Mod Consuming too much RAM?

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
Post Reply
Guest

Mod Consuming too much RAM?

Post by Guest »

I'm making a companion mod based on the doomguy companion template by NeenerWiener. I keep getting the C0000005 Access Violation Error really oftenly when trying to start a map.

Steps to reproduce the issue:

Method 1:
1.Launch gzdoom with my mod.
2.Start a doom 2/an episode of doom 1
3.Close gzdoom once a map is loaded
4.Enter again(with the mod) and select the same episode and skill as the last time.

Method 2:
1.Launch gzdoom with my mod + brutal doom v21
2.load any map on any skill

Method 3:
1.Start gzdoom with my mod.
2. Select any episode and skill
3.play a few levels.

crash log: https://mega.nz/file/YdFVEZLR#KP-ZYiKJg ... _BJtRKcfr8
RAM: 8gb

I was getting the same issue in gzdoom 4.88, gzdoom 4.9, and lzdoom 3.88b.

Everything's pointing on huge ram usage. Possibly because of large (Around 280x810) Sprites.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Mod Consuming too much RAM?

Post by ramon.dexter »

Post you mod. 210x810 is not big. 2k or 4k would be big, but not what you mentioned.
User avatar
The_Foothills
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2022 5:32 pm
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10 Home, 64 Bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Mod Consuming too much RAM?

Post by The_Foothills »

ramon.dexter wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 12:35 am Post you mod
There you go:
https://mega.nz/file/xIEGAaJS#WQJEty061 ... 8OiInIdGws
Last edited by The_Foothills on Wed Nov 23, 2022 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Ac!d
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:13 am
Location: France

Re: Mod Consuming too much RAM?

Post by Ac!d »

I've take a look to your mod in SLADE before testing, and here's the things you may improve :

ACS : BLANKALLY.o is a graphic. It must be a Compiled ACS (ZDoom).
Decorate : For Powerup.Duration, a negative duration convert the time in tics (1/35 of a second) by seconds, not for values like 0x7FFFFFFF or 0x7FFFFFFD.
ZMapInfo : You don't have to put the definition AddEventHandlers twice, you can add them one after the other like so :

Code: Select all

GameInfo
{
	AddEventHandlers = "MonikaSpawnHandler", "MonikaTauntHandler"
}
I just have 4GB of ram and the mod works fine after I've edited him.
User avatar
The_Foothills
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2022 5:32 pm
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10 Home, 64 Bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Mod Consuming too much RAM?

Post by The_Foothills »

Ac!d wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 4:48 am ACS : BLANKALLY.o is a graphic. It must be a Compiled ACS (ZDoom).
Then, what should i do with the graphic? WIll it be safe to replace it with the compiled acs? i've taken a look at it, it looks like some sort of color pallette, so i'm unsure of what to do with it

nvm, i think i'll test it out myself

Yup, it worked, thank you all for helping me.
Last edited by The_Foothills on Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:14 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Mod Consuming too much RAM?

Post by ramon.dexter »

If you havent put in the graphic, just delete it. Since it's in wrong place, the engine already ignores it.
Post Reply

Return to “Scripting”