[All done] New features (last update 8.8.2005)

Moderators: Developers, ZDoom.org Team

New features (last update 8.8.2005)

Postby Grubber » Fri Apr 08, 2005 7:56 am

You can download modified exe+source code and test wad here

Please note that this build is unofficial and unsupported, so don't post any bugs of this version to bugs forum! (or at least mark them 96x)

See 96x-changes.txt for changes done.

See test dir for example wads showing some of the new features.
Last edited by Grubber on Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:43 am, edited 49 times in total.
User avatar
Grubber
I can wire anything directly into anything. I am the professor!
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Location: Czech Republic

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:24 am

The link wrote:This page is missing.
To open a free hosting account (100 MB space, MySQL, PHP, Perl, FrontPage) click here



Anyway, would you mind posting the source for your changes so they can be incorporated into ZDoom itself?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Enjay » Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:10 am

Link isn't working for me either.

Do any of these unofficial builds include fixes for additional stuff - such as the status bar face bug or are these kind of things being left for Randy's official version (which would obviously make sense)?

It's just that I'd like to mess around with a 2.0.96 that was closer to working than the current official one.

40
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:29 am

No. That code only exists in Randy's project.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Grubber » Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:35 am

Sorry everybody, the server is kinda stupid or what :? (or me maybe :)). Now it works.

@Graf: I'm not that stupid to forget to upload source ;).
Last edited by Grubber on Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Grubber
I can wire anything directly into anything. I am the professor!
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Location: Czech Republic

Postby Risen » Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:36 am

Could this be used to draw hudmessages on regular textures as well as camera textures? A static computer monitor that displays information but doesn't display an area of the map would be useful. (Sure, it could be done with a camera pointed at a wall, but I'd imagine the extra drawing would take more resources.)
User avatar
Risen
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Location: N44°30' W073°05'

Postby Grubber » Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:37 am

No, hudmessages are supposed to be drawn on canvas, not on texture (camera texture displays canvas). You can do this by drawing hudmessage with texture that covers whole canvas.
User avatar
Grubber
I can wire anything directly into anything. I am the professor!
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Location: Czech Republic

Postby Risen » Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:56 am

If you do that, do you still get the performance hit of it monitoring a camera somewhere?
User avatar
Risen
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Location: N44°30' W073°05'

Postby Grubber » Fri Apr 08, 2005 12:00 pm

Yes (:()
User avatar
Grubber
I can wire anything directly into anything. I am the professor!
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Location: Czech Republic

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Apr 08, 2005 12:27 pm

Looks interesting. I have one question though:

Since HUD messages are bound to players how does this affect messages on camera textures in multiplayer games? I think most of the time there won't be an issue but I don't think these messages are synchronised across the network.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Anakin S. » Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:21 pm

Thanks, Grubber!

EDIT: I tried downloading it but the file seems to be corrupted.

EDIT 2: Tried again with Internet Explorer and it seems to have worked.

I have a few comments:

Grubber:
1. The weapons move up really high on the screen whenever you fire. Did you include the weapon offset fix?

2. I think you forgot to include the A_TakeInventory fix.

Graf:
3. When I use the new aiming mode for A_CustomMissile to have projectiles that shoot secondary projectiles out in a circle like the strife mauler, the missiles seem to get spawned off center, which I only notice when shooting at a wall or obstacle. When I shoot at a wall, all of the secondary projectiles are spawned inside the wall and explode instantly. Is this normal? I would think that if you shoot at the wall, you'd see half of the secondary projectiles fly back at you while the other half explode instantly in the wall.
Last edited by Anakin S. on Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Anakin S.
Am I evil?
 
Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Location: A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...

Postby Sir_Alien » Fri Apr 08, 2005 4:57 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Since HUD messages are bound to players how does this affect messages on camera textures in multiplayer games?


I'm interested about this too. If this is implemented in the official build, it may really change the state of ZDoomforums.wad and it's coop/deathmatch potential right now.

Oh, and Grubber == :rock:
User avatar
Sir_Alien
Get your ass to Mars...
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Apr 08, 2005 5:29 pm

Anakin S. wrote:Thanks, Grubber!

Graf:
3. When I use the new aiming mode for A_CustomMissile to have projectiles that shoot secondary projectiles out in a circle like the strife mauler, the missiles seem to get spawned off center, which I only notice when shooting at a wall or obstacle. When I shoot at a wall, all of the secondary projectiles are spawned inside the wall and explode instantly. Is this normal? I would think that if you shoot at the wall, you'd see half of the secondary projectiles fly back at you while the other half explode instantly in the wall.



The secondary projectiles are spawned at the position where the primary projectile exploded. But if the secondary projectile is larger or the primary one went rather far into the wall before exploding all of them will be in the wall when they spawn and explode immediately. Make sure that the secondary projectile is smaller than the primary one and don't let the primary projectile move too fast and it should work.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Anakin S. » Sat Apr 09, 2005 12:17 am

Thanks. It works most of the time now. Sometimes it still doesn't launch anything when it hits walls.

By the way, how do you set disintegrating damage or poison damage for an actor? I couldn't find it anywhere.
User avatar
Anakin S.
Am I evil?
 
Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Location: A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Apr 09, 2005 3:15 am

You can't set poison damage. Although I submitted a patch once it got lost. Disintegration damage is set by

'DamageType Disintegrate'
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Next

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cryomundus, Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest