"Kill Monsters" command broken with my mod

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
XxMiltenXx
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:40 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

"Kill Monsters" command broken with my mod

Post by XxMiltenXx »

As the title says, I have an issue with the "kill" command and my mod (which I will send to the developers).

The only error message I am getting is:

Code: Select all

Execution could not continue.

Ambiguous operand size: mov [r12+32], 0
Only 64-bit of GZDoom is affected while 32-bit works fine.

This build (gzdoom-x64-g3.7pre-302-g927d33306) and previous ones are working fine on both 64 and 32-bits
From this build onward (gzdoom-x64-g3.7pre-733-g101ebe173) it only works on 32-bit while 64-bit gives me the given error message. It doesn't matter if I try to kill specific monster types or just "monsters".
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: "Kill Monsters" command broken with my mod

Post by _mental_ »

Send the mod please.
XxMiltenXx
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:40 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: "Kill Monsters" command broken with my mod

Post by XxMiltenXx »

I thought I did, must have done something wrong the first time. This time it was sent correctly.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: "Kill Monsters" command broken with my mod

Post by _mental_ »

Here is a minimal sample. It will trigger a failure of this assertion first, and then, summoning A will lead to this error on JIT code generation.

Code: Select all

version "2.4"

struct S
{
    void Func()
    {
    }
}

class A : Actor
{
    override void BeginPlay()
    {
        S s;
        s.Func();
    }
}
EDIT: To workaround this engine bug in the mod, it should be enough to make ParticleSpawner.SpawnParticles() function static and avoid creation of ParticleSpawner instances (which is the right thing to do anyway).
XxMiltenXx
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:40 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: "Kill Monsters" command broken with my mod

Post by XxMiltenXx »

I actually compiled a debug build myself before reporting and saw the same assertion failure. Since it was during startup however I thought it was unrelated and that I compiled something wrongly...

Anyhow, I fixed it in my mod, thanks for the clarification. :)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: "Kill Monsters" command broken with my mod

Post by Graf Zahl »

Is this caused by the zero-length struct?
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: "Kill Monsters" command broken with my mod

Post by _mental_ »

Yes, because of RegType in VMFunctionBuilder::FramePointer is REGT_NIL to be precise.
Post Reply

Return to “Bugs [GZDoom]”