Different CastCalls for Different Maps?

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
Locked
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26516
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Different CastCalls for Different Maps?

Post by Enjay »

If it is possible (and I think it is meant to be) how can I define more than one cast call and allocate them to different maps?

I have tried a few different combinations based around the following MAPINFO example. The example does not work but it shows the type of thing that I am trying to do. The cast calls themselves do work individually if I rename them to "Doom2Cast" and call them with next = EndGameC.

Code: Select all

//redefine 2 maps so that they are instantly recognisable as changed maps
//then give them a "next" of a custom cast call 
map MAP01 "Test01"
{
   levelnum = 1
   music = d_romero
   sky1 = sky2
   next = TestCast1
}


map MAP02 "Test02"
{
   levelnum = 2
   music = d_evil
   sky1 = sky3
   next = TestCast2
}



//Define 2 custom cast calls


Intermission "TestCast1"
{
Cast
{
  CastClass = "DoomImp"
  CastName = "Test Imp"
  AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "misc/chat"
}
}


Intermission "TestCast2"
{
Cast
{
  CastClass = "Demon"
  CastName = "Test Demon"
  AttackSound = "Melee", 1, "misc/keytry"
}
}
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Different CastCalls for Different Maps?

Post by Graf Zahl »

It's 'next = endsequence, TestCast1', not 'next = TestCast1'
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26516
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Different CastCalls for Different Maps?

Post by Enjay »

Perfect, thank you very much.

And now, for anyone who wants it, here is a more fully featured test MAPINFO. Finish MAP01 to see one cast call. Warp to map02 and finish it to see the other one.

Code: Select all

map MAP01 "Test01"
{
   levelnum = 1
   music = d_romero
   sky1 = sky2
   next = endsequence, TestCast1
}


map MAP02 "Test02"
{
   levelnum = 2
   music = d_evil
   sky1 = sky3
   next = endsequence, TestCast2
}




Intermission "TestCast1"
{
Image
    {
    Background = "TITLEPIC"
    Time = -1
    Music = "D_DOOM"
}

Cast
    {
    CastClass = "DoomImp"
    CastName = "Test Imp"
    AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "misc/chat"
    }
    
Cast
    {
    CastClass = "DoomPlayer"
    CastName = "$CC_HERO"
    AttackSound = "Missile", 0, "weapons/sshotf"
    }
    
Link = TestCast1
}


Intermission "TestCast2"
{
Image
    {
    Background = "CREDIT"
    Time = -1
    Music = "D_STALKS"
    }

Cast
    {
    CastClass = "Demon"
    CastName = "Test Demon"
    AttackSound = "Melee", 1, "misc/keytry"
    }
    
Cast
    {
    CastClass = "Cyberdemon"
    CastName = "$CC_CYBER"
    AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "weapons/rocklf"
    AttackSound = "Missile", 3, "weapons/rocklf"
    AttackSound = "Missile", 5, "weapons/rocklf"
    }
	
Link = TestCast2
}
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12325
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Contact:

Re: Different CastCalls for Different Maps?

Post by NeuralStunner »

If I may borrow your thread for a moment... Is it possible to call an intermission, then go to another map?
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10772
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Different CastCalls for Different Maps?

Post by Xaser »

Major Bumpkins, because I've started tinkering with intermissions and have been wondering the same thing Neural has. The only examples I can find are of the endgame variety.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17833
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Different CastCalls for Different Maps?

Post by Gez »

It is not possible at the moment.
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10772
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Different CastCalls for Different Maps?

Post by Xaser »

Danm. :(

Is there a pending feature request for this or should I start one up so it's officially "on the record"?
Locked

Return to “Editing (Archive)”