Extend defined length of frames

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
Apeirogon
Posts: 1605
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:57 am

Extend defined length of frames

Post by Apeirogon »

Looks like gzdoom accept, at least dont crash, frames which out from the range of range defined by the A-Z letters 0-26.
So, maybe it is possible to increase amount of sprites which use same name by increasing diapason of allowed frames?

Yes I know that now gzdoom can have 37 ^ 5, or so, sprites, but it become a torture to maintain and develop mod which use actors with high detailed, silky smooth (which means it have HUGE amount of sprites for one actor) sprite animations, or even models.
User avatar
Cherno
Posts: 1311
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:25 am

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Post by Cherno »

I started identifying actors with lots of frames by three letters instead of four and then increment the laster letter by one, like

POSA, POSB, POSC,...

where POSA has idle, walking and running frames,
POSB has melee and ranged attack frames,
POSC has pain and death frames, and so on.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Post by Graf Zahl »

This is really not needed.
User avatar
Apeirogon
Posts: 1605
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:57 am

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Post by Apeirogon »

Graf Zahl wrote:This is really not needed.
Why? Its help maintain and develop mods with great amount of animations per actor.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Post by Graf Zahl »

You can easily use multiple sprite names here. Extending this table is not that simple.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Post by Enjay »

Graf Zahl wrote:You can easily use multiple sprite names here.
Indeed. Nice and easy to do.

From my Genetech mod:

Code: Select all

    Spawn1:
    MOD1 ABCDEFGHIJ 4 A_Look
    Goto Spawn1
    
    Spawn2:
    MODA ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQR 4 A_Look
    Goto Spawn2
    
    Spawn3:
    MODB ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQR 4 A_Look
    Goto Spawn3
    
    Spawn4:
    MODC ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQR 4 A_Look
    Goto Spawn4
The above code snippet uses sprites called MOD1, MODA, MODB and MODC. When you are using models, you often need much greater numbers of sprite names than with sprite-based enemies. The full actor above uses even more.
User avatar
Apeirogon
Posts: 1605
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:57 am

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Post by Apeirogon »

Since I dont know english well, I cant quickly remember between what letters placed letter, for example, "j". So I just use qwerty...and so on instead of spite and frame names for models.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”