"NOCLIP2" Cheat

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10772
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm
Contact:

"NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by Xaser »

I propose an alternative to NOCLIP that works similarly to the Quake series' no-clipping modes. It works similarly to ZDoom's regular no-clipping mode, with the following differences:
  • The player is not subject to gravity.
  • The player's z-movement is completely unrestricted (i.e. he/she is allowed to fly above ceilings and below floors). This is the main thing that separates it from standard NOCLIP + FLY.
The big advantage to this would be allowing players to NOCLIP above and below 3D floors easily. As it is, using standard NOCLIP alongside 3D floors is really tricky since you're still blocked from moving up or down where the 3D floor is present.

It doesn't seem necessary to expose this behavior to other actors, since I think that applying +NOINTERACTION is close enough to this effect as far as non-players are concerned (since giving +NOINTERACTION to players has trippy side effects). But don't let that stop you from adding it anyway if I'm wrong or it's easy enough to do. :P
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by Enjay »

That would be nice. Sometimes when making and testing maps with 3D floors, it would be very useful to be able to clip up/down through the floors rather than have to run around in the void to try and find a floor of the right height and then run in to the play area to inspect the correct location relative to the 3D floor (at least that's what I do :P ).
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
Posts: 4720
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:49 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Contact:

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by Jimmy »

Would be interesting if the cheat disabled movement acceleration/deceleration, much like Quake's. Although it then may become hard to distinguish ZDoom from DB2's visual editor. :P
User avatar
Sergeant_Mark_IV
Posts: 812
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:44 pm
Location: United Communist Nazi Republic Dictactorship of Banana Land (Brazil)

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by Sergeant_Mark_IV »

Agreed.
Also, I suggest make the camera don't bob like in the Fly cheat.
Enjay wrote:That would be nice. Sometimes when making and testing maps with 3D floors, it would be very useful to be able to clip up/down through the floors rather than have to run around in the void to try and find a floor of the right height and then run in to the play area to inspect the correct location relative to the 3D floor (at least that's what I do :P ).
Correct. The most painful part, is, when you find the correct location to walk over the 3D floor, but acidently, you get too close to the border, and you fall, and have to repeat the course all over again D:
Depending of the project size and how much 3D floors it uses, This feature could save precious minutes to hours of playtesting.
CaptainToenail
Posts: 3975
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:16 am

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by CaptainToenail »

Yes please, I use NOCLIP combined with FLY all the time but it can be fiddly at times.

Also, why is it that when spectating in Skulltag you cannot fly under 3D floors?
User avatar
Kate
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 2975
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 8:06 pm

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by Kate »

CaptainToenail wrote:Also, why is it that when spectating in Skulltag you cannot fly under 3D floors?
No. The reason you cannot pass through floors and walls in Skulltag is because the spectator actor is still subject to full clipping. It's just an actor that has no height, which is what lets you pass below doors.
CaptainToenail
Posts: 3975
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:16 am

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by CaptainToenail »

No. I wasn't referring to no-clipping there. I'm well aware that when spectating you have full clipping. But you cannot fly under 3D floors, why is that?
plausiblesarge
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Aus

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by plausiblesarge »

CaptainToenail wrote:No. I wasn't referring to no-clipping there. I'm well aware that when spectating you have full clipping. But you cannot fly under 3D floors, why is that?
it is because of the hacky way that 3d floors are implemented within the doom engine
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Contact:

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by wildweasel »

plausiblesarge wrote:
CaptainToenail wrote:No. I wasn't referring to no-clipping there. I'm well aware that when spectating you have full clipping. But you cannot fly under 3D floors, why is that?
it is because of the hacky way that 3d floors are implemented within the doom engine
That doesn't really help much.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12326
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Contact:

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by NeuralStunner »

I know the Spectator is 0 units tall, but the view height is still around 40 and MaxStepHeight still applies. This has messed me up on occasion with 3D mid textures.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8175
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by Major Cooke »

This would be fancy... You know, I wonder if it's considered a viable hack to give yourself an object that adds +NOINTERACTION. After all, that does allow full freedom.

Still I agree, this would be a helpful tool.
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by Edward-san »

I don't know well the code, but I suppose it's needed a radical change to the movement code.
You have to make the generic actor able to do as NOCLIP2 says, then you should impose that almost all of the predefined actors (the ones in the game) cannot NOCLIP2... I can see hell in this work.

Just sayin'

[edit] Where's the piece of the code where there're the constraints? An idea could be:

Code: Select all

if (!NOCLIP2)
{
     //piece of code with costraints
}
else
{
     //piece of code without costraints
}
[edit2]maybe a better name for such variable should be "FLY2"...
User avatar
H3llraich
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 2:53 am
Location: Dead in STR35

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by H3llraich »

I wonder if they'll actually put this in... It should be pretty apparent, though, considering the feedback this suggestion has received.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17439
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by Nash »

feedback != [Added]

:P
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7746
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm
Contact:

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Post by randi »

Added in r3832.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”