Peter's Sexy HUD

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby NightFright » Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:35 am

I wasn't aware of a new GZDoom release. Normally it shouldn't mess with sbarinfo stuff like this. I cannot see anything significant in the changelog that would explain a change of code behavior. I noticed that the texture system got a revamp in 3.7.0, though. Since the split statusbar completely relies on a textures lump, it would probably break if significant changes to declarations etc were applied. However I find that hard to believe since developers usually try hard to maintain compatibility to older mods with deprecated code.

In your screenshot you can clearly see that the bar is cut in completely different places and assets like the mugshot background (black square) are placed incorrectly. This indicates that positions defined in textures lump are not properly interpreted. I assume the normal (non-split) version works properly?

I cannot test this by myself before next week, but I am strongly tending towards this being a problem with GZDoom. If stuff doesn't work any more the way it did before, that's usually the case.

Unless you are loading other mods affecting the statusbar, of course. Be sure to check your launcher settings (if you are using any) and autoload sections in your gzdoom.ini file.
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby Grigori » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:47 pm

Seems like he has your wide Doom HUD in autoload.
User avatar
Grigori
 
Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Discord: Agitatio#4183

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby NightFright » Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:57 pm

Well, in that case: Please remove the widescreen mod from autoload. It's either one way or the other, but you cannot use both at the same time.
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby Mere_Duke » Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:15 am

Awww, yeah, thanks! I could have known it myself, completely forgot of that autoload stuff (that was not in autoload folder tbh).
The reason of that problem was not your hud but this mod:
viewtopic.php?t=37623
User avatar
Mere_Duke
Code Inspector
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Location: Russia

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby NightFright » Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:49 am

Please never mix widescreen graphics with this mod. It's based on the original graphics and will obviously cause problems otherwise.
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby foashes » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:13 am

Is there any way to get the border (the green thing?) of the HUD back? I came across this because I wanted a HUD that looked like vanilla but showed level stats. Is there anything I can edit in the pk3 to get the green border to the sides of the hud back?
foashes
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2018

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby NightFright » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:11 am

That's not exactly the purpose of this project, but OK. Load the file attached below after the actual status bar mod and see what it does for you. Don't forget to leave fullscreen mode, this is a mod for the normal version of the HUD. And you shouldn't have transparency activated for this, either.

Oh, btw: This status bar IS 100% vanilla (provided you do not activate transparency or Boom colors). The green border tiles weren't exactly there in the first place in original Doom since widescreen did not exist back then. GZDoom adds these to cover the gaps since nothing is drawn underneath them in non-fullscreen mode.
Attachments
sbarinfo.pk3
(10.36 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby foashes » Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:05 pm

Thanks! I wasn't expecting such a quick reply, plus a file!
foashes
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2018

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby supra107 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 11:33 am

I feel like there should be some kind of widescreen status bar support implemented, because some PWADs, like Pirate Doom for example, use a widescreen status bar by default, with no option for a regular status bar which would be compatible with this HUD.

supra107
 
Joined: 04 Aug 2017

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby NightFright » Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:27 am

Implementing widescreen status bar support for this will be kinda difficult since these graphics may have different sizes, which means cutting the graphics at different spots would be required. IMHO authors should not include widescreen graphics directly with the mod, but as external/optional files.

I guess there could be some width detection of STBAR images, and in case they are larger than 320px some calculation needs to be done to internally cut them down to regular size. Something like:
Code: Select allExpand view
If STBAR width > 320
{
ActualWidth - 320 = AddedWidth   // calculate added pixels in total
AddedWidth / 2 = AddedWidthLR   // calculate pixels to cut on each side
ActualWidth - AddedWidthLR (left) = NewActualWidth  // cut added pixels on left side
NewActualWidth - AddedWidthLR (right) = ProperWidth  // cut added pixels on right side
}
(Alternatively, you could determine the center of your widescreen STBAR image and cut off everything that goes beyond 160 px to the left and right of the center.)
If this is possible to do with code, I would definitely need help with it since I have no idea how to pull it off. It would be a nice addition indeed. Right now this mod really only works if STBAR dimensions remain unchanged (for Doom: 320x32).

Anyway, I have created a patch for Pirate Doom which you should load AFTER the mod and the pwad (since that one also comes with its own SBARINFO which would override mine). This patch should also work for any other pwad that uses STBAR replacements with a width of exactly 486px, e.g. "Rise of the Wool Ball".
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby guitardz » Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:27 pm

NightFright wrote: (Also, maybe it's a good idea not to show the level stats in the upper left since it may collide with the pickup messages. Suggestion: Relocate the text to the lower left, just on top of the statusbar.)


Is there an edit somewhere with this functionality?
User avatar
guitardz
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Location: USA
Discord: #5267
Twitch ID: guitardz83

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby NightFright » Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:12 am

That's why I decided to place the stats in the upper right corner where they are not obstructing anything (and in Heretic and Hexen it's just about the powerup icons that are in the way). I never considered placing the stats at the bottom, actually.
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby mgtroyas » Fri Feb 15, 2019 1:11 pm

Hi, really like this HUD, but I've noticed it's not Brutal Doom compatible. Ammo count always shows as zero. Any chance of having compatibility.
User avatar
mgtroyas
 
Joined: 25 Mar 2017

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby guitardz » Fri Feb 15, 2019 6:07 pm

NightFright wrote:That's why I decided to place the stats in the upper right corner where they are not obstructing anything (and in Heretic and Hexen it's just about the powerup icons that are in the way). I never considered placing the stats at the bottom, actually.

Yes, this works well. I made that comment before realizing you had been making additions to it. I love the split stbar feature. I also grabbed all the stbar fixes from the link you sent me, do you know if there are many more wad stbars that might need fixes like those?
User avatar
guitardz
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Location: USA
Discord: #5267
Twitch ID: guitardz83

Re: Peter's Sexy HUD

Postby NightFright » Sat Feb 16, 2019 3:10 am

@mgtroyaz
I can take a look at Brutal Doom compatibility, even though I think the mod offers a better HUD which suits its needs.

@guitardz
There are many pwads out there and I cannot test them all. If I didn't cover a mod which doesn't work 100% with this, just mention it here and I'll look into it.
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NightFright and 3 guests