[Co-op] NetBuffer overflow error

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 869
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

[Co-op] NetBuffer overflow error

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

Hey guys,

I already made a post for this in Technical Issues but was told bug reports might be a better spot for it.

I'm trying to organise some co-op on GZDoom for Christmas Eve and it works fine then suddenly it kicks the host with an error "NetBuffer overflow"
then any hosting from then on gives the error immediately...

are there any solutions to this issue? can we increase the buffer somehow?

apparently it's not expected to exceed the limit ever so not sure what to do.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [Co-op] NetBuffer overflow error

Post by Graf Zahl »

Short of an extensive rewrite of the netcode there's not much that can be done.
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 869
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Co-op] NetBuffer overflow error

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

I think I found the culprit with some help from Nash's discord.
far as we could tell it is most likely just corruption cards compendium getting larger than 12kb causing the error when connecting.
gonna test it out over the next few days and if that ends up being it, i'll pass it on to cutmanmike to look into.

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”