[Not a bug] "give" command bug in 47.

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
Post Reply
FA

"give" command bug in 47.

Post by FA »

In beta 47, there seems to be a problem with parsing arguments to "give", because I can't give any multi-word items.

E.g.:

Code: Select all

]give computer map
Unknown item "computer"
(It only seems to read the first word and ignore the rest.)

Similarly, "'computer map'" or "computermap" or "cmap" or other like variations don't work either. I tried these in the hope that perhaps the item names had changed since 1.22 to remove spaces and simplify parsing code.

Might want to check any other commands that might take a multi-word argument as a single argument, although I don't know of any such commands.
User avatar
Sphagne
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:36 am

Post by Sphagne »

ALl the items are in the ComputerMap format and case sensitive.
FA

Thanks

Post by FA »

Hmm, I didn't think to try camel-hump format. Figures I would try practically every variation, except this one.

Is this documented anywhere? If not, it really should be, since it's different from 1.22, which is the last bit of documentation on zdoom I could find anywhere.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4120
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kappes Buur »

Ever since version 1.22, documentation of new items has been extremely sporadic.
On the old phorums one could do a search for some items, but alas no more.

Your best bet is to scour the various diff files in /lars .
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany
Contact:

Post by Hirogen2 »

I found this in d_dehacked.cpp, might you try these:
BTW they are case-insensitive. "give supershotgun" works for me(tm).
ATM!(TM)
{ "AMMO", "ClipBox" },
{ "ARM1", "GreenArmor" },
{ "ARM2", "BlueArmor" },
{ "BFUG", "BFG9000" },
{ "BKEY", "BlueCard" },
{ "BON1", "HealthBonus" },
{ "BON2", "ArmorBonus" },
{ "BPAK", "Backpack" },
{ "BROK", "RocketBox" },
{ "BSKU", "BlueSkull" },
{ "CELL", "Cell" },
{ "CELP", "CellPack" },
{ "CLIP", "Clip" },
{ "CSAW", "Chainsaw" },
{ "LAUN", "RocketLauncher" },
{ "MEDI", "Medikit" },
{ "MEGA", "Megasphere" },
{ "MGUN", "Chaingun" },
{ "PINS", "BlurSphere" },
{ "PINV", "InvulnerabilitySphere" },
{ "PLAS", "PlasmaRifle" },
{ "PMAP", "Allmap" },
{ "PSTR", "Berserk" },
{ "PVIS", "Infrared" },
{ "RKEY", "RedCard" },
{ "ROCK", "RocketAmmo" },
{ "RSKU", "RedSkull" },
{ "SBOX", "ShellBox" },
{ "SGN2", "SuperShotgun" },
{ "SHEL", "Shell" },
{ "SHOT", "Shotgun" },
{ "SOUL", "Soulsphere" },
{ "STIM", "Stimpack" },
{ "SUIT", "RadSuit" },
{ "YKEY", "YellowCard" },
{ "YSKU", "YellowSkull" }
Cyb
Posts: 912
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:12 pm

Post by Cyb »

actor names aren't case sens in the console (they are in scripts however) and all of them are one word. type "logfile inventory.txt" and then "dumpclasses inventory" in console and a list of all giveable items will be dumped into inventory.txt in the same dir as the zdoom exe
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Re: "give" command bug in 47.

Post by HotWax »

FA wrote:...I can't ... multi-word items.

...

(It only seems to read the first word and ignore the rest.)

..."'computer map'"...
Oh, the irony.

To pass multiple words as a single argument, surround the entire thing in quotation marks... exactly like you just did.

>give "computer map"

Full documentation on all commands can be had by downloading the SOURCE archive and looking at the included console.html file.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7746
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm
Contact:

Post by randi »

The names of the things accepted by the give command were changed in 1.23 so that they would be consistant everywhere.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany
Contact:

Post by Hirogen2 »

So well, what's the give for the automap? Give automap and give computermap do not work for me. Neither in Heretic and Hexen. (There, "mapscroll" also doesnot work).
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Hirogen2 wrote:So well, what's the give for the automap? Give automap and give computermap do not work for me. Neither in Heretic and Hexen. (There, "mapscroll" also doesnot work).
There is no computermap or mapscroll object. The names are:

Doom: "Allmap"
Heretic: "SuperMap"
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”