Transparent Vanilla HUD

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
SeventhSentinel
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 7:48 pm
Location: Ohio

Transparent Vanilla HUD

Post by SeventhSentinel »

Pretty simple HUD that mostly emulates vanilla Doom. Supports Smooth Doom.
Spoiler: Comparison
To use, set screen size to 11 and disable the alternative HUD.
Tested in QZDoom and GZDoom. Shoutout to Jimmy for the font.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by SeventhSentinel on Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Siberian Tiger
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: United States

Re: Transparent Vanilla HUD

Post by Siberian Tiger »

Hallo,

This looks really nice! I should incorporate this mod when I play GZDoom games.

Thanks for sharing this!
User avatar
SiFi270
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:51 am
Location: Does anyone put a serious answer here?

Re: Transparent Vanilla HUD

Post by SiFi270 »

The frag counter and player color are misplaced in deathmatch.
Image
If you want to test how things look in DM without actually playing a multiplayer game, you can open up the console and type "map (whatever map) dm".
User avatar
SeventhSentinel
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 7:48 pm
Location: Ohio

Transparent Vanilla HUD v2

Post by SeventhSentinel »

Updated first post with fixes.
dmslr
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 2:11 am

Re: Transparent Vanilla HUD

Post by dmslr »

For some reason HUD is stretched vertically. Tested in gzdoom 4.1.3.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Xeotroid
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 7:44 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Czech Rep.

Re: Transparent Vanilla HUD

Post by Xeotroid »

Does changing "HUD preserves aspect ratio" in HUD options fix it for you?
dmslr
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 2:11 am

Re: Transparent Vanilla HUD

Post by dmslr »

No, it doesn't.

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”