[Done] Intermission screen options

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed May 04, 2005 2:00 pm

Oh, no! Not again! :(
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby jallamann » Wed May 04, 2005 3:21 pm

Well, nothing but the good old fix it yourself.
Nice :)
User avatar
jallamann
isn't very active on the forums at all
 
Joined: 24 May 2004
Location: Ålesund, Norway

Postby Your Name Is » Thu May 05, 2005 11:41 am

Praise the German Programmer!

I would so love for this to be easier, especially the Quake style intermission
User avatar
Your Name Is
Wake up and smell the ashes.
 
Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby Phobus » Fri May 06, 2005 10:57 am

All of this stuff looks great, I hope someone good at programming (like graf zahl) can do this :)
User avatar
Phobus
Registered Occasional Lurker
 
Joined: 05 May 2005
Location: London

Postby Xaser » Sat May 07, 2005 1:07 pm

Heh, this feature should really be added... especially if it supports custom Doom1-style intermission maps. That would kick so much butt that it would be imposible to sit down. :P

(omg bad pun)
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat May 07, 2005 3:34 pm

Xaser wrote:Heh, this feature should really be added... especially if it supports custom Doom1-style intermission maps. That would kick so much butt that it would be imposible to sit down. :P

(omg bad pun)



Yes, it does support that. I am still testing it to get the last bugs out of it (there's a lot of different ways to screw up the intermission screen as I found out. :?) But since you are interested here's some scripts:

Doom E1:
Code: Select allExpand view
Background wimap0
Splat wisplat
Pointer wiurh0 wiurh1

Animation 224 104 11
{
   WIA00000
   WIA00001
   WIA00002
}

Animation 184 160 11
{
   WIA00100
   WIA00101
   WIA00102
}

Animation 112 136 11
{
   WIA00200
   WIA00201
   WIA00202
}

Animation 72 112 11
{
   WIA00300
   WIA00301
   WIA00302
}

Animation 88 96 11
{
   WIA00400
   WIA00401
   WIA00402
}

Animation 64 48 11
{
   WIA00500
   WIA00501
   WIA00502
}

Animation 192 40 11
{
   WIA00600
   WIA00601
   WIA00602
}

Animation 136 16 11
{
   WIA00700
   WIA00701
   WIA00702
}

Animation 80 16 11
{
   WIA00800
   WIA00801
   WIA00802
}


Animation 64 24 11
{
   WIA00900
   WIA00901
   WIA00902
}


Spots
{
    E1M1 185 164
    E1M2 148 143
    E1M3 69 122
    E1M4 209 102
    E1M5 116 89
    E1M6 166 55
    E1M7 71 56
    E1M8 135 29
    E1M9 71 24
}


Doom E2:
Code: Select allExpand view
Background wimap1
Splat wisplat
Pointer wiurh0 wiurh1

// IfEntering and IfLeaving are mutually exclusive so these have to be defined twice!

IfLeaving E2M1 Pic 128 136 WIA10000
IfLeaving E2M2 Pic 128 136 WIA10100
IfLeaving E2M3 Pic 128 136 WIA10200
IfLeaving E2M4 Pic 128 136 WIA10300
IfLeaving E2M5 Pic 128 136 WIA10400
IfLeaving E2M6 Pic 128 136 WIA10500
IfLeaving E2M7 Pic 128 136 WIA10600
IfLeaving E2M9 Pic 128 136 WIA10400

IfEntering E2M2 Pic 128 136 WIA10000
IfEntering E2M3 Pic 128 136 WIA10100
IfEntering E2M4 Pic 128 136 WIA10200
IfEntering E2M5 Pic 128 136 WIA10300
IfEntering E2M6 Pic 128 136 WIA10400
IfEntering E2M7 Pic 128 136 WIA10500
IfEntering E2M8 Pic 128 136 WIA10600
IfEntering E2M9 Pic 128 136 WIA10400

IfVisited E2M9 Pic 192 144 WIA10702

IfEntering E2M9 Animation 192 144 11 ONCE
{
   WIA10700
   WIA10701
   WIA10702
}

     
Spots
{
   E2M1 254 25
   E2M2 97 50
   E2M3 188 64
   E2M4 128 78
   E2M5 214 92
   E2M6 133 130
   E2M7 208 136
   E2M8 148 140
   E2M9 235 158
}


Heretic E1:

Code: Select allExpand view
Background mape1
Splat in_x
Pointer in_yah

Spots
{
   E1M1 172 78
   E1M2 86 90
   E1M3 73 66
   E1M4 159 95
   E1M5 148 126
   E1M6 132 54
   E1M7 131 74
   E1M8 208 138
   E1M9 52 101
}
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Ajapted » Sat May 07, 2005 9:50 pm

What is the scope of these scripts, i.e. how does the Engine select which script to use (is it part of the script itself) ?
Ajapted
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2005
Location: Tasmania

Postby TheDarkArchon » Sun May 08, 2005 2:09 am

Probabally the MAPINFO lump.
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
OUT!
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Location: Some cold place

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun May 08, 2005 3:38 am

TheDarkArchon wrote:Probabally the MAPINFO lump.


Exactly. You specify an exit pic and enter pic for each map. The exit pic is used for the 'xxx finished' screen and the enter pic for the 'entering xxx' screen. There you can alternatively specify a script. The pics are separate to support Heretic's way of doing things. If you don't specify an enter pic the exit pic of the last map is used instead.

As for the scope, they don't do much. You can place animations and single pictures either unconditionally or based on the map you are entering or leaving or those you have visited or not (for special secret level pictures.) It is merely the existing functionality encapsulated in script form. Intermission cameras like Quake are not possible because that would require more changes elsewhere in the code.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby DaniJ » Mon May 09, 2005 1:04 pm

Can you use some more descriptive names for your keywords in MAPINFO please. If JDS is considered, then some of the very generic names you've used could very easily colide with features already implemented in other ports.
DaniJ
 
Joined: 30 Jan 2005

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon May 09, 2005 1:13 pm

This is a separate lump so it shouldn't collide with anything. It will be specified in MAPINFO in place of a real background picture. IMO MAPINFO itself is not the optimal place to store this. Things might become very messy very quickly if that were the case, especially if you wanted to do more complex things.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Enjay » Mon May 09, 2005 3:09 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:IMO MAPINFO itself is not the optimal place to store this. Things might become very messy very quickly if that were the case


Agreed, something like this would clutter up MAPINFO. Having a self contained lump for intermission screen definitions that gets called from MAPINFO would be a logical and neat way to do it IMO.

9
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Cptschrodinger » Mon May 09, 2005 3:12 pm

An INTERINFO lump?
Cptschrodinger
Our father, who art in hell
 
Joined: 21 Oct 2004

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon May 09, 2005 3:25 pm

Name it what you want. Since Doom already needs 3 different ones and Heretic, too, there is no point in giving it a dedicated name. I named them (for testing) IN_EPI1, IN_EPI2, IN_EPI3, IN_HTC1, IN_HTC2 and IN_HTC3.


If someone asks why I haven't released it yet, the answer is Strife. Now that I started reworking this I want to make it bug free and that means it has to work in Hexen and Strife as well. Hexen is no big problem because with the exception of 2 lumps it's the same as Heretic but the Strife font is somewhat odd and requires a lot of testing to get it all right.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Your Name Is » Mon May 09, 2005 3:37 pm

I am fully behind you. If theres anything I can do, tell me
User avatar
Your Name Is
Wake up and smell the ashes.
 
Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC

PreviousNext

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest