Question about setting up directories [Solved!]

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
Spaceshiporion
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2023 6:58 pm

Question about setting up directories [Solved!]

Post by Spaceshiporion »

I want to play GZdoom from a drive. (Technically an SD card)

Is there any way to change the directory for my config files?
When I put the drive into a new desktop, it creates My Games\GZDoom\GZdoom.ini

It would be handy if the GZdoom.ini would automatically save in the Drive.
Last edited by Spaceshiporion on Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2104
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: Question about setting up directories

Post by phantombeta »

Make a file named gzdoom_portable.ini in the same folder as gzdoom.exe and it'll save the settings in that file.
Spaceshiporion
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2023 6:58 pm

Re: Question about setting up directories

Post by Spaceshiporion »

phantombeta wrote: Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:16 am Make a file named gzdoom_portable.ini in the same folder as gzdoom.exe and it'll save the settings in that file.
Legend. Thanks for the super quick response!

Return to “Technical Issues”