Smooth Doom [WIP 2.0 TEST? WOWIE ZOWIE]

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by StroggVorbis »

Open SmoothDoom.pk3 in SLADE, move to DECO and overwrite everything from Variants.txt:

Code: Select all

// [Blue Shadow] A_SpawnItemEx combo flag used by the spawners below
// [Blue Shadow] Note that with SXF_TRANSFERAMBUSHFLAG flag, you do not need the "Deaf" variants.
const int SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS = SXF_TRANSFERAMBUSHFLAG | SXF_NOCHECKPOSITION | SXF_TRANSFERSPECIAL;

// Base spawner class -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

ACTOR SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner
{
  +ISMONSTER // [Blue Shadow] So the below monsters don't spawn when "no monsters" DMFlag is enabled
  +NOBLOCKMAP
  +NOSECTOR
  +NOGRAVITY
  +THRUACTORS
}

// ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ACTOR ZombieDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces Zombieman
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    // [Blue Shadow] Check to see the if the "Extra Monster Sprites" option is enabled or not and
    // act accordingly.
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("RifleDropToggle") == 1, "RifleSpawn")
	TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIf(CallACS("SpawnVariants") == 1, "VariantSpawn")

  NormalSpawn:
    // [Blue Shadow] The above option is disabled, so spawn the standard monster.
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothZombieman", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop

  VariantSpawn:
    // [Blue Shadow] The above option is enabled, so either spawn a standard or one of the
    // variants.

    // [Blue Shadow] RandomSpawner would have been "cleaner" to use, but the ambush flag cannot be
    // transferred to the things it spawns if it itself is spawned by a spawner. So we have to do
    // it this way.
    TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256, "Standard", "Variant1", "Variant3")

    Standard:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothZombieman", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant1:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("ZombieV1", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant2:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("ZombieV2", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant3:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("ZombieV3", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
	  
	RifleSpawn:
	  TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIf(CallACS("SpawnVariants") == 1, "RifleVariants")
	RifleNormal:
	  TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("RifleZombie0", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
	RifleVariants:
	  TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256, "RifleStandard", "RifleVariant1", "RifleVariant3")
	  
	RifleStandard:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("RifleZombie0", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    RIfleVariant1:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("RifleZombie1", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    RifleVariant2:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("RifleZombie2", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    RifleVariant3:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("RifleZombie3", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
  }
}

ACTOR SguyDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces Shotgunguy
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("SpawnVariants") == 1, "VariantSpawn")

  NormalSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothShotgunguy", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop

  VariantSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256, "Standard", "Variant1", "Variant2")

    Standard:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothShotgunguy", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant1:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SguyV1", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant2:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SguyV2", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
  }
}

ACTOR CguyDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces Chaingunguy
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("SpawnVariants") == 1, "VariantSpawn")

  NormalSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothChaingunGuy", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop

  VariantSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256, "Standard", "Variant2")

    Standard:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothChaingunGuy", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
	Variant1:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("CguyV1", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant2:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("CguyV2", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
  }
}


ACTOR ImpDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces DoomImp
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("SpawnVariants") == 1, "VariantSpawn")

  NormalSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothDoomImp", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop

  VariantSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256, "Standard", "Variant1", "Variant2")

    Standard:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothDoomImp", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant1:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("ImpV1", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant2:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("ImpV2", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
  }
}

ACTOR PinkyDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces Demon
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("PinkyToggle") == 1, "FastSpawn")
  NormalSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothDemon", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop
  FastSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("FastSmoothDemon", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop
  }
}

ACTOR SpectreDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces Spectre
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("PinkyToggle") == 1, "FastSpawn")
  NormalSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothSpectre", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop
  FastSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("FastSmoothSpectre", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop
  }
}
This enables compatibility with Hexen/UDMF format maps that use ACS scripting or specials on monsters, they would be broken without that fix.
User avatar
Retraux Squid
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 8:41 pm
Location: E1M1

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by Retraux Squid »

RSSwizard wrote:
RSSwizard wrote:Ive decided to post my Smooth Doom Projectile Upgrade here. Its gotten repeated acclaim on the doom general in /vr and a link in the news post, but so far it hasnt gotten much visibility because people keep asking about it. This is a patch/add on to smooth doom that has to be put after it in the load order. Ive included (but kept separate) a palette wad I strongly recommend using with it (based on the 1024 palette).
I would also like to say ive completed the Color Changing Zombies project that I promised I would do. No dice for the shotgun sergeant yet, but the Smooth Vanilla Trooper and Smooth Vanilla Chainguy have been changed to allow color translations to be easily applied. Notes are included with the .PK3 (no decorate) in case you want to use them in a standard capacity - sample translation sets are provided to return them to looking mostly the way they originally did.

The graphics could be loaded as-is but without applying a replacement to them in decorate all you would get is the untranslated versions (green uniform zombie trooper, chainguy with green armor and blue boots/pants). So this is just a graphics pack not a mod.

Get It Here:
https://mega.nz/#!3gJmWAba!jddg5DAg0Pzo ... Hs9einKbtE
I love the way troopers look, even without any sort of color translation they just feel like legit zombie marines now, instead of what's presumably security personnel. Chaingunners work just as well for the most part, but don't appear to have their firing animations (they turn red-uniformed when shooting).
Horrorfreak106
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2018 5:33 pm

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by Horrorfreak106 »

In the next update, could you add glowing eyes for enemies (similar to what beautiful doom did?) That's the one thing I like over beautiful doom that I wish would be in this mod, but overall this mod is better than beautiful doom!
Danath
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:39 am

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by Danath »

Hi! I discovered this mod recently and it's quickly turning into essential stuff for whenever i want to play Doom. Fantastic work! :D Going back to stock animations after playing with this is painful.

Unfortunately, i found an incompatibility with the megawad Strain (strainfix.pk3). I got to map03 and the chaingun cannot be selected by pressing 4 or by using the mouse wheel, it goes from shotgun to fists. :\ Only when i run out of shotgun ammo i can use it, since it switches to it then.
Is there any possible way to manually fix this? I've seen a software called SLADE mentioned in this thread, but don't know how to use that.

I'm using GZDoom 3.4.1.0 and i have both smoothdoom.pk3 and smoothtextures.pk3 in the autoload section of gzdoom.ini. I also use the brightmaps and lights pk3's options in GZDoom launcher.
acridAxid
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:48 am

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by acridAxid »

Does Strain replace weapons? If you're not sure how to use SLADE, then the likely answer is to not mix Strain and Smooth Doom.
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by StroggVorbis »

Danath wrote:Hi! I discovered this mod recently and it's quickly turning into essential stuff for whenever i want to play Doom. Fantastic work! :D Going back to stock animations after playing with this is painful.

Unfortunately, i found an incompatibility with the megawad Strain (strainfix.pk3). I got to map03 and the chaingun cannot be selected by pressing 4 or by using the mouse wheel, it goes from shotgun to fists. :\ Only when i run out of shotgun ammo i can use it, since it switches to it then.
Is there any possible way to manually fix this? I've seen a software called SLADE mentioned in this thread, but don't know how to use that.

I'm using GZDoom 3.4.1.0 and i have both smoothdoom.pk3 and smoothtextures.pk3 in the autoload section of gzdoom.ini. I also use the brightmaps and lights pk3's options in GZDoom launcher.
Open strainfix.pk3 and delete keyconf.txt
Danath
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:39 am

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by Danath »

DabbingSquidward wrote:Open strainfix.pk3 and delete keyconf.txt
Thanks a ton! That works. :)
The only downside is that then the custom weapons from Strain can't be selected, i'll have to chose between having those or smoothdoom. :wink:
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by StroggVorbis »

Danath wrote:
DabbingSquidward wrote:Open strainfix.pk3 and delete keyconf.txt
Thanks a ton! That works. :)
The only downside is that then the custom weapons from Strain can't be selected, i'll have to chose between having those or smoothdoom. :wink:
If you want to use Strain's own weapons in tandem with Smooth Doom or any other gameplay mod, you need to look for the decorate.txt file or if they're seperated for each individual weapon, then look for a folder like actors. All you need to do after this is put "Weapon.SlotNumber x" after the first curly brace '{' where x is the number you want the weapon to go after obtaining it. Just look for Weapon.AmmoGive or Weapon.AmmoUse and create a new line there.
Danath
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:39 am

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by Danath »

DabbingSquidward wrote:If you want to use Strain's own weapons in tandem with Smooth Doom or any other gameplay mod, you need to look for the decorate.txt file or if they're seperated for each individual weapon, then look for a folder like actors. All you need to do after this is put "Weapon.SlotNumber x" after the first curly brace '{' where x is the number you want the weapon to go after obtaining it. Just look for Weapon.AmmoGive or Weapon.AmmoUse and create a new line there.
Thank you for the help.
It partially worked though, some weapons are selectable and others not. The ones that aren't selectable, like the machinegun or SSG, don't have any text files in the actors folder. :\

I will just play Strain without smoothdoom. :mrgreen:
User avatar
Slax
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 2121
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:01 am
Location: Window office.
Contact:

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by Slax »

Just gonna go ahead throw a Smooth Square request in here. "Easy enough," right? Ahah! AHAHAA!
I dunno. Why not? Ok, bye.
Image
gabrielpf3
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by gabrielpf3 »

I think there are only three details that could be added to this mod that would make it absolutely perfect for me.

1) An optional tracer effect for player and enemy guns, just like the one in Beautiful Doom.
2) Doomguy wears gloves when he has his fists selected (always hated that inconsistency with all the other weapons. I mean, does he just decide it's a good idea to take off his gloves when punching demons, and then he puts them back on when using any other weapon?).
3) The "black gloves" option should be fingerless, kinda like the ones in Brutal Doom (or maybe add a third option for that?).

Also, you're probably already aware of this, but there's a bug in the latest version with the green and blue blood for the Cacodemons, Barons of Hell and Hell Knights. These enemies don't gib correctly and have red blood mixed with their animations. This also kinda breaks the Ketchup Patch, which I love to use along with this mod.

Lastly, every time I boot up the game these error messages appear on the GZDoom launcher (I'm using v3.5.1, if that matters). As far as I can tell nothing is actually broken in-game, but I still think it's good to let you know.
Untitled.jpg
User avatar
DoomN00b
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:33 pm

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by DoomN00b »

YO! Gifty, if I give you and your contributors FULL credit, may I use your work in this mod as the base for a custom-enemy I'm working on? = )

The enemy in question I want to use, is the Revenant.

Let me know!
popguy12
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:44 pm
Location: Planet SOPHIA

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by popguy12 »

This feels like beautiful doom but without the extra sounds (like the annoying sound when a bullet "rebounds") and of course the ability to have different weapon skins and monster skins and stuff. imma have to play this!
Naitguolf
Posts: 502
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:16 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by Naitguolf »

Hi! Anyone was able to play Ancient Aliens with smooth doom? As the colour for the enemies is broken, no matter the order to load it :S
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Smooth Doom

Post by StroggVorbis »

Naitguolf wrote:Hi! Anyone was able to play Ancient Aliens with smooth doom? As the colour for the enemies is broken, no matter the order to load it :S
Most if not all of Smooth Doom's sprites are paletted, you need to convert them to truecolor PNG.
Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Mods”