[4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
GreenDoomguy1999
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:40 am

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by GreenDoomguy1999 »

Did I missed something or LZDoom compatibility been dropped? Version 4.3 crashes with

Script error, "CorruptionCards-v4.3.pk3:zscript/corruptioncards/cards/monstergeneric.zscript" line 351:
Unknown identifier 'bFULLVOLSEE'
Function without prototype needs register info manually set: CCards_Actor_GangPortal.StateFunction.2

Execution could not continue.

1 errors while parsing DECORATE scripts
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11280
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by Cutmanmike »

Fixed for next version. You can comment out that line yourself by opening the pk3 yourself, if you wish to play 4.3 before I can update it.
NamelessGuy
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 4:52 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: You don't want to be here

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by NamelessGuy »

The game started aborting recently after loading new level right before offering me cards. Error message only says "GetPacket: NOTINITIALISED". I suspect that this might be because for some reason in 4.3 the game kept telling me that "new cards added to compendium"every new level even for cards I already have. Also compendium says that I have 871 cards out of 172. I'm gonna try and clear my compendium and see if it fixes this problem.
EDIT: Seems that clearing the compendium fixed aborting issue, but still might be worth looking into it.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11280
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by Cutmanmike »

The compendium issue will be fixed next version. Currently it adds duplicate cards to your record, but next version the duplicate entries will be purged and your compendium will read as normal.

Not sure what the GetPacket: NOTINITIALISED issue is about though, never heard of that. Is this online? Can you take a screenshot?
NamelessGuy
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 4:52 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: You don't want to be here

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by NamelessGuy »

Cutmanmike wrote: Fri Nov 25, 2022 6:20 am The compendium issue will be fixed next version. Currently it adds duplicate cards to your record, but next version the duplicate entries will be purged and your compendium will read as normal.

Not sure what the GetPacket: NOTINITIALISED issue is about though, never heard of that. Is this online? Can you take a screenshot?
Glad to hear that.

No, I always play singleplayer. There is a screenshot.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Rexen
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 Home
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: E1M1: Hangar

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by Rexen »

The GetPacket error might not even be the mods fault as I got it when playing PB 3.0 with CC. This might be a GZDoom error. However, in my case it caused GZDoom to crash instead of a vm abort
Screenshot_20221127_113122.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Daedalus
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 4:32 pm
Location: UK

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by Daedalus »

I ran into another bug yesterday but forgot to mention it here, it may have already been mentioned before but on extremely large maps the Sharknado sometimes doesn't despawn. It'll do it's usual thing and track the player then leave them alone but I assume because the map was big (Resurgence Map30) it stopped completely at a random position in full view and just hung there forever.

EDIT: It does seem to be rare. I tried to replicate it but couldn't get it to happen again at least in the few attempts I tried.
Bubbinska
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2022 10:30 pm
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by Bubbinska »

Hello friends, let me first couch this by saying I'm running a pile of mods and I totally understand if this is just a consequence of my extreme settings, but I found something interesting.

I'm running custom mode with perma cards every level, and picked up a wild card. The next level there was something very strange in the available selection which I couldn't be sure is a bug or a feature. A few levels later and my card offerings all seem to be getting corrupted and things are getting very weird - enemy sprites are sometimes stretched or rotated, among other things.

Here's a screenshot of my card settings with the weird stuff highlighted, and here's a console dump of the card effects. Note that the console dump omits text coloring which is a bit sad.

Spoiler:
This isn't stopping me from playing, so I'm not too bothered if this is a bug or not, but I figured it was strange enough to make an account to post.
User avatar
Rowsol
Posts: 907
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:31 am

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by Rowsol »

you grabbed the lilith wild card.

check out lilith.pk3
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

Bubbinska wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 10:44 pm I'm running custom mode with perma cards every level, and picked up a wild card. The next level there was something very strange in the available selection which I couldn't be sure is a bug or a feature. A few levels later and my card offerings all seem to be getting corrupted and things are getting very weird - enemy sprites are sometimes stretched or rotated, among other things.
that is the Lilith wild card, it's reference to an old mod someone made for an old engine that basically broke every possible visual function
Bubbinska
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2022 10:30 pm
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference

Re: [4.3] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by Bubbinska »

Dan_The_Noob wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 2:03 am that is the Lilith wild card, it's reference to an old mod someone made for an old engine that basically broke every possible visual function
Rowsol wrote: Thu Dec 08, 2022 12:59 am you grabbed the lilith wild card.

check out lilith.pk3
OK thanks! I've seen MtPain27's youtube review of lilith.pk3 so I figured it might be something like that. It certainly made my already-chaotic run even more strange. Is there a wild card available in every level, or is it a small chance? I've only found 3 across multiple megawads

Return to “Gameplay Mods”