pretty cool. I think it works particularly well in Strife because the resizing method suits the slightly cartoony nature of the Strife graphics.

Are there any other command line options for the tool other than infile/outfile? The reason I ask is that I would like to stop it optimising images to paletted ones. I have a couple of examples where it makes some mistakes and wrongly identifies certain pixels as background areas. As far as I can tell, the tool doesn't reduce images with more than 256 colours to a paletted PNG so I have got around the problem by pasting a small square with loads of unique colours on to the image to ensure that it has more than 256 colours. This works but it's clumsy and time consuming.
pantera
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 1:04 pm

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by pantera »

wow, seems impressive... how i can download it? links are broken
User avatar
Sp00kyFox
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:50 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Sp00kyFox »

Enjay wrote:Are there any other command line options for the tool other than infile/outfile? The reason I ask is that I would like to stop it optimising images to paletted ones. I have a couple of examples where it makes some mistakes and wrongly identifies certain pixels as background areas.
no not to my knowledge, the usage is pretty basic. but I don't quite understand your problem though. what's the issue with if the result file is a paletted one? use a graphic tool like xnview and resave all the images to truecolor pngs or whatever. and what do you mean by background areas, transperancy? since this xBR variant doesn't blend colors it also keeps the transperancy intact. the only problem is, if the transperancy color itself is too similar to the edge of the sprite which leads to wrong interpolation decisions. thats why I suggested my batch file, which substitutes the transperancy color to a more suitable one.
for the different iwads I used the following colors (based on what colors are already in the specific palette):

Code: Select all

DOOM
cyan

HERETIC & HEXEN
"rgb(255,0,128)"

STRIFE
magenta
pantera wrote:wow, seems impressive... how i can download it? links are broken
hmm, no? checked all 5 download links, there are still online.
User avatar
DoomRater
Posts: 8265
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:21 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: WATR HQ

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by DoomRater »

Any idea if this filter could be added to ZDoom? I'd love it if the engine did all the heavy lifting for me. Might even get me to use such a filter.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26498
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Enjay »

Sp00kyFox wrote:I don't quite understand your problem though. what's the issue with if the result file is a paletted one?
I've had two problems actually (which may just be different manifestations of the same problem for all I know).

Problem 1: a true colour PNG image (of a HUD weapon) was run through the upscaler. The resulting image was paletted and all the areas that should have been transparent were dark grey and non transparent. However, a small area about 16 pixels wide and the shape of a square with the top right corner missing in the middle of the weapon was set to be transparent. Pasting a small 32x32 graphic with lots of colours onto the transparent area of the source image prevented the graphic being paletised and the resulting upscaled image had correct transparency.

I also had another image (a powrup pickup) where all of the transparency from the original image became set to a dark grey colour. Again, changing the image to have too many colours to be paletised allowed transparency to be set correctly.

Problem2: Another HUD weapon was also run through the upscaler. This particular weapon has a number of frames. Some have a nice graduated flash on them others do not. In the graphics without a flash, the images became paletised and a number of pixels around the end of the weapon became set to transparent. These made the weapon look ragged at the end. The upscaler did not paletise the ones with the flash and it was this weapon that allowed me to discover the work-around. Sure enough, using my 32x32 colour-paste workaround allowed the images to convert properly.


In both of the above cases, I was just using the upscaler exe without any additional tools or batch files.
3xBRLV4 infile.png outfile.png

It can't be a case that partial transparency in the original image (or similar) was causing the problem because there was no partial transparency (due to the way I made the images, there shouldn't have been). However, I have run true colour images with partial transparency through the upscaler and they worked just fine.

I'm not that bothered. The images were just a test and I found a workaround. It was just that if there was a command line switch to prevent paletising (which seems to be the root of the problem), I would have used it to prevent me having to spot glitched graphics and then use the workaround.

Also, just as a side point, personally I'd prefer the resulting images to be true colour. It would make it easier for me to do some "post production" work on them.
User avatar
Sp00kyFox
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:50 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Sp00kyFox »

my guess would be that the problem is caused by transparent pixels with different colors. so if your sprite has too few colors (<= 256) the executable palettises it and by that only considers one of the transparency colors, since this format doesn't allow more than one entry set to transparent. solution would be to set every transparent pixel to the same color, which is exactly what I did in my batch script. you need the freeware tool graphicsmagick (gm) though.
just make sure to use a color which isn't used by or similar to any nontransparent pixels. see me color suggestions from the last post.

if this doesn't help at all, you could always contact the author of the scaler: hyllian. he's active at the retroarch, bsnes and neogaf forums.
User avatar
Max Dickings
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:27 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Max Dickings »

So with v19 released, I upsized all the monster sprites and fatality sprites.

Is this a noticeable difference? Worthy of uploading? Etc.

http://imgur.com/JcnZpYU,X7PRh5A,0w9JVTt,AHLP9kO
Spoiler:
User avatar
doomfiend
Posts: 526
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:10 am
Location: some where

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by doomfiend »

Can I please have that hud? :shock:
User avatar
Blox
Posts: 3728
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:35 am
Location: Apathetic Limbo

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Blox »

Maybe it would look better if you didn't botch it up with hqnx afterwards? (Look at how blurry the ground is.)
User avatar
Sinael
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:57 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Sinael »

Why dont simply apply the filter to textures too? I'd like to see how that would look.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26498
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Enjay »

Sinael wrote:Why dont simply apply the filter to textures too? I'd like to see how that would look.
Simply, because you can't.

The textures don't exist as graphics. Patches that are used inside the textures do but they have different names to the textures. So you'd have to either redefine all the textures individually to be hi-res after filtering the patches or youd have to recreate the textures as graphics, filter them and use the hi-res replacement method.

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”