[bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8170
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

[bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by Major Cooke »

In the most recent commits, trying to just start the game causes a crash. It happened from this commit.
Last edited by Major Cooke on Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8170
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by Major Cooke »

Strangely enough, it doesn't crash with debug builds... Pinning it down is proving to be a bit more difficult. However the crash says "illegal instruction".
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8170
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by Major Cooke »

Found it. It's the "turbo" cvar that's causing a crash when introduced during that commit. Trying to multiply by the defined "scale" double in there is an illegal instruction.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by Graf Zahl »

What's your CPU?`
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8170
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by Major Cooke »

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.6GHz

I'm attaching my DxDiag if it can help.
Attachments
DxDiag.txt
(99.08 KiB) Downloaded 33 times
User avatar
PlayerLin
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:20 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.
Contact:

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by PlayerLin »

I got same crash(code:C000001D -- illegal instruction -- Address: 000000013F892F7C) after using g3.8pre-83-ga0ad4ea19 x64 of dev. build from DRDTeam dev. builds site, start the game, crashed immediately with GZDooM's very fatal crash error window.

For some reasons...x86 build from the same place just working fine.
Attachments
CrashReport-g3.8pre-83-ga0ad4ea19.zip
Very Fatal Crash Report files by GZDooM(x64 build from DRDTeam dev. builds site)
(17.55 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by phantombeta »

For some reasons...x86 build from the same place just working fine.
That's because this is certainly a problem with the JIT. The JIT doesn't support x86, only x86_64, so it won't crash, since it won't be running in the first place.

EDIT: Hmmmm, maybe not... Though if it isn't this will be hell to figure out.
Last edited by phantombeta on Sun Jan 06, 2019 5:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by Graf Zahl »

Since I do not get the crash, someone with an affected CPU needs to run the release build in a debugger and tell us what instruction it crashes on. My guess is something with floating point conversions.
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by phantombeta »

I can reproduce this with the latest DRD Team build, but not with a self-built build. Something's VERY fucky there.
Also this:
Image

EDIT: Oh, and it's definitely not the JIT. It's crashing inside GZDoom's own code.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26517
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by Enjay »

Happening with me too with gzdoom-x64-g3.8pre-83-ga0ad4ea19.7z from DRD. Unfortunately, I have nothing to add other than my crash report.
Attachments
CrashReport.zip
(19.63 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by Graf Zahl »

Since I don't get this, it may be a compiler bug. I am using the latest VC++ 2017. MC uses 2015, AFAIK, but what are the devbuilds compiled with?

@phantombeta: That image is a bit small, can you post something with more lines of code? I'd like to match this with the compiler's assembly output.
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by phantombeta »

Gladly.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3141
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by drfrag »

AFAIR Blzut3 is using VS 2015.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by Graf Zahl »

Definitely a code generation error.

Here's the assembly output of the first bad section:

Code: Select all

	0f 5a d1	 cvtps2pd xmm2, xmm1
  00055	f2 0f 59 15 00
	00 00 00	 mulsd	 xmm2, QWORD PTR __real@3f847ae147ae147b
You can see the first instruction being fully there, but the second one is garbled (but still locatable), there's 3 bytes of garbage in between. To be honest, I don't know how to handle it, someone with a broken compiler needs to do this.
Or we may simply unsupport VC++ 2015 for being buggy.
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: [bfbf7ff9c]Crash on start-up

Post by phantombeta »

Yeah, this is definitely a compiler bug. AppVeyor's VS2015 builds crash too, while the VS2017 builds don't.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”