Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
Post Reply
User avatar
VoidMage
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:42 am

Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by VoidMage »

As of 35186e9fd722.
This looks a bit like the problem here, but this time affecting the standard menu.
menu_sshot.png
As you may see, some of the glyphs on some of the lines are clipped.
There might be a pattern to it, but it must be a quirky one - it doesn't depend on the glyphs, as they're rendered correctly in other places of the same menu, neither does it seem to depend on glyph color.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by Graf Zahl »

What screen resolution, scale factor and scaling mode are you using?
User avatar
VoidMage
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:42 am

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by VoidMage »

I doubt resolution matters - it happens both widowed and fullscreen.
It seems to be set to 800x600 though.

I use either hqnx or xbrz - problem visible with both.
User interface scale set to 2.

If you were referring to something else, say so clearly.
User avatar
Kostov
 
 
Posts: 2020
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 3:26 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by Kostov »

Graf is referring to your GZDoom resolution (regardless of whether it is windowed or fullscreen), the “Resolution scale” and “Scale factor” settings in GZDoom, all found in Options > “Set video mode”.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by Graf Zahl »

Was this really 800 x 600?
There was a problem causing a glitch like this when the window was dragged to its minimum size. The handler allowed a minimum WINDOW size of 640 instead of a minimum CLIENT size and if that happened the problem described here happened - it was also the only case where I could reproduce it, and that part is already fixed.

If this is Linux, though, I cannot say. If this is the case there may be a problem in the backend code reporting wrong window sizes.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13531
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by Rachael »

There is currently an issue in Windows where the client size can be arbitrarily set (vid_setsize) to a small size - however the scaling code handles this by forcing the scaling to be 640x400 minimum no matter what the window size is.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by Graf Zahl »

I fixed that issue yesterday. The limit was 640x400 window size, not 640x400 client size.
User avatar
VoidMage
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:42 am

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by VoidMage »

Let's put it this way:

Code: Select all

vid_aspect=0
vid_vsync=false
vid_defheight=600
vid_defwidth=800
vid_rendermode=4
win_h=819
win_w=1024
win_y=102
win_x=128
...and yes, it's Linux.

Also, for comparison (as of 6d1a85af3c5a5f6):
menu_sshot2.png
...so it seems distortions happen at a certain height...
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by phantombeta »

Is there any bug here?
To me, this seems like the usual issue of Nearest Neighbour filtering crapping itself when non-integer values (be it scaling or coordinates) are introduced.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by Graf Zahl »

It shouldn't do any non-integer scaling in the menu, unless the height is less than 480.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Contact:

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I'm incapable of reproducing this on my end. This is really odd. What window manager / desktop environment do you use?
User avatar
VoidMage
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:42 am

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by VoidMage »

...I rarely visit this forum these days.

As for my window manager, it's openbox.
DE doesn't really count, as it's actually a collection of bits and pieces (lxpanel, pcmanfm, etc.).

Also, still valid as of dc3b36ebd.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Inconsistent font rendering in menu

Post by Graf Zahl »

Whatever this is, I strongly suspect a third party related problem.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”