Hudmessage exported to Zscript

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Post Reply
Collegia Titanica
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:37 pm

Hudmessage exported to Zscript

Post by Collegia Titanica »

Basically what phantom asked in thread below:

Should be rather simple, allowing the display of images on the screen, with fadetime and/or delay/replacement so that something like:

Code: Select all

SetHudSize(400,250,1);

    delay(1);
    setfont("GBLD1");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    setfont("GBLD2");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    setfont("GBLD3");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    setfont("GBLD4");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    setfont("GBLD5");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    setfont("GBLD6");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    setfont("GBLD7");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    setfont("GBLD8");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    setfont("GBLD9");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    setfont("GBLD10");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    setfont("GBLD11");
    hudmessage(s:"A"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 0, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 73.1, 71.1, 0.3);
    delay(4);
    }

Can easily be displayed
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=58291
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Contact:

Re: Hudmessage exported to Zscript

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I would say this deserves the [DIY] tag, considering a barebones HudMessageBase class is available to ZScript, which allows for pretty much anything drawn over/below the hud and whatnot without needing RenderOverlay or a custom status bar.

I've personally even attempted to replicate ACS HudMessage, here. Obviously that convoluted queue system is necessary if one wants to create these messages from play scope.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Hudmessage exported to Zscript

Post by Graf Zahl »

The predefined classes so much depend on the (bad) ACS implementation that they are not suitable for export. And even if they were, the bigger issue would still be that they are on the UI side, requiring some event handler glue.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”