Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
bflmpsvz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2023 12:21 pm

Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Post by bflmpsvz »

I was using key combinations for years - Alt-arrow for strafe and Shift-arrow for high speed. How to set this in ZDOOM? I think it is impossible for me to play doom using other controls - it's too old habit :?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48519
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Post by Graf Zahl »

These two should work by default - Alt as 'Strafe' modifier and Shift as 'Run' modifier. All this can be configured in the controls menu, But you may have to disable 'Always run'.
yum13241
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Post by yum13241 »

Just don't even TRY playing with those controls in deathmatch/ a slaughter map, you won't be able to react quick enough.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48519
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Post by Graf Zahl »

yum13241 wrote: Fri Jan 20, 2023 1:04 pm Just don't even TRY playing with those controls in deathmatch/ a slaughter map, you won't be able to react quick enough.
Reality check: Some people still play keyboard only. Yes, it won't work for some maps but don't dismiss this preference out of hand.
bflmpsvz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2023 12:21 pm

Re: Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Post by bflmpsvz »

Graf Zahl wrote: Fri Jan 20, 2023 12:46 pm These two should work by default - Alt as 'Strafe' modifier and Shift as 'Run' modifier. All this can be configured in the controls menu, But you may have to disable 'Always run'.
I am sorry, only now I found I have installed GZDOOM. So the same question - but in the GZDOOM.
Or am I in the wrong forum?
yum13241
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Post by yum13241 »

Same thing:

ESC > Options > Customize Controls > Movement (or similar)
bflmpsvz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2023 12:21 pm

Re: Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Post by bflmpsvz »

yum13241 wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 1:32 am Same thing:

ESC > Options > Customize Controls > Movement (or similar)
But how, how can I enter a key combination? When I try Alt-arrow, only Alt is entered and works...
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3113
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Post by drfrag »

You don't need to enter a combination, just set the strafe key or select the classic preset.
bflmpsvz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2023 12:21 pm

Re: Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Post by bflmpsvz »

drfrag wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 7:05 am You don't need to enter a combination, just set the strafe key or select the classic preset.
For reason unknown, many attempts of "Preferred keyboard layout - Classic ZDoom" did not change anything. Probably, the "Reset to defaults" helped at last. Thanks a lot!
Professor Hastig
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2023 2:02 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Controls - key combination like Alt-something Shift-something

Post by Professor Hastig »

"Preferred keyboard layout" only selects which preset "Reset to defaults" will use - just changing the option won't do anything.

Return to “Technical Issues”