Change engine's maximum player count for GLOOME?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Change engine's maximum player count for GLOOME?

Postby RazurZDooM » Thu May 24, 2018 9:04 pm

Before I start this, I want to say I have no idea where this should go, so I'm just gonna stick this here for now.

So, a while back there was this open source GZDooM-based sourceport called GLOOME, more info about it here for anyone interested although development on it has ceased: viewtopic.php?t=48994

Pretty much I need to modify the engine's maximum possible players so that I have more room to work with some crazy ideas of mine that just wouldn't work with the default, unless what I've seen all over the place saying the max for GZDooM is 8 is a load of shite. So is there anyway to do this, and what would I need to do?

EDIT: Wasn't thinking right when I made this post, I was really tired, my bad about the general idiocy and lack of research here, whoops! : :?
Last edited by RazurZDooM on Fri May 25, 2018 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RazurZDooM
 
Joined: 24 May 2018
Discord: 7908

Re: Change engine's maximum player count for GLOOME?

Postby wildweasel » Thu May 24, 2018 9:42 pm

Is there any particular reason you need GLOOME? GZDoom nowadays is fully GPL-licensed, so it can now be used in the same situations that GLOOME would.
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Change engine's maximum player count for GLOOME?

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri May 25, 2018 1:20 am

Why do you need more players in the first place. Don't forget that in order to use them you basically need a network connection between n computers if you have n players, each of those n computers commnunicating data to each other one.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Change engine's maximum player count for GLOOME?

Postby Matt » Fri May 25, 2018 10:27 am

The only reason for that many players I can imagine in the absense of a big LAN party is the need to spawn things from bots at deathmatch starts, in which case G_PickDeathmatchStart() would be a much better alternative.

(meanwhile there really isn't much that the bots can do that you can't do better with a custom actor, besides maybe really quickly testing some multiplayer stuff without having to think too much about it)
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
 
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Change engine's maximum player count for GLOOME?

Postby TDRR » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:43 pm

I'm still wondering, is there really a limitation that makes it not possible to support over 8 players? I'm doing a multiplayer-focused standalone game using the GZDoom engine but i think that 8 players really isn't enough. 16 would be perfect and 32 would maybe be too much but still nice to have support for it.

I assume a reason to use GLOOME over the latest GZDoom is that frankly, performace sucks, and i'm too aiming for low-end computers which GZDoom 3.x really doesn't like so in the end i will have to use GLOOME (I am going to miss that beautiful model light-n-shadow code added in the later builds)
User avatar
TDRR
putting jelly on this hot dog
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2018
Location: Venezuela

Re: Change engine's maximum player count for GLOOME?

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:10 am

TDRR wrote:and i'm too aiming for low-end computers which GZDoom 3.x really doesn't like


May I ask why?
I can understand that sometimes money may be a bit tight to buy new hardware but the survey we ran last year showed that all those low end systems barely make up 3% of the available market. On Steam their market share is far less than 1%.

If you want to do a standalone release you really won't get much out of this - in this scenario it is far, far more important to offer the ones with good systems the best experience, particularly if you want to do something commercial, because these people do have money - the ones with low end systems are unlikely to - there's reasons after all why they still run old computers - and most of the time they are money related.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Change engine's maximum player count for GLOOME?

Postby TDRR » Wed Jan 02, 2019 12:34 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:May I ask why?
I can understand that sometimes money may be a bit tight to buy new hardware but the survey we ran last year showed that all those low end systems barely make up 3% of the available market. On Steam their market share is far less than 1%.

If you want to do a standalone release you really won't get much out of this - in this scenario it is far, far more important to offer the ones with good systems the best experience, particularly if you want to do something commercial, because these people do have money - the ones with low end systems are unlikely to - there's reasons after all why they still run old computers - and most of the time they are money related.


Because i am too using low end systems :P (A PC with a decent CPU but trash GPU and a laptop with a little bit decent GPU but a complete trash CPU) How (and why) would i make a game that me and 95% of my friends can't run decently?

I'm also going to put attention into the graphics and stuff, because yes i know a massive amount of people have these computers.
(and the graphic effects you can achieve with GLOOME are extremely cheap on hardware and still look fairly good, maybe partly emulating some Source engine game)

Unfortunately that's not the case around here in Venezuela, things have been going a bit lighter for us but we still can't afford these modern-day computers, i definitely plan on doing more games but without more money to get a semi-decent computer i can't.
The most powerful computer of all my friends is literally from 2012 when stuff wasn't that bad around here, if i made my game with GZDoom 3.6.0 he would be basically the only one who could run this game around here, and that's no good.

However nothing is really stopping me from just including GZDoom 3.6.0 as an option in the launcher or even somewhere else, i can test it at around 25fps with all the stuff i have currently put in so it's good enough for testing how it looks.

I know GZDoom has pretty much stopped caring for low-end hardware (and for good reason) but when there's no other option i have to take the only way out, i don't like it either but it's about as far as i can go. (literally 95% of the features from current GZDoom i'm using in my game are render stuff, and that 95% is just the spotlight and new model dynamic lightning which i will sorely miss and instead have to cope with these flat-looking models)

But whatever, i just came to ask this:
I'm still wondering, is there really a limitation that makes it not possible to support over 8 players? I'm doing a multiplayer-focused standalone game using the GZDoom engine but i think that 8 players really isn't enough. 16 would be perfect and 32 would maybe be too much but still nice to have support for it.
User avatar
TDRR
putting jelly on this hot dog
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2018
Location: Venezuela


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BLEX [Bot], Yandex [Bot] and 2 guests