Omega Zero mod - Version 2 Release

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Omega Zero mod - Version 2 Release

Post by lizardcommando »


Spoiler: older videos
Ever since I finished playing through the Mega Man Zero series with the Mega Man Zero/ZX Legacy Collection last month, I thought I'd go back and revisit my abandoned Maverick Hunters mod (which was originally started in 2010, believe it or not). I salvaged most of the old mod's coding and some of the old graphics to create this mod.

In this mod, you play as Omega Zero, Zero's original body. As of right now, you get to use the Z-Buster and Z-Saber. The Z-Buster can charge up to two levels and the Z-Saber has a 3 slash combo attack. You can also dash forward by pressing Q.

Here is the link to download the mod.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/rpwpfaqoj ... 2.zip/file

Version 2 Updates:
  • Readjusted the Powered Up Z-Saber. Now the midcharge attack is the Z-Saber charged attack.
  • *Readjusted the Powered Up Z-Buster. It now plays a new sound effect when you fire it fully charged.
Here's the To-Do list for the mod:
  • Fix any bugs that are present.
  • Change the placeholder X-series sounds (namely the menu sounds and health pick up sounds) in to proper Zero series sounds.
....And yes, I am slowly, slowly working on reworking this into a proper Mega Man Zero 3 gameplay mod. I'm going to try adding in the Recoil Rod and Shield Boomerang. Not sure about stuff like other Cyber-Elves, although I guess something that gradually heals you or gives you super speed or high-jump abilities would obviously make sense. We'll see once I get to that point.
Last edited by lizardcommando on Sat Aug 29, 2020 1:17 pm, edited 14 times in total.
Jarewill
 
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:54 am

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by Jarewill »

Oh my!
A Zero mod? Color me interested.
I'll gladly try this out in a bit.

Funnily enough, some time ago I was messing around in trying to convert the Omega boss fight into Doom. Didn't go anywhere.

Edit: Gave it a quick try, good job with it so far.
However it would be nice if pressing [fire] once will only do one slice with the Z-Saber, instead of doing the full combo.
Maybe pressing it rapidly or holding the button would execute the full combo?

Also jumping/dashing while slashing overrides Omega's voice.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by lizardcommando »

Jarewill wrote: Edit: Gave it a quick try, good job with it so far.
However it would be nice if pressing [fire] once will only do one slice with the Z-Saber, instead of doing the full combo.
Maybe pressing it rapidly or holding the button would execute the full combo?
That is how I wanted the Z-Saber to function, but I have no idea how to code that.
Jarewill
 
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:54 am

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by Jarewill »

lizardcommando wrote:That is how I wanted the Z-Saber to function, but I have no idea how to code that.
The simplest way to do it would be to split the current slashing into three different states. (Fire, Fire2, Fire3, etc)
And then put A_ReFire("state") at the end of each slash state.
Like this:

Code: Select all

Fire:
Animation here
TNT1 A 0 A_ReFire("Fire2")
Goto Ready
Fire2:
More animation
TNT1 A 0 A_ReFire("Fire3")
And so on
This would cause the slashing to continue as the player holds the button down, but pressing the button once would only slash once.
A method with mashing the button would be slightly more complex with (how I did it) giving a dummy combo inventory item on each slash and adding jumps to the first fire state based on the number of those combo items.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by lizardcommando »

Hmm, nice. That coding is working quite nicely. Thank you :)
User avatar
BradmanX
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:45 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by BradmanX »

Neat, definitely keeping an eye on this mod
DYD
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:04 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by DYD »

You don't and can't know just how much I wanted something like this.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16891
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: An ancient Escape Shuttle(No longer active here anymore)

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by Captain J »

Quite good! Nice to see that Mega Man Zero is getting some spotlight, even in Doom format.

However i would like to slash my saber just once. But when i press the button, zero slashes 3 times for some reason. Also are you planning for extra weapons and level up system? That would be neat.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by lizardcommando »

Captain J wrote:Quite good! Nice to see that Mega Man Zero is getting some spotlight, even in Doom format.

However i would like to slash my saber just once. But when i press the button, zero slashes 3 times for some reason. Also are you planning for extra weapons and level up system? That would be neat.
I had made some changes to the coding to allow players to now slash up to three times depending on how long you hold down the fire button, thanks to Jarewill's fix.

As far as extra weapons goes, once i finish fleshing out the moveset for Omega Zero, I will try to convert everything into a more general Mega Man Zero mod. Omega's form will eventually be the "berserk" powerup. I do plan on at least adding the Shield Boomerang and maybe the Recoil Rod, but that won't happen until things are fleshed out more right now.

As far as progress and bugs goes, I did program in the charged Z-Saber attack. It kind of works and the animation is not bad, but the attack has the tendency to kill the player. How do I have it so that the full charged attack does not hurt the player and how do I have it so that the object does not spawn in the player but in front of the player? The following coding is just for the animation that spawns the Z-Saber Full Charge attack.

