Fix intermission scaling

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13530
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Rachael »

I've added screen border flats resizing, I do want to do the frame too but not sure how much work that will be.

I've also added customization - you can now put in a factor that determines how much the pixels will resize, relative to 320x200. You can also change the pixel aspect.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17433
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Nash »

Glad to see my clueless rummaging in the source turned into a sophisticated and customizable feature. :) Great job, Rachael!
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13530
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Rachael »

Thank you. :)

Screen bevels are now also done.


User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17433
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Nash »

Those look amazing! The visuals are SOOOOO much better now!
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26516
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Enjay »

Egad! I forgot how big those bevels were. :lol: Mind you, I don't really see them anyway.

Good work on this. As Graf said in the other thread, it's something that has lain untouched for 20+ years and it definitely needed doing. :yup:
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13530
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Rachael »

Thanks, again. :)

If anyone wants to try this out before the feature gets solidly set in stone, Github created an artifact that you can run: https://github.com/coelckers/gzdoom/sui ... ts/5759418 - install it on top of a dev build or GZDoom 4.3.3.

The relevant CVARs are thus:

Code: Select all

CVAR(Bool, inter_classic_scaling, true, CVAR_ARCHIVE)
- This is a switch to turn on/off intermission scaling
CVAR(Bool, ui_screenborder_classic_scaling, true, CVAR_ARCHIVE)
- This is a switch to turn on/off screen border scaling
CVAR(Float, classic_scaling_factor, 1.0, CVAR_ARCHIVE)
- This is a multiplier relative to 320x200. Increase it to make the scaling relative to a higher resolution.
CVAR(Float, classic_scaling_pixelaspect, 1.2, CVAR_ARCHIVE)
- This is a multiplier for the pixel aspect ratio. Set to 1.2 for the default (stretched like 320x200), set to 1.0 to make it square.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1322
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by AFADoomer »

Very nice! Will there be any consideration for mod-side control? I can imagine someone has created a high-resolution frame image that will now look horrible and pixelated with the new defaults...

EDIT: Is that build you linked based off of the texture rework branch? If so, I may have a bug to report with shader compilation.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13530
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Rachael »

Yes, it's based on the texture rework.

This could be redone for an older code base like LZDoom but it would have to be done manually.
Scuba Steve
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2004 8:56 pm

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Scuba Steve »

Good god, that looks so much better.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13530
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Rachael »

Thank you, again. :)

I've now put the finishing touches on the branch, it should be ready for merge as soon as texture_rework is.

Graf - would it be more convenient for me to simply merge my work into texture_rework, itself?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Graf Zahl »

Sure.
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1050
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Redneckerz »

This is really the kind of feature you never knew was missed or even needed but now that its here, it looks sublime.

Once more a great showcase that details can have a dramatic impact on the result. Well done Rachael, that's definitely a selling point for GZDoom. :)
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13530
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Rachael »

Done.

Thank you, Red. :)
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13530
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Rachael »

Closing as added.
Scuba Steve
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2004 8:56 pm

Re: Fix intermission scaling

Post by Scuba Steve »

Rachael, how can I test Doom with this enabled? I thought it would be in the latest SVN build... but I can't find if I still have to enable it through a cvar.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”