HUD icons scaling

Discuss all aspects of editing for ZDoom.
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

HUD icons scaling

Postby Jekyll Grim Payne » Sat Aug 22, 2009 11:43 am

What I'm interested in is this: in default (G)ZDoom HUDs the icons if items, health, armor, ammo, etc. get scaled in higher resolutions, though their coordinates on the screen remain the same. It seems impossible to make it this way in your custom HUD through SBARINFO, as the only way to make the hud stretched is to make it 'forcescaled', which would also make it look like 320x200 in any resolution. Maybe I am wrong? If I am, how do I make the icons scale in higher resolutions and at the same time not make the HUD shrink in higher resolutions?

The other question is -- even more important -- how do I make items' icons scaled to the size of an inventory icon box? With ZDoom Alternative HUD the icons of items and weapons are scaled to one certain size, despite the resolution and despite the original size of the item's sprite. How do I do that in my custom HUD? I need to make inventory items with big icons (because these items will have writing on them, that must be possible to read) and at the same time I want them to fit in the frame of an inventory item in the inventory bar in the lower part of the screen.

Some help would be really much appreciated!!!
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Discord: Agent_Ash#4401
Github ID: jekyllgrim
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: HUD icons scaling

Postby wildweasel » Sat Aug 22, 2009 12:11 pm

You'll want to look into using the TEXTURES lump for most of this stuff.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: HUD icons scaling

Postby Jekyll Grim Payne » Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:05 pm

Um... I made it like this:

Code: Select allExpand view
sprite KCELA0, 61, 56
{
XScale 2.54167
YScale 2.33332
}


so that it would become 24x24. The sprite stopped showing in game. I tried whole numbers too.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Discord: Agent_Ash#4401
Github ID: jekyllgrim
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: HUD icons scaling

Postby Ryan Cordell » Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:09 pm

You have to patch the sprite in again, so it's like:

Code: Select allExpand view
sprite KCELA0, 61, 56
{
XScale 2.54167
YScale 2.33332
Patch KCELA0, x, y {}
}
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: HUD icons scaling

Postby Jekyll Grim Payne » Sun Aug 23, 2009 4:13 am

Aha! This works, thanks a lot!
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Discord: Agent_Ash#4401
Github ID: jekyllgrim
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: HUD icons scaling

Postby theleo_ua » Tue Aug 23, 2016 4:01 am

Ryan Cordell, I tried same thing for ammo icons in alternative HUD (I tried tons of different variations of values) and still cannot change offset and increase size of ammo icons in alternative HUD

It it possible in GZDoom 2.1.1 x64 ?
User avatar
theleo_ua
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2016

Re: HUD icons scaling

Postby Accensus » Tue Aug 23, 2016 4:51 am

I don't think modifying the Alt HUD in any way is even possible.
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: phantombeta and 0 guests