Code: Select all

  FullChargeShot:
    ZSCH E 1 BRIGHT A_StopSound(CHAN_WEAPON)
	ZSCH E 2 Bright A_PlaySound("omegazero/zsaber4")
    ZSCH F 2 Bright 
	TNT1 G 2 Bright A_FireCustomMissile("ZSaberFullChargeShot",0,0,12,10,0) 
    TNT1 B 9
Here is the coding for the spawned object itself:

Code: Select all

actor ZSaberFullChargeShot
{
  scale 1.4
  height 16
  radius 11
  damage 90
  renderstyle Add
  alpha 1
  deathsound "weapons/laserexplode"
  ExplosionRadius 95
  ExplosionDamage 70
  PROJECTILE
  +RANDOMIZE
  +DONTREFLECT
  states
  {
  Spawn:
    ZSCX A 1 BRIGHT
    Goto Death
  Death:
    TNT1 A 0 //A buffer, dunno if this is needed or not
    ZSCX AB 2 BRIGHT A_Explode
    ZSCX CDEF 2 BRIGHT
    stop
  }
}
Another bug I have encountered is the Subtank not spawning. I am not sure what I am doing wrong, but the following errors always shows up:

Code: Select all

Invalid data encountered for texture omegazero.wad: SUBTA0
Invalid data encountered for texture omegazero.wad: SUBTB0

Script warning, "omegazero.wad:ITEMS line 54
Icon "SUBTICON" for "Subtank" not found.
I'm not sure what I am doing wrong with these parts.
Jarewill
 
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:54 am

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by Jarewill »

lizardcommando wrote:I'm not sure what I am doing wrong with these parts.
For the charged attacks not damaging the player, A_Explode has a flag that excludes the player from splash damage.

I looked at your charged shot, as it was also hurting the player and this fixes it:

Code: Select all

    LASE A 3 BRIGHT A_Explode(65,85,0)
First number is damage, second is radius, and third is if the player will also get hurt or not. (0 means no splash damage)
Those first two numbers replace the ExplosionDamage and ExplosionRadius properties, which seem to mess with the explosion to always hurt the player, I would recommend to remove them.

For the attack spawning in front of the player, A_SpawnItemEx is the function I always use.
For example: A_SpawnItemEx("ZSaberFullChargeShot",64,0,36) will spawn the charged slash in front of the player 64 units at the height of 36 units.
It might need a bit tweaking too, as I'm unfamiliar with the sprite offsets: first number (64) is forwards/backwards spawning, second number (0) is left/right and third number (36) is up/down.
Spoiler:
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by lizardcommando »

Thank you for your help. Things are working real nicely now for the most part. Although, the radius of the fully charged Z-Saber attack seems to only effect one enemy. Would I need to change the Charged Shot's radius or could that be changed in the A_Explode function?
Jarewill
 
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:54 am

Re: Omega Zero mod - Alpha release

Post by Jarewill »

lizardcommando wrote:Would I need to change the Charged Shot's radius or could that be changed in the A_Explode function?
A_Explode can change the explosion radius.
The second parameter does that:
A_Explode(damage,radius,hurt player(0=no))
To make the explosion affect more enemies, change the second parameter.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Omega Zero mod - Beta 1 release

Post by lizardcommando »



Ok, here is Beta 1 of the mod. A lot of stuff has been fix thanks to Jarewill's help.

Here is a rundown of what the Beta 1 Updates are:
  • You can control the length of the default 3-slash combo. Depending on how long you hold down the FIRE button, you can either perform a single slash, dual slash or the 3 slash combo.
  • Added the full charged Z-Saber attack (press and hold the SECONDARY FIRE button to charge the Z-Saber up).
  • Subtanks properly appear in the mod.
Here is the link.
https://www.mediafire.com/file/2b3fnc05 ... -beta1.zip

By the way, if you wanna feel extra bad-ass, I suggest playing this mod with that Ultimate Slow-Mo/Bullet Time mod from Spaceman333.
Last edited by lizardcommando on Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Jarewill
 
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:54 am

Re: Omega Zero mod - Beta 1 release

Post by Jarewill »

Feels great to play and the saber's charged slash is just.... Amazing.
Though I have noticed a small problem:

The charge sound/animation doesn't match the timing when the weapon is fully charged.
What I mean by this is that when the fully charged sound starts playing, there is still about half a second before it actually can do a fully charged attack.
What seemed to fix it is changing LevelCounter max amount into 60 from 75. Unsure if this is tic-perfect, but I think it works better.

Another thing is that Omega's voice while slashing the sword gets cut off by dashing / jumping.
This can be fixed by adding CHAN_WEAPON into A_PlaySound in saber's Fire1, Fire2 and Fire3 states.

Also a small suggestion: In MMZ games, Zero can bind two weapons to two buttons to use. Allowing Zero to use both weapons one after the other.
Maybe to simulate that, make the weapons' Select / Deselect be instant, or at least very quick?
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Omega Zero mod - Beta 1 release

Post by lizardcommando »

In order to change the weapon select speed, would I just need to change the amount of frames/tics in the Select and Deselect parts of the coding?

Also, whan I was trying to change the level counter max to 60, it seems to have disrupted how the charging sounds would play. It would play fine the first time, but after charging my weapons the second time around, it wouldn't play the sound effect.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”