Can you change the jump height?

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
Locked
User avatar
Electronic Samurai
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 1:54 am
Location: Wandering the open plains

Can you change the jump height?

Post by Electronic Samurai »

A quick, dumb question:

How can you change the height that the player jumps? Is it as simple as changing the player thing's mass?

For a WAD I'm designing, I'd like the player to be able to jump at least four times higher than normal - but I'd like to leave the global gravity alone.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11335
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Cutmanmike »

You could in the unofficial version, I don't know if this has been added in the official release though.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

It has been added for the upcoming version, but not for 2.0.98
User avatar
Zippy
Posts: 3302
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 5:31 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by Zippy »

In GZDoom you can use SetActorProperty to change the height the player can jump. Just put in your enter script:

Code: Select all

SetActorProperty( 0, APROP_JUMPZ, X.0 );  // Replace X with some number
I believe 8.0 is the default player jump height, but I'm not sure how the scale goes, so 32.0 may or may not be four times as high. In the wad I'm making I give the player 11.0, which isn't much higher than the default but still allows for some better jumps.
User avatar
The Ultimate DooMer
Posts: 2109
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: Industrial Zone

Post by The Ultimate DooMer »

The default for DooM is 7.0 (56 units), for Hexen it's 8.0 (64 units) Each 1.0 is worth 8 units.
User avatar
PaganRaven
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 2:21 pm

Post by PaganRaven »

What the freak?! I asked the same question like 4 times and I never got such a simple answer! :x Do you guys have it out for me?

EDIT: OH MY GAWD it FREAKIN' WORKED! I don't believe it, but I just saw it with my own eyes!
Last edited by PaganRaven on Fri May 12, 2006 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Siggi
Posts: 3288
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 8:57 am
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Location: South Africa

Post by Siggi »

It's the Hamtaro avatar :wink:
Locked

Return to “Editing (Archive)”