Low Detail Shader

Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13530
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Low Detail Shader

Post by Rachael »


"Low Detail Shader when?" I get frequently asked. Probably as a joke, who knows...

So - here it is.

Use "gl_lowdetail" cvar in console to turn it on and off.

It emulates the effect of pressing F5 in Vanilla Doom, except it's not resolution aware (it simply pixelates to 160x200) - didn't see any reason to do that, anyway.

You can relive the old vanilla days by typing...

Code: Select all

bind f5 "toggle gl_lowdetail"
... in the console. (Default F5 binding: "menu_display")

Memories best relived with the following cvars also set:

Code: Select all

vid_scalemode 2
gl_tonemap 5
gl_lightmode 8
gl_bandedswlight true
r_vanillatrans 1
gl_lights false
Attachments
lowdetail.pk3
(1.83 KiB) Downloaded 759 times
User avatar
Arctangent
Posts: 1235
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by Arctangent »

Wow, that screenshot is dreadful in exactly the way it's meant to be.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17433
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by Nash »

And with a low-end graphics computer, you can now also relive the days of owning the peasant-tier 286 while trying to run Doom on it! XD

Good stuff Rachael. That pixelated blob of mess looks ugly - and I mean that as a compliment. ;)
User avatar
Tapwave
Posts: 2096
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:54 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by Tapwave »

Rachael delivered, I can now die in peace :P
User avatar
Outtagum
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:29 am

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by Outtagum »

Thank you for making this add-on. It's fun to play some modern mods in GZDoom as if it was 1994 again. :)
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3141
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by drfrag »

I think this is pretty cool. BTW i've added a couple of new low detail modes to my engines (3x2 and 4x4) but they are not in the releases yet.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by Pixel Eater »

Now if only pushing F5 played the toggle sound! This is awesome :lol:
ZzZombo
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:02 am

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by ZzZombo »

You can execute several commands in a key bind, and there is a play sound command... even tho I don't think that particular sound is defined in SNDINFO.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by Pixel Eater »

ZzZombo, I tried what you said and it works:

Code: Select all

bind f5 "toggle gl_lowdetail; playsound switches/normbutn"
:)
User avatar
PixelCrunch
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:32 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: Everywhere, yet nowhere.

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by PixelCrunch »

Rachael wrote:
"Low Detail Shader when?" I get frequently asked. Probably as a joke, who knows...

So - here it is.

Use "gl_lowdetail" cvar in console to turn it on and off.

It emulates the effect of pressing F5 in Vanilla Doom, except it's not resolution aware (it simply pixelates to 160x200) - didn't see any reason to do that, anyway.

You can relive the old vanilla days by typing...

Code: Select all

bind f5 "toggle gl_lowdetail"
... in the console. (Default F5 binding: "menu_display")

Memories best relived with the following cvars also set:

Code: Select all

vid_scalemode 2
gl_tonemap 5
gl_lightmode 8
gl_bandedswlight true
r_vanillatrans 1
gl_lights false
Sorry if i necro or not, but for me it's not working. I put the code into the Console in QZDOOM 2.1.0, but nothing happens at all. Please help me get it to run, i'm trying to make a true Jaguar Doom TC!
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13530
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by Rachael »

If it doesn't work then your card is probably not supporting shaders.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26517
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by Enjay »

Definitely works in GZDoom 4.1.1 and QZDoom q2.2pre-2589-g231f967d8 for me.
User avatar
Slax
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 2121
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:01 am
Location: Window office.
Contact:

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by Slax »

Something is missing. Something... terrible.
Spoiler:
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13530
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by Rachael »

Okay you have fun with that :P
User avatar
PixelCrunch
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:32 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: Everywhere, yet nowhere.

Re: Low Detail Shader

Post by PixelCrunch »

PixelCrunch wrote:
Rachael wrote:
"Low Detail Shader when?" I get frequently asked. Probably as a joke, who knows...

So - here it is.

Use "gl_lowdetail" cvar in console to turn it on and off.

It emulates the effect of pressing F5 in Vanilla Doom, except it's not resolution aware (it simply pixelates to 160x200) - didn't see any reason to do that, anyway.

You can relive the old vanilla days by typing...

Code: Select all

bind f5 "toggle gl_lowdetail"
... in the console. (Default F5 binding: "menu_display")

Memories best relived with the following cvars also set:

Code: Select all

vid_scalemode 2
gl_tonemap 5
gl_lightmode 8
gl_bandedswlight true
r_vanillatrans 1
gl_lights false
Sorry if i necro or not, but for me it's not working. I put the code into the Console in QZDOOM 2.1.0, but nothing happens at all. Please help me get it to run, i'm trying to make a true Jaguar Doom TC!
I also use GZDOOM 3.7.1 (because my shitty graphics card does not support OpenGL 3.0+), but i'm not sure how i can make that work, as i've never tested it there.
Post Reply

Return to “Shaders”