[Closed] Map loads twice when using +map command line param

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Map loads twice when using +map command line param

Postby gramps » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:38 am

When I run gzdoom like this:
Code: Select allExpand view
./gzdoom.exe -iwad wads/DOOM2.WAD +map map01 -stdout


The level loads twice in a row (notice "map01 - entryway" prints twice).

The second level load is visible if the the level happens to look different the second time around -- that is, you're already in place at the spawn point, seeing the first iteration of the map, when it loads again.

There might be a very fatal error associated with this in some cases.

Tested in 32bit DRD nightly build from last night.
gramps
 
Joined: 18 Oct 2018

Re: Map loads twice when using +map command line param

Postby Rachael » Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:27 am

gramps wrote:Tested in 32bit DRD nightly build from last night.

Please always include the build number, statements like this mean absolutely nothing when someone's unable to tackle the bug right away.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Map loads twice when using +map command line param

Postby gramps » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:24 pm

The filename was gzdoom-g3.8pre-226-ga92090690.7z ... I guess 226 is the build number, and the last part is the commit hash?

Felt pretty sure this would be related to level de-globalization and would be resolved one way or another by the time that's done with, but left it here just in case.
gramps
 
Joined: 18 Oct 2018

Re: Map loads twice when using +map command line param

Postby Enjay » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:31 pm

I'm finding it easy to spot using g3.8pre-228-g3df112a7b and a map that plays a short sound via ACS as soon as the map starts. When using +map on the command line, I hear the sound twice.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Map loads twice when using +map command line param

Postby Rachael » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:35 pm

gramps wrote:The filename was gzdoom-g3.8pre-226-ga92090690.7z ... I guess 226 is the build number, and the last part is the commit hash?

The file name is perfect... and by build number I did mean hash as well, the whole thing is fine though, keep doing that, that's perfect. :)
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Map loads twice when using +map command line param

Postby _mental_ » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:03 am

Can be fixed like this. I want to be sure that the change fits well with level refactoring.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Map loads twice when using +map command line param

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:19 am

Sadly not. When all is done, each level will have its own list of thinkers, so that commit will undo a lot of my preparation. The problem comes from the feature being incomplete. Static thinkers like the CCMD execution helpers need to be run outside the level's context in a global list, but I haven't gotten to that part yet. I hope do do it over the weekend.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 0 guests