Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby Albert Gongerkitch » Sun Jul 08, 2018 1:12 am

i started my gzdoom today and it is literally running in slow motion. i dont mean lag, its like bullet time or something. i haven't changed any rendering settings, installed any software on my computer. or loaded any mods that would add slowmo. it does this to unmodded doom as well as mods.
Albert Gongerkitch
 

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby _mental_ » Sun Jul 08, 2018 1:18 am

What’s the version of GZDoom? Did the same version work before?
Are you using Windows 10? If so, is it possible that some updates were installed recently?
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby FireSeraphim » Sun Jul 08, 2018 1:55 am

My brother's OS is Windows 7 (NT 6.1) build 7601 Service Pack 1 and his GZDoom version is G3.4pre-24-g84e9017AS. and yes he tried disabling and enabling V-Sync. (he's the one who post the bug report here)
User avatar
FireSeraphim
Bringing (Richter) Belmont Back
 
Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Discord: FireSeraphim #9061

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby _mental_ » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:19 am

Could you please try with 3.4.1 and with 3.3.2?
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby FireSeraphim » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:31 am

I wouldn't know where to find those since the DRD SVN seems to only have the recent 3.5 versions of GZDoom.
User avatar
FireSeraphim
Bringing (Richter) Belmont Back
 
Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Discord: FireSeraphim #9061

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby drfrag » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:44 am

User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby _mental_ » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:44 am

Why do you use devbuilds at all if you have some issues? In this case the first thing you should do is to try with the latest stable version.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby FireSeraphim » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:56 am

@mental: I am trying to fix this problem on my brother's behalf. Devbuilds work fine for me.
User avatar
FireSeraphim
Bringing (Richter) Belmont Back
 
Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Discord: FireSeraphim #9061

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby FireSeraphim » Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:04 am

My brother and I have confirmed that the problem persist as far back as both 3.4.1 and 3.3.2
User avatar
FireSeraphim
Bringing (Richter) Belmont Back
 
Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Discord: FireSeraphim #9061

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby _mental_ » Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:13 am

Post hardware spec please along with startup output.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby FireSeraphim » Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:32 am

https://hastebin.com/gewavatalo.tex here is my brother's hardware specs, according to speccy. Also I don't know how to get gzdoom to print the startup output in a .txt form.
Last edited by FireSeraphim on Sun Jul 08, 2018 4:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
FireSeraphim
Bringing (Richter) Belmont Back
 
Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Discord: FireSeraphim #9061

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby Rachael » Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:43 am

Code: Select allExpand view
gzdoom +log startuplog.txt


Then check the folder for the named file. You can open it with notepad and paste its contents.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby FireSeraphim » Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:54 am

tried it just now, ran it as a batch file and it didn't make a startuplog.txt in the gzdoom folder at all.
User avatar
FireSeraphim
Bringing (Richter) Belmont Back
 
Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Discord: FireSeraphim #9061

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby phantombeta » Sun Jul 08, 2018 4:07 am

It should be "+logfile", not "+log".
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: The United Soviet Socialist Dictatorship of Hueland
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Gzdoom is running in *literally* running in slow motion

Postby FireSeraphim » Sun Jul 08, 2018 4:13 am

https://hastebin.com/emofapojev.sql here's the logfile, also edited the initial speccy paste to remove a certain dangerous detail.
Edit: We have just now confirmed that it also affects software mode.
Edit #2: I should have mentioned that my brother has Razor Cortex installed on his computer.
Edit #3: We have tested it with razor cortex off and the problem still persist.
User avatar
FireSeraphim
Bringing (Richter) Belmont Back
 
Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Discord: FireSeraphim #9061

Next

Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest