Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 2 Release!]
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
-
- Posts: 1489
- Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
- Location: Boringland, California
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [IN PROGRESS]
Model 1887
This gun may not be standard issue amongst special forces groups around the world, but it sure as hell fun to use when your blasting away enemy soldiers and demons! Its small spread is suitable for sniping at medium ranges. The only downside to this gun is its long reload time.
The original sprites were from JoeyTD.
-
- Posts: 1000
- Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:31 am
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
i like it. thing is, in my opinion, the arm looks awkward during the lever-action animation.
-
- Posts: 1489
- Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
- Location: Boringland, California
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
Yeah, I know. I didn't really have a lot to work with in terms of the resources available.
-
- Posts: 1000
- Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:31 am
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
i'm assuming that this is the only lever-action shotgun you came across with?
-
- Posts: 1777
- Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:58 pm
-
- Posts: 1000
- Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:31 am
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
well, tbh ghost, this looks almost exactly the same as the one he has now... only that there's no arm popping out, and it has doomguy's hands on it.
-
- Posts: 1489
- Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
- Location: Boringland, California
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
Yeah, that's the exact same one. I just added JoeyTD's arms from his abandoned WW2 mod and added the extended arm. I think the problem right now is that the player's arm is too short. I'm gonna have to extend it.
-
- Posts: 1000
- Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:31 am
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
well, it looked short before fully doing the lever-action pump. perhaps if you make it a bit smooth, it would look alright.
-
- Posts: 1777
- Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:58 pm
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
Oh, my bad, I was looking at the pump frames.
-
- Posts: 1489
- Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
- Location: Boringland, California
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
I got rid of the boring AK47 and added in a sniper rifle. However, I do have a slight problem with it. If I zoom in and fire, the firing animation will show up while zoomed in, making it look pretty weird. How do I fix this?
Code: Select all
ACTOR SniperRifle : Weapon replaces PlasmaRifle
{
+NOAUTOFIRE
+NOALERT
+NOEXTREMEDEATH
Weapon.SelectionOrder 800
Weapon.AmmoUse 1
Weapon.SlotNumber 6
Weapon.AmmoGive 5
Weapon.AmmoType "Cell"
inventory.pickupsound "weapons/sniperclose"
Obituary "%o was sniped by %k."
Inventory.Pickupmessage "Picked up a Sniper Rifle."
States
{
Ready:
SNPE A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("SniperZoom", 1, "ReadyScope")
SNPE A 1 A_WeaponReady
Loop
ReadyScope:
TNT1 A 1 A_WeaponReady(WRF_NoBob)
LOOP
Deselect:
TNT1 A 0 A_TakeInventory ("SniperZoom", 2)
TNT1 A 0 A_ZoomFactor(1.0)
SNPE A 1 A_Lower
Goto Deselect+2
Select:
SNPE A 1 A_Raise
Loop
Fire:
SNPF B 0 A_AlertMonsters
SNPF A 1 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperfire")
SNPF A 1 Bright A_FireBullets (2, 2, 1, 75, "BulletPuff")
SNPF B 1 Bright
SNPE A 5
SNPE ABC 5
SNPE D 6
SNPE F 5 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperopen")
SNPE G 7
SNPE F 6 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperclose")
SNPE D 5
SNPE CBA 4
Goto Ready
AltFire:
SNPE A 0 A_SetCrosshair(50)
SNPE A 2 A_WeaponReady(WRF_NoBob)
TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("SniperZoom", 2, "ZoomOut")
TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("SniperZoom", 1, "Zoom2")
//fall through
Zoom1:
TNT1 A 0 A_ZoomFactor(3.0)
TNT1 A 0 A_GiveInventory ("SniperZoom", 1)
Goto "AltFireDone"
Zoom2:
TNT1 A 0 A_ZoomFactor(8.0)
TNT1 A 0 A_GiveInventory ("SniperZoom", 1)
Goto "AltFireDone"
ZoomOut:
TNT1 A 0 A_SetCrosshair(0)
TNT1 A 0 A_ZoomFactor(1.0)
TNT1 A 0 A_TakeInventory ("SniperZoom", 2)
Goto "AltFireDone"
AltFireDone:
SNPE A 1 A_ReFire
Goto "Ready"
}
}
-
- Posts: 1000
- Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:31 am
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
well, seeing from this code, after the zoom, there's not another state in the "fire" that... it's hard for me to explain. there's supposed to be a state in the primary fire while you're zooming. without it, it's gonna play off the original animation. sorry if you don't understand, i just got back into modding.
-
- Posts: 1489
- Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
- Location: Boringland, California
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
Ok, the first mystery has been solved. I just had to add in the JumpIfInventory stuff in the FIRE section of the code. I'm now trying to add a sound for whenever you press the Zoom button, but it won't make the noise. I've been looking at some examples to see how it was done, but it's just too fucking complicated for me to get
Code: Select all
ACTOR SniperRifle : Weapon replaces PlasmaRifle
{
+NOAUTOFIRE
+NOALERT
+NOEXTREMEDEATH
Weapon.SelectionOrder 800
Weapon.AmmoUse 1
Weapon.SlotNumber 6
Weapon.AmmoGive 5
Weapon.AmmoType "Cell"
inventory.pickupsound "weapons/sniperclose"
Obituary "%o was sniped by %k."
Inventory.Pickupmessage "Picked up a Sniper Rifle."
States
{
Ready:
SNPE A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("SniperZoom", 1, "ReadyScope")
SNPE A 1 A_WeaponReady
Loop
ReadyScope:
TNT1 A 1 A_WeaponReady(WRF_NoBob)
LOOP
Deselect:
TNT1 A 0 A_TakeInventory ("SniperZoom", 2)
TNT1 A 0 A_ZoomFactor(1.0)
SNPE A 1 A_Lower
Goto Deselect+2
Select:
SNPE A 1 A_Raise
Loop
Fire:
SNPF A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("SniperZoom", 1, "FireZoom")
SNPF B 0 A_AlertMonsters
SNPF A 1 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperfire")
SNPF A 1 Bright A_FireBullets (14, 14, 1, 75, "BulletPuff")
SNPF B 1 Bright
SNPE A 5
SNPE ABC 5
SNPE D 6
SNPE F 5 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperopen")
SNPE G 7
SNPE F 5 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperclose")
SNPE D 4
SNPE CBA 3
Goto Ready
FireZoom:
TNT1 A 0 A_AlertMonsters
TNT1 A 1 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperfire")
TNT1 A 1 Bright A_FireBullets (1, 2, 1, 75, "BulletPuff")
TNT1 A 20
TNT1 A 5 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperopen")
TNT1 A 7
TNT1 A 5 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperclose")
TNT1 A 7
Goto Ready
AltFire:
TNT1 A 1 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/zoom")
TNT1 A 0 A_SetCrosshair(50)
TNT1 A 2 A_WeaponReady(WRF_NoBob)
TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("SniperZoom", 2, "ZoomOut")
TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("SniperZoom", 1, "Zoom2")
Zoom1:
TNT1 A 0 A_ZoomFactor(3.0)
TNT1 A 0 A_GiveInventory ("SniperZoom", 1)
Goto "AltFireDone"
Zoom2:
TNT1 A 0 A_ZoomFactor(8.0)
TNT1 A 0 A_GiveInventory ("SniperZoom", 1)
Goto "AltFireDone"
ZoomOut:
TNT1 A 0 A_SetCrosshair(0)
TNT1 A 0 A_ZoomFactor(1.0)
TNT1 A 0 A_TakeInventory ("SniperZoom", 2)
Goto "AltFireDone"
AltFireDone:
TNT1 A 1 A_ReFire
Goto "Ready"
}
}
-
- Posts: 21706
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
- Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
Dumb question, but is weapons/zoom defined in Sndinfo?
-
- Posts: 1489
- Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
- Location: Boringland, California
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
Doh! No it wasn't! >_< I guess having a fresh set of eyes pays off.
I just fixed it and now it works. However, I've ran into another problem. The unzoomed (FIRE) state lets me fire really accurate shots. This is how I have it in the coding though:
Shouldn't this be able to have me inaccurate shots unzoomed? I have the Zoomed states' A_FireBullets look like this:
Not sure what I'm missing here.
I just fixed it and now it works. However, I've ran into another problem. The unzoomed (FIRE) state lets me fire really accurate shots. This is how I have it in the coding though:
Code: Select all
Fire:
SNPF A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("SniperZoom", 1, "FireZoom")
SNPF B 0 A_AlertMonsters
SNPF A 1 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperfire")
SNPF A 1 Bright A_FireBullets (22, 22, 1, 75, "BulletPuff")
SNPF B 1 Bright
SNPE A 5
SNPE ABC 5
SNPE D 6
SNPE F 5 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperopen")
SNPE G 7
SNPE F 5 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperclose")
SNPE D 4
SNPE CBA 3
Goto Ready
Code: Select all
FireZoom:
TNT1 A 0 A_AlertMonsters
TNT1 A 1 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperfire")
TNT1 A 1 Bright A_FireBullets (1, 2, 1, 75, "BulletPuff")
TNT1 A 20
TNT1 A 5 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperopen")
TNT1 A 7
TNT1 A 5 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/sniperclose")
TNT1 A 7
Goto Ready
Last edited by lizardcommando on Mon Aug 13, 2012 11:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 21706
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
- Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [New weapon + vi
Set the third argument (number of shots) from 1 to -1. This makes shots always follow the accuracy settings you've defined. When it's set to 1, the first shot will always be perfectly accurate until the weapon encounters an A_Refire.