HUD icons scaling

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
Locked
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Contact:

HUD icons scaling

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

What I'm interested in is this: in default (G)ZDoom HUDs the icons if items, health, armor, ammo, etc. get scaled in higher resolutions, though their coordinates on the screen remain the same. It seems impossible to make it this way in your custom HUD through SBARINFO, as the only way to make the hud stretched is to make it 'forcescaled', which would also make it look like 320x200 in any resolution. Maybe I am wrong? If I am, how do I make the icons scale in higher resolutions and at the same time not make the HUD shrink in higher resolutions?

The other question is -- even more important -- how do I make items' icons scaled to the size of an inventory icon box? With ZDoom Alternative HUD the icons of items and weapons are scaled to one certain size, despite the resolution and despite the original size of the item's sprite. How do I do that in my custom HUD? I need to make inventory items with big icons (because these items will have writing on them, that must be possible to read) and at the same time I want them to fit in the frame of an inventory item in the inventory bar in the lower part of the screen.

Some help would be really much appreciated!!!
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Contact:

Re: HUD icons scaling

Post by wildweasel »

You'll want to look into using the [wiki]TEXTURES[/wiki] lump for most of this stuff.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Contact:

Re: HUD icons scaling

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

Um... I made it like this:

Code: Select all

sprite KCELA0, 61, 56
{
XScale 2.54167
YScale 2.33332
}
so that it would become 24x24. The sprite stopped showing in game. I tried whole numbers too.
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
Posts: 4349
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:39 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Capital of Explodistan

Re: HUD icons scaling

Post by Ryan Cordell »

You have to patch the sprite in again, so it's like:

Code: Select all

sprite KCELA0, 61, 56
{
XScale 2.54167
YScale 2.33332
Patch KCELA0, x, y {}
}
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Contact:

Re: HUD icons scaling

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

Aha! This works, thanks a lot!
User avatar
theleo_ua
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:38 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: HUD icons scaling

Post by theleo_ua »

Ryan Cordell, I tried same thing for ammo icons in alternative HUD (I tried tons of different variations of values) and still cannot change offset and increase size of ammo icons in alternative HUD

It it possible in GZDoom 2.1.1 x64 ?
Accensus
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:59 am

Re: HUD icons scaling

Post by Accensus »

I don't think modifying the Alt HUD in any way is even possible.
Locked

Return to “Editing (Archive)”