GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Graf Zahl »

Notice: There is currently no Vintage version planned for this release.

Please note that the survey is currently closed. GZDoom 4.0.0 does not include the survey code that 3.5.0 did.


Download (Modern, OpenGL 3.3 and higher) Highlights
  • Vulkan released in its alpha stages. Use "+vid_backend 0" on the command line to activate it. VERY IMPORTANT! Vulkan is unfinished and has several issues. You will likely crash. It works well in vanilla Doom without any mods, and will work with mods that don't use models or shaders - but any mods that have these things will likely cause GZDoom to crash. You will have to switch back to OpenGL to play these mods. ("+vid_backend 1")
  • Localization: GZDoom has been translated to several languages, with more to come soon. Please see the following two threads if you wish to help: [1] [2]
  • Scaling has been changed. GZDoom now runs at a minimum of 640x400. An extra mode - 960x600 - has been added to replace the lost 320x200 one.
  • Internal code restructuring to agnostisize level structures.
  • add 'cl_blockcheats' - useful for people who use debugging keys, allows a user to consciously turn off cheats without affecting the server
  • Punctuated the input strings in UpperCamelCase format, improving its appearance in the menu for upper/lowercase capable fonts
  • 'wait' console commands no longer execute inside the level, and can run during intermissions and outside the game
  • moved controls to submenus in "Customize Controls" menu
  • Implement page string names for dialog lumps
  • did a bit of cleanup on the option menus by regrouping some settings, especially splitting out of the Hardware Rendering Options menu into submenus.


ZScript
  • scriptified P_CalcHeight. This was the only code using the ViewBob member variable. This also moves the range check for this variable to its application, because a badly behaved mod can just as easily change it at run time instead of just setting an absurdly large value in the class definition.
  • scriptified APlayerPawn's DamageFade handling.
  • scriptified A_SkullPop and ObtainInventory. These were the last relevant items to access PlayerPawn.InvFirst.
  • scriptified useflechette CCMD's item finding code.
  • scriptified the remaining PlayerPawn methods.
  • exported all native components of APlayerPawn.
  • Added Z + camera roll relativity for A_QuakeEx's QF_RELATIVE flag.
  • Added inflictor, source and flag parameters to GetModifiedDamage on actors and ModifyDamage on inventory. The flags are used by DamageMobj so modders can determine radius damage, for example, by checking for DMG_EXPLOSION.
  • removed extraneous parameter in SpawnPlayerMissile call in A_FireProjectile. The native variant has a MissileActor out parameter in this place, but in ZScript that's a secondary return value.
  • Add LookScale variable on weapon This variable allows a weapon to set a custom look sensitivity multiplier without fiddling with FOVScale / DesiredFOV hacks.
Details
Spoiler: This is long
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Graf Zahl »

Details (continued from first post)
Spoiler: Patch notes cont'd
User avatar
Kostov
 
 
Posts: 2020
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 3:26 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Kostov »

Big props to everyone who's worked so hard on this!
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17434
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Nash »



Congratulations for doing what almost no other source port managed to achieve. :)
User avatar
crazyflyingdonut
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:48 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: [REDACTED]

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by crazyflyingdonut »

Wait, why is there a different font in Settings and in Load/Save?
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7399
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: MAP33
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Kinsie »

crazyflyingdonut wrote:Wait, why is there a different font in Settings and in Load/Save?
There's a new font for certain things that previously used the battered old CONFONT (menu settings, load/save, console etc.) that supports a massive number of Unicode characters. This allows it to support lots of languages including Asian ones like Japanese and Korean.
Melodica
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 10:35 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Location: Chile

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Melodica »

Is there any way to make the font in the options menu smaller? It seems far bigger than it should be, and it's extremely annoying to be able to see far less of the menu because the font occupies far more space. I know that it's probably due to the new font stuff for translations, but a way to use the normal Doom smallfont again would be nice, since it used far less space than the current one.
User avatar
crazyflyingdonut
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:48 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: [REDACTED]

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by crazyflyingdonut »

Kinsie wrote:
crazyflyingdonut wrote:Wait, why is there a different font in Settings and in Load/Save?
There's a new font for certain things that previously used the battered old CONFONT (menu settings, load/save, console etc.) that supports a massive number of Unicode characters. This allows it to support lots of languages including Asian ones like Japanese and Korean.
Oh. Japanese and Korean are cool, but I will miss CONFONT.

As they say, "out with the old, in with the new".
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by phantombeta »

Melodica wrote:Is there any way to make the font in the options menu smaller? It seems far bigger than it should be, and it's extremely annoying to be able to see far less of the menu because the font occupies far more space. I know that it's probably due to the new font stuff for translations, but a way to use the normal Doom smallfont again would be nice, since it used far less space than the current one.
That's mostly with the smaller resolutions, for some weird reason. With the higher resolutions, there's actually more space. This was true for smaller resolutions before in the dev builds, and I have no idea why this was changed.
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7399
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: MAP33
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Kinsie »

The old CONFONT still exists for mods and stuff, but adding new characters to it would have been such a pain in the arse that a whole new automated solution was whipped up instead.
User avatar
crazyflyingdonut
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:48 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: [REDACTED]

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by crazyflyingdonut »

Kinsie wrote:The old CONFONT still exists for mods and stuff, but adding new characters to it would have been such a pain in the arse that a whole new automated solution was whipped up instead.
Yep, it's always a lot easier to let somebody else do the work for you. 😉
Beezle
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:48 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Beezle »

I noticed the shortcuts to weapon, map controls, etc. in the Dev builds and I'm glad it made it way into 4.0's official release and also like the search feature. Hopefully I can upgrade my PC soon and let you know how well Vulkan support is working hehe, great job everyone who worked on this!
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Graf Zahl »

On smaller resolutions the new font will indeed be larger because it is twice as tall. This is only an issue when originally the font was already using a scaling factor of 1.

For the console, using a better font was long, long overdue. The old font just had far too many issues for a text log and simply was too small. The issues with localization just amplified the problems of the old font even more because all those accented characters looked bad - and trying to extend the character set clearly showed that it couldn't be done in any satisfying manner - especially characters with some diacritical mark at the bottom didn't look good at all.

For the menus the change was made to fix the layout issues the menu has been suffering from since its inception. Especially in the compatibility menu some texts had to be shortened and all the previous attempts at fixing the layout didn't help with some of the localized texts. With the new one most of these hacks could be removed again
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Graf Zahl »

phantombeta wrote: That's mostly with the smaller resolutions, for some weird reason. With the higher resolutions, there's actually more space. This was true for smaller resolutions before in the dev builds, and I have no idea why this was changed.

Has it changed for the option menus, too?
There was a change for the non-options menus because on certain screen sizes the content became too small. So I chamged the reference width (i.e. what is needed to show all content) from 640 to 400 pixels. With a few tweaks to the skill and episode names that's what is minimally needed to show everything properly.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26517
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Enjay »

Even reading the list of changes feels like I've done a day's work. :lol:

This is clearly a huge update with lots and lots of work being done in the background. Thanks very much to all involved.
Post Reply

Return to “ZDoom (and related) News”