(Forget) Voxel support (we want models and GL!)

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Lexus Alyus
Posts: 4220
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

(Forget) Voxel support (we want models and GL!)

Post by Lexus Alyus »

A lot of people say that Voxels would be the icing on the cake for Zdoom... what is the exact reason for randy not wanting to implement it?

Maybe it could look good for monsters, but I'd just like to see items and inanimate objects as voxels. it would also be good if we could have hi-res voxels.

:twisted:
Last edited by Lexus Alyus on Mon Aug 22, 2005 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Nmn
Posts: 4614
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 1:41 pm

Post by Nmn »

Collisiong implemented. Drawing not yet ;)

But yeah, I'm all for it :D

Monsters out of voxels = barf
Cars, chairs, computers, cars, planes out of voxels = sex
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17320
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Post by Nash »

The thing with voxels is that it only works for static decorations.

I don't think there's actually a way to make an animated voxel sprite. Making a voxel sprite, in the first place, is already one helluva job...
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Posts: 1235
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: #DMClub

Post by HobbsTiger1 »

Nash wrote:The thing with voxels is that it only works for static decorations.

I don't think there's actually a way to make an animated voxel sprite. Making a voxel sprite, in the first place, is already one helluva job...
And it would have to look good. the ggod thing is static sprites have only one rotstion, so if you were building them from scratch it would be fairly easy, sd you have some leeway artisticly.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48347
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

I seriously doubt that the amount of work required to do it and the potential benefit stand in any sensible relation. And let's not forget that voxels and hardware rendering are nearly mutually exclusive, which would make any mod using them worthless for ZDoomGL.
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
Posts: 4220
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Post by Lexus Alyus »

What about model support in software? Quake did it...

:twisted:
User avatar
Nmn
Posts: 4614
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 1:41 pm

Post by Nmn »

No polygons in Doom :(
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48347
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Lexus Alyus wrote:What about model support in software? Quake did it...

:twisted:

Quake was a polygon based engine with z-buffer, even in software mode.
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
Posts: 4220
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Post by Lexus Alyus »

But won't Zdoom have polymost soon? Surely there is a solution once Polymost is implemented?

:twisted:
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48347
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Polymost alone not. With an OpenGL renderer and z-buffer models are possible, otherwise not.
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
Posts: 4220
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Post by Lexus Alyus »

Well, randy has said that the renderer is screwed up anyway and needs a rewrite... why doesn't some brave soul take on this task? It seems like something that needs doing, so why don't we hewlp each other out?

:twisted:
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48347
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Yes, the renderer is screwed up. But it has to be if it still wants to play all those old maps. And let's not forget that a z-buffer may cause lots of problems with sprites that abuse Doom's shitty clipping. Take KDIZD's glows for example. If you run them in a GL port (which uses a z-buffer) they are mostly cut off. Apparently nobody cares about stuff like this and far too many maps that are done today still rely way too much on the software renderer's glitches.

The only solution is to keep the old renderer as a fallback for maps that need it. Otherwise you have a compatibility nightmare.
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
Posts: 4220
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Post by Lexus Alyus »

Grrr, damn those compatibility issues! :D.

I think I can see why M$ dumped their old dos code :D.

:twisted:
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48347
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Sure, DOS is as obsolete as software rendering for games. ;)
User avatar
jallamann
Posts: 2271
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 8:25 am
Location: Ålesund, Norway

Post by jallamann »

But DOS worked.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”