Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby Pixel Eater » Sat Apr 07, 2018 9:42 am

Menu.xls.zip
(9.96 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
I've compiled a spreadsheet of most menu items with parallel columns for organizing values into preset categories. The first is "Custom/Top level" and means the variable is user controlled at all times. The second two are GZDoom's default and Vanilla. They can contain only one value each. If this concept works then new preset columns can be added in the future.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
I sense evil I fear it here today, Like a bad dream that never goes away -MBerry
 
 
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby wildweasel » Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:05 am

Since not everybody necessarily has Excel installed, I've uploaded your spreadsheet to Google Sheets so everybody with a web browser can view it:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... sp=sharing
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby Pixel Eater » Sat Apr 07, 2018 5:06 pm

Thanks WildWeasel, that saves a lot of fuss :)

Does anyone have recommendations for the table structure or want a first go at populating it before I hack into it?
User avatar
Pixel Eater
I sense evil I fear it here today, Like a bad dream that never goes away -MBerry
 
 
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby Pixel Eater » Sun Apr 08, 2018 2:08 am

Menu.pk3
(859 Bytes) Downloaded 18 times
screenshot.jpg
Here's an example of one direction it could go. It's just the root menu done in the only way I know how- as a sub menu within the existing options. The "More Bwah-Bwah >" links only go to the current GZDoom menus for now, but everything else works*.
*Edit: Except for Static Lighting- it only affects fake contrast when I intend for it to also control the fog settings.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
I sense evil I fear it here today, Like a bad dream that never goes away -MBerry
 
 
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 5:55 am

Not sure if I've already said that but I am very happy that this is being considered and started. Releasing BoA as a standalone version showed us, that the options/menue might be intuitive for us who are already working with the engine for two decades but for someone who is totally new to GZDoom it's simply a pain.
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby ibm5155 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:37 am

I'd like to also Interact with the menu by acs\zscript, so I could control what specific menu should i show in titlemap\ingame or if the player should be able to enable it.

Something like I did here :https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KljqtxNvdHo
so with that I could do a skippable intro, block the menu at certain parts and maybe on the future, show a different menu for ingame

still for spooky's house of jumpscare menu I removed 80% of the menu options, and also added other options like a fast show fps.
People doesnt need to know how many channels the engine will use for sound, only the game volume and where it's going to output the sound,...

EDIT: Uh I liked the Pixel Eater menu, one thing I'd add for the vídeo options is a fast way to select the screen that's going to show the game (in case the user has multiple screens)
User avatar
ibm5155
Just Spooky
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2011

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby Caligari87 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:40 am

ibm5155 wrote:I'd like to also Interact with the menu by acs\zscript, so I could control what specific menu should i show in titlemap\ingame or if the player should be able to enable it.

Something like I did here :https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KljqtxNvdHo
so with that I could do a skippable intro, block the menu at certain parts and maybe on the future, show a different menu for ingame

still for spooky's house of jumpscare menu I removed 80% of the menu options, and also added other options like a fast show fps.
People doesnt need to know how many channels the engine will use for sound, only the game volume and where it's going to output the sound,...

I'd just like to point out that this is A) completely out of scope for this discussion and B) probably not going to happen regardless because it's anti-player.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby ibm5155 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:16 pm

Caligari87 wrote:I'd just like to point out that this is A) completely out of scope for this discussion and B) probably not going to happen regardless because it's anti-player.

8-)


completely out of scope: nop.
B) Yeah, and this is why i love being able to make my own port and just ignore those strict rules of what your game/mod should do.

EDIT: Actually, I'd list the options that people use, there are alot of menu options that I never enter in Q\G\Zdoom (like the gameplay\compat options) and remove the ones that arent used for a start
Last edited by ibm5155 on Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
ibm5155
Just Spooky
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2011

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby wildweasel » Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:18 pm

ibm5155 wrote:completely out of scope: nop.

Not your call, unfortunately.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:43 pm

Pixel Eater wrote:
Menu.pk3
screenshot.jpg
Here's an example of one direction it could go. It's just the root menu done in the only way I know how- as a sub menu within the existing options. The "More Bwah-Bwah >" links only go to the current GZDoom menus for now, but everything else works*.
*Edit: Except for Static Lighting- it only affects fake contrast when I intend for it to also control the fog settings.


Too much clutter on the top level.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby Pixel Eater » Sun Apr 08, 2018 4:35 pm

a fast way to select the screen that's going to show the game (in case the user has multiple screens)
That sounds like a good idea, do you know the Cvar for it?

Too much clutter on the top level.
Working on it.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
I sense evil I fear it here today, Like a bad dream that never goes away -MBerry
 
 
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby drfrag » Sun Apr 08, 2018 4:48 pm

Sorry but IMHO that's a bit messy, i still like Xaser's version.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby Pixel Eater » Sun Apr 08, 2018 5:33 pm

Sorry but IMHO that's a bit messy, i still like Xaser's version.

I'm taking Graf's comments to heart and already have something "more mininal MINIMAL". I somehow missed Xaser's post- that's actually very similar to what I have in mind!

GFD had a lot of ideas too, I hope they weigh in some more 8-)

Edit: How's this?
Menu.png
User avatar
Pixel Eater
I sense evil I fear it here today, Like a bad dream that never goes away -MBerry
 
 
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby Matt » Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:21 am

Pixel Eater wrote:Edit: How's this?
Menu.png
I'd rather have "Advanced..." at the bottom of each of those sections to keep the categories all in one place. Too easy to miss / too annoying to have to shift focus between two totally unrelated parts of the screen while working on a single thing.

Alternatively, if those main options were also present in the advanced menus then maybe a "Hide basic options, just use the advanced links" option might be an asset.
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
 
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Brainstorming a GZDoom menu revamp

Postby Pixel Eater » Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:42 am

That's sort of how I had it until Graf suggested it could be neater. I'm deep in the sub menus now that I've figured out how they work so I'll revisit the root menu when I'm done. Keep hitting me with ideas though!
User avatar
Pixel Eater
I sense evil I fear it here today, Like a bad dream that never goes away -MBerry
 
 
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Google [Bot] and 2 guests