GZDoom didn't see some WADs

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
Kozel
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2022 1:46 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Linux Mint
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

GZDoom didn't see some WADs

Post by Kozel »

Hello! GZDoom refuses to see some WADs. What could be the problem?

The only thing he managed to see was: Old versions of the original Doom, Freedoom and fan-wad "The Adventures of Square"

What he didn't see: Doom4: Death Foretold, Night64K, Batman - Rogue City

GZDoom version: 4.10.0 (Flathub)
OS: Linux Mint 20.3 Cinnamon
Video card: Mobility Radeon HD 5430/5450/5470 (1 GB)
OpenGL: 3.x
Vulkan: hasn't
GZDoomProblem.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49094
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom didn't see some WADs

Post by Graf Zahl »

It does not see them because that window is not a launcher but merely an IWAD picker. These files are PWADs.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17836
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: GZDoom didn't see some WADs

Post by Gez »

It's the IWAD selector, it's there to select an IWAD. Not just any regular old WAD.
It only detects standalone games; you will never see mods in this list. By default there's only the list in the wiki, plus files with the .iwad extension that have a valid IWADINFO lump.

You should probably look into using a frontend or launcher if you want a graphic interface to select mods like Death Foretold or so on.
Kozel
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2022 1:46 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Linux Mint
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: GZDoom didn't see some WADs

Post by Kozel »

Thanks so much to everyone! ZDL saved me! Stay awesome!

Return to “Technical Issues